We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy and in our budget” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The New Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The New Hotel to your Saves list
The New Hotel
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   7337 Harding Ave., Miami Beach, FL 33141   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 24 Miami Beach B&B and Inns
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Cozy and in our budget”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

the hotel checked most of the boxes i had in mind for a place to stay in miami. Access to a nice beach, close to the center of south beach, but not really in it. Access to South Beach by public transport, nice breakfast places nearby.
The room and the bathroom were well appointed but a little on the smaller side (which may be due to the fact that i chose the most economical option), but if you are not planning on spending a large amount of time in the hotel, it does not matter. Apart from that, every thing that you expect of a hotel (clean towels, beach towels, complimentary internet, free parking in the Walgreen next door, complimentary toiletries (above average quality)).
The staff were helpful and did not let you feel awkward for small requests (serving beer after hours, using the office printer, directions) and it felt good to live in a place where the owner brought their dog (a good natured albeit a bit aloof german shephard) to work :)
A good experience.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    50
    15
    10
    3
See reviews for
16
117
23
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

Well, you might have realised by now that Tripadvisor has The New Hotel under the Bed & Breakfast and Inns category, not under hotels.
If it doesn't do breakfast, it's not a hotel to me. If it doesn't have a lobby, it kind of doesn't feel much like a hotel either.

Then, if they make you feel unwelcome when you arrive, it's not a guesthouse.

Pros: good, recently done up, contemporary room (equipped with a fridge), all the rooms are close the pool as the place is so small and location is great.

Location: in North Beach, walking distance (5 minutes?) to the beach, Manolo for a latin breakfast nearby (awesome croissants), many restaurants (mostly Latin American and a great Italian - Cafe Prima Pasta), at the back of Collins Avenue, on the A1A.

For this level of service or lack thereof, it was expensive (on booking.com), it wasn't good value for money. I might still go back because I loved the location and there are not many options for (pretend/aspiring) boutique hotels around there.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

My girlfriend and I shared one room and her sister had another at The New Hotel last weekend. We arranged a last minute trip to Miami and were happy to find, based on the Trip Advisor reviews, what appeared like a find: A reasonably priced, quirky, boutique hotel in the quiet North Miami Beach area, far from the noise of South Beach. In fact, when we booked the room, they emphasized that it was a quiet place. Unfortunately, from the start, the experience didn't match the promise.

The New Hotel also comes with Lou's Beer Garden, a very pleasant patio from which drinks and food are served. This would be fine and dandy if the music would stop at 11. Reasonable time, don't you think? Well, on Thursday night, the live band stopped at about 11:10 but then recorded music continued on until midnight. Our room was over the beer garden so we heard all of the noise. I live in NYC and am used to ambient noise but this kept me awake. This persisted on Friday and Saturday nights. When I complained, one of the proprietors said something to the effect of "hey, I've got a restaurant and a hotel to run". This, to me, is not the way to address an unhappy guest.

Another issue was the microwave. When setting up our trip, we asked whether there would be microwaves in the rooms. Yes, was the response. This was great because the place doesn't serve breakfast. Our plan was to heat up coffee and oatmeal and have breakfast in the rooms. Upon arrival, we found there was only one microwave for the two rooms. We mentioned this and were told 1. We don't want you to cook in the rooms because of problems with roaches, 2. We will get you the other microwave anyway, tomorrow (Friday). Well, on #1, why have the microwaves if roaches are such a concern? Plus we were only making coffee and oatmeal and would be scrupulously neat in any case. On #2, no microwave on Friday. No microwave on Saturday. If you're not going to get the microwave, why state that you would?

Next, roaches: The first night, a roach appeared in each room. This cannot be attributed to our cooking because WE HADN'T COOKED ANYTHING! Still, to be fair, roaches can be found anywhere in Florida, so this is really not a reason for a downgrade. In fact, THE PROPRIETORS WERE VERY QUICK TO RESPOND POSITIVELY to an upset girlfriend by getting rid of the roach (I failed in my attempt) and by spraying the room. Unfortunately they didn't respond so quickly to the roach in my girlfriend's sister's room.

One more thing: With all of the troubles we had, especially the noise, I asked one of the proprietors at check out for some relief on our bill. Mind you, I RARELY COMPLAIN and have never done this before. Her response was to accuse my girlfriend's sister of lying about the noise in her room, saying that room was "sound-proof" and that she's never had a complaint about noise from that room before. I tried to stay out of the personal attacks by saying that two, apparently contradictory things can be true (i.e. a person was kept awake by noise in a room from which no such prior complaints had been registered) but the proprietor persisted. Very unpleasant. She did give us modest relief on that room, 1/2 of 1 day's stay. But she wouldn't give us any relief on our room, saying that she already deeply discounted it. To me, this was maddening and illogical. We agreed on a price for the room. Not my decision to discount it. Whatever the agreed upon price, we should have been able to sleep in a quiet atmosphere all three nights. That didn't happen. We should've gotten relief. It's not our fault they discounted the room. It's not our fault the place was loud. Remember, we were told during the set up that the New Hotel was a QUIET PLACE!

