We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“December” 3 of 5 stars
Review of South Beach

South Beach
Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (Nautilus)
Improve this listing
Book Now

Ranked #7 of 50 Attractions in Miami Beach
Type: Beaches
Activities: People-watching, Sunbathing, City walk sightseeing, Nightlife, Dining, Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: People watching is a great pastime in Miami's South Beach, which draws celebrities and beautiful people in skimpy swim attire to see and be seen. The wide and fine, white sand-covered beaches are popular spots for fashion photo shoots, so you're sure to see models. The area is known for its hip clubs and wild nightlife as well as numerous excellent restaurants.
West Valley City, Utah, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“December”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Ghost Town: It was warm for us being from Utah. Beach was almost to ourselves. The beach was clean and fun for a while.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,513 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,558
    1,364
    422
    105
    64
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Thornhill, Canada
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
46 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“What is not to like?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012 via mobile

A fabulous wide and long strip of beach a stone throw from the Art Deco district with hundreds of dining options. We were staying at the Savoy Hotel near the 5th street and it was quiet because the motor sports zone was a few streets down. There was plenty of loungers, umbrellas or canopies for rent (our hotel provided them as part of the resort fee). There was even an area for kids to play with a sand hill and dozens of buckets. When the sky got cloudy we could always get back to the pools at the Savoy. I would love to come back soon.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Spectacular”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

We visited South Beach after our cruise trip to east Caribbean. You'll think after visiting places like St Martin, St Thomas etc, you are done with beaches, but we decided to check out South Beach as we have never been there. Wow, how nice! I am not saying it's necessarily better than the other beaches we visited during the cruise trip, but this is definitely spectacular! Temperature was on the cooler side during our visit which was about the only down side, otherwise we'd jump in and have more fun. Absolutely worth a visit!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Love it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

South Beach doesn't have to be cheesy and loud. That stuff is available if that's what you want, but what I love about it is the excellent architecture, amazing beach location, fun nightlife, great restaurants and boutique hotels. I was surprised how many children were in South Beach, as I assumed it would be a more adult vacation spot. I would definitely consider bringing children here in the future, but for us it was a wonderful, romantic holiday.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Long nice strip of sand”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

Nice atmosphere, just a block from downtown. With very well maintain beaches. Classic but good for a city beach and you can find parties.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed South Beach also viewed

 

Been to South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage South Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.