We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pricey but within average of SoBe” 3 of 5 stars
Review of San Juan Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added San Juan Hotel to your Saves list
San Juan Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1680 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (City Center)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #118 of 205 Hotels in Miami Beach
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Pricey but within average of SoBe”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

I was there with my cousins, I didn't book it.
They were under renovations. I didn't see the other room they got.
Ours was ok.
You could hear everything from the rooms next door, or when people would walk on the hall.
Very old building.
In the bathroom, I could hear everything from the room downstairs.
I wasn't very pleased with the bedding's cleanness but the pillows were good quality.
I would look for another place for next time. But for a good price, I would risk one more time.
I had a little hard time with some of the front desk people because they would answer my questions, but not what I asked. And I couldn't understand them all the time, very heavy accent. Which is not a big deal, just annoying.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanJuanHotel, General Manager at San Juan Hotel, responded to this review, February 15, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay here. We are in the process of addressing most of the issues you raised. We are incorporating new bedding into the hotel (including sheets and mattresses). We will continue to order the same pillows our guests have always complimented. Unfortunately, our city is international and our front desk is required to speak multiple languages. The downside is that sometimes, this comes with a bit of an accent. That being said, I have to say, I could not be happier with our staff. We will continue to train them on listening and speaking a little more clearly and slowly so that we can all more effectively understand and help our guests. We do hope you give us the chance to host you again on your next visit to South Beach!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

547 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    180
    160
    62
    80
See reviews for
110
147
28
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

Our room - Carpet was gross, table was filthy and there was a dead cockroach on the floor. We were unable to flush the toilet paper, so had to put it in a bag!!
Swimming pool - rust marked bottom and the railing into the pool was broken, posing a hazard tocut to your feet on or worse still your childresns feet!
PARKING- When we checked out we were told by reception, to pay the parking attendant direct, which we did. However the hotel also took the money from our credit card and they took for an extra night. 3 nights instead of 2! When we challenged the hotel they denied all knowledge of advising us to pay the attendant direct!!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanJuanHotel, General Manager at San Juan Hotel, responded to this review, February 15, 2014
Thank you for leaving your feedback on your visit to our hotel. I apologize for the inconveniences you faced. To be honest, at first, I thought you may have left this review for the wrong hotel. We do not have a parking attendant at our hotel. We call the company as the cars come in to be dropped off or picked up so the only place you can pay is our front desk. That being said, I do apologize for the miscommunication. As for the other issues you faced in the hotel, I wish you would have let the reception know so that we could have addressed these issues in real time. At the very least, we could have changed you to a more comfortable room. I certainly apologize for your experiences and hope you give us another chance on your next visit to South Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

The biggest plus of this hotel is its location. It is on Collins Avenue, 3 minutes walk from Lincoln drive and 2 minutes drive from public overnight parking (16 $ for overnight). The walk to the beach is also about 3 minutes, just across the street. The rooms were clean, beds comfortable. The building itself is a bit old, there is a swimming pool, rather big, but who needs a pool when there is a beach! The biggest problem was with airc onditioning that you can not regulate. Overall is worth the money we paid about 250 for 2 nights.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanJuanHotel, General Manager at San Juan Hotel, responded to this review, February 15, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback on our hotel. We truly appreciate it. We