Positives, you ask? Location is great, one block away from the beach, a very nice, Bollitieri-run tennis facility, and the great Sazon Cuban restaurant. The cleaning staff was fantastic. They allowed us free parking in the pharmacy lot next door. They have bicycles for guest use. Also a small pool in the beer garden. And, if you don't mind noise outside your room, then the New Hotel could actually be a good place--the Beer Garden looks like a neat atmosphere (although if you mind cigarette smoke, stay away, lots of smokers). If the proprietors didn't impugn our integrity and were more accommodating of our noise complaints, the grade would've been a little higher. But, as it was, I think this is a fair grade.

Room Tip: Rooms closer to the street should be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge UK
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

We are a family of two adults and a 9 year old and we stayed here for 5 nights in April. What a fabulous place! 400 paces (we measured!) to the beach and less than that to a bunch of great places to eat. Very comfortable and stylish room with fridge/sink/microwave and coffee machine. Lovely bathroom and walk-in closet. Despite being 'roadside' we did not hear traffic and despite the hotel having a fantastic lively bar and restaurant with great sounds and some live entertainment based around the pool we did not hear a thing in our room.
Anne and her team are great, very welcoming and helpful. North Beach is a residential area which feels safe and welcoming and somewhere that is much more representative of Miami than the craziness of South Beach. The New Hotel is a perfect place to stay when visiting Miami - we took the bus (around 20mins) to Ocean Drive most days with no problems (only $2 each). It would in fact be possible to stay in the hotel and not visit any other place as the atmosphere is great, food and entertainment wonderful. If you do manage to step out then make sure you also visit Oleta River State Park which has kayaking, paddle boards, canoes, bike trails and walks. (around a 10 min drive away), We will definately be back.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metamora, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012

The New Hotel doesn't sell itself well on their web page! The room and atmosphere was beautiful. A very short walk to the ocean and a very nice beach. Lounge chairs available at the beach for $5.00. Short walk to two pharmacies and a nice kosher grocery and bakery. There is also a place that makes and sells its own pasta and the restaurants Manudos and Sazon are also a very short walk away. Recommend the OJ at Manudos. Great Wi-Fi service at The New Hotel. Loved the room right off the pool. We were there during the week and didn't find it too noisy at all. Look forward to our next stay at The New Hotel!

Room Tip: Corner suite very roomy, number 5 right off of pool. Might be noisy at night, we didn't think so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood, Florida, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

We live in South Florida but wanted to get away for the weekend, this place was awesome! From the music to the food and drinks, we forgot that we lived just 30 minutes up the street. The rooms are sexy and sophisticated, the outdoor pool and bar are constantly buzzing with cool people, and the location puts you within minutes of the SOBE scene without having to deal with hordes of tourists and traffic. The beach is just a stone's throw away and there are plenty of places to eat if you want to walk around. The staff was super friendly and we can't wait to go back. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

Great little place outside of the SoBe madness, close to beach and restos in a more authentic neighborhood. Rooms are stylish and nice on-site resto. Good value for Miami Beach. Super helpful owner. Will return when in Miami Beach!


Location: The place is (luckily) not in SoBe (which seems to have gone really South in the last years). It is 2 blocks away from a quite stretch of beach (great for running) in a 'normal' neighborhood with real restaurants and not only overpriced hotel restaurants. SoBe is a 20min/$2 bus ride away if you want to go there. Hotel is 2 blocks from a great tennis place which offers 90 min drop in session for $20 and Nick Bollitieri's son as coach.

Rooms: very spacious and with modern, tasteful boutique hotel styled decor. Bathroom very stylish (although sometimes it takes a moment for hot water to come). Coffee maker in room with excellent coffee provided Safe in room. Rooms have very good windows, so there is minimal noise from the pool/restos in the evening.

Services: small nice pool in the courtyard which turns in the evening into a restaurant with very cool music.Food menu is short, but very good and they have loads of beers to choose from. Very cool place - who needs to go to SoBe? The hotel does not provide breakfast (which would have been nice), but there are some places around. There are free bicycles available. Owner is fab and always willing to help and provide you w information/recommendations.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The New Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New Hotel

Address: 7337 Harding Ave., Miami Beach, FL 33141
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The New Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The New Hotel, situated one block from the Beach, is a charming boutique hotel nestled within the historic Miami Modern architectural district of Miami Beach, surrounded by the area's unique shops and restaurants. The Hotel's clean and modern rooms, Day Spa with in-room Spa services, and eclectic Mediterranean Bistro stand out as the newest and chicest lodging choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your The New Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The New Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.