We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location is the best thing about this hotel.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of San Juan Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added San Juan Hotel to your Saves list
San Juan Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1680 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (City Center)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #123 of 205 Hotels in Miami Beach
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Location is the best thing about this hotel.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

Under revamping, you get what you pay for!!!
People coming and going all day and night. Wonder what was going on, not feeling very safe.
Not the best/ not the worst. Has potential! The location was/is ideal for sightseeing south beach area.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanJuanHotel, General Manager at San Juan Hotel, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave your review here. We are glad to hear you enjoyed the location of our hotel. For years, this has been our best amenity but I can assure you we are working very hard to improve other aspects of our hotel. We are in the midst of renovating all of our rooms (and installing premium, pillow top mattresses). We are also enhancing our pool area, garden, seating areas and bar. We hope you give our hotel another chance on your next visit to South Beach. While our location will not change, we can tell you with certainty that it will no longer be our only top class amenity!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

530 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    175
    156
    61
    80
See reviews for
103
140
28
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Was in the middle of renovating..stayed on 3rd floor..room was nice and bed was comfortable..bathroom is very small..no sound on some of the tv channels..air condition was not very good..no controls in room and was too hot for me..heard others complain to front desk also..location: to far from the main portion of ocean..overall was ok..would not stay here again

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanJuanHotel, General Manager at San Juan Hotel, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Thank you for sharing your feedback on this forum. We are glad to hear you liked our upgrades. Unfortunately, the building is quite old so while it has central air, we do have to control the a/c for the entire building from the back end. That being said, we do typically keep the hotel temperature right around 70 degrees. As for the tv channels, we have worked with DirecTv to have these issues resolved. We apologize for these inconveniences and hope you give us another chance to make it up to you. We know you will be pleased once all of our work is complete this summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sedalia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

This hotel is in the middle of renovations. We were lucky to get a room on the third floor that had been recently renovated. It was very well done. Comfortable, king sized bed. Huge room! Nice bathroom. My sister on the other hand got a room on the second floor that wasn't very good, it was large but smelled very musty It had an old kitchenette in it. Only the bathroom was finished.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a renovated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanJuanHotel, General Manager at San Juan Hotel, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Thank you for leaving your kind feedback on our hotel here. We are so glad you liked the renovations we made to our hotel. Unfortunately, we are not done with all the rooms yet but once you and your family come back, we look forward to hosting all of you in a brand new room. We will also be adding a bar and upgrading our pool, garden and seating areas. We look forward to seeing your reaction to it all on your next visit to South Beach!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

We stayed at the San Juan for one night before our cruise. This is my second stay. My first was good stay, a decent place for a night or two (read my first review of it in Nov/13). The hotel is renovating and has completed all the rooms on the third floor. They're very nice and clean. The bed we had was a king and very comfortable. The hallway was still being worked on but (hopefully) you won't be sleeping in the hallway! Again, they are renovating.
It was a great option for a good price. Its just north of 17th St, and around the corner from
Lincoln St, which is a great place to walk through, have a drink or dinner, people watch and shop.
Book this hotel. I haven't stayed in others in that area however. I emailed ahead and asked for an upgraded room. As a past guest, I'm sure this helped fulfill my request. I'm very likely to stay there again in future visits to Miami. It just depends on what area you want to stay in.
Please email with any questions.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 3rd floor. Those are renovated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanJuanHotel, General Manager at San Juan Hotel, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Thank you for sharing your wonderful review on this forum. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and really appreciate you taking the time to let everyone know about your positive experiences at our hotel. We are still renovating our property but hope to be done by sometime this summer. We can't wait to show off these enhancements on your next visit to South Beach. We look forward to seeing you again then!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the San Juan last week pre and post cruise.We stayed in a newly renovated room on the 3 rd floor . The room was spacious , very clean , very comfortable, clean beds . Bathroom was lovely , large hot shower and had everything we needed.
The staff were always friendly , and very helpful , we had help with our luggage and the luggage was stored for us after we had checked out. Check- in and out was simple and quick and we were even checked in early after we returned from our cruise which was great.
The corridors and lifts are old , but the hotel is obviously being renovated and they have clearly started with the bedrooms and rightly so.
So please don't be put off by the appearance of these.
The location of this hotel is absolutely fantastic , with the Lincoln rd just round the corner with lots of shops , bars , restaurants to hand. The beach is one block away , approx 5 minute walk. South Beach is very clean and the whole area seemed safe and friendly to walk everywhere. The Airport bus number 150 stops right across the road and is 2.25 dollars per person which proved to be fantastic value for money and very easy to use.
There is also a bus to Aventura mall at the same bus stop.
I would recommend this hotel for value for money . The staff are fantastic and the location is absolutely perfect.
Hope to stay there again. Thanks to all the staff.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanJuanHotel, General Manager at San Juan Hotel, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Thank you for sharing your great experiences at our hotel with everyone on this forum. We are happy to hear that you had an enjoyable, comfortable stay and that you were so pleased with our staff. I will be sure to share your kind words with them. In the meantime, we are working on the rest of the rooms and the common areas. We look forward to showing off our new product once we are complete by the end of this summer. That being said, we look forward to hosting you again the next time you travel across the pond South Beach!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

I stayed at the San Juan Hotel in Miami Beach, FL last week with my sister, my college daughter and her friend on their spring break. We had four people in a newly renovated room with two double beds. The room was everything that we needed...somewhere to sleep and shower. The room was decorated beautifully as was the bathroom. It had a gorgeous tile shower and modern bowl sink. The bathroom also had nice amenities. The room is your standard size hotel room but had a nice large closet with a safe in it. The hotel common areas were under renovation so they weren't the prettiest but we knew that and it was not a problem at all. I can't wait to see them once the remodel is complete. The pool was getting ready for a remodel as well. It's a small pool but with South Beach just steps away most hotels in this area don't even have pools, so this is a nice bonus. The front of the hotel had a place where you could sit outside if you wanted to. I can't say enough great things about the hotel staff. Everyone was extremely friendly! The location of this hotel was perfect. It is just a short walk to the beach, about 5 minutes or less. And around the corner is the Lincoln Road Mall. We will definitely stay at the San Juan again!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanJuanHotel, General Manager at San Juan Hotel, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your great feedback. We're happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and that you liked our upgrades. We pride ourselves on our guest services so I will be sure to share your kind words with our staff. We are moving along with our renovations again and hope to be done with everything a little bit later this summer. In the meantime, we look forward to hosting you once you need a break from the cold winters of Indiana!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF Bay Area
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

The San Juan Hotel is located right in the center of the South Beach 'action scene'(dining, dancing, shopping,people watching and just kicking back.) The rooms were recently redone, and were clean, quiet, and comfortable. The #150 Airport Flyer bus, stops right across the street and takes you to MIA for $2.65. It was a far nicer room than what I got in New York, and it was one third the price. The staff were friendly, and helpful;someone was always at the front desk I will definitely go back.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanJuanHotel, General Manager at San Juan Hotel, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave your kind feedback. We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and look forward to hosting you again the next time you make the cross-country journey to South Beach!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
Crest Hotel Suites
Crest Hotel Suites
#122 of 205 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 609 reviews
City Center
Albion South Beach
Albion South Beach
#91 of 205 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 1,080 reviews
City Center
Greenview Hotel
Greenview Hotel
#169 of 205 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Hotel18
Hotel18
#85 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 250 reviews
Royal South Beach Hotel
#136 of 205 in Miami Beach
3.0 of 5 stars 261 reviews
City Center
Gale South Beach
Gale South Beach
#33 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Juan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Juan Hotel

Address: 1680 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#72 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — San Juan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally constructed by renowned architect Henry Hohauser in 1948, the San Juan Hotel was initially intended for wealthy snowbirds in the 1950s. The new design concept for the San Juan Hotel derives from a classic postwar modern style with nautical influences reminiscent of Old San Juan, Puerto Rico. Warm woods with brass details, luxurious marble and touches of navy and burlap have given this famously historic hotel a modern feel. The combination of vintage Miami Beach elegance matched with modern South Beach design converge to create an ambiance that truly redefines tropical luxury. Providing warmth and style, our guest rooms offer a tranquil retreat from the exuberance of South Beach. Whether you need to get some work done, get some rest or simply imbibe in subtle opulence, our rooms have been hand crafted to wow you aesthetically while spoiling you in comforts. Our pillow top mattresses, high thread count bed sheets, black out curtains, flat screen televisions and in room dining and spa services will assure you a serene and luxurious in-room experience, all in the heart of South Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, getaroom.com and Venere so you can book your San Juan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Juan Miami
Hotel San Juan
San Juan Hotel Miami

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Juan Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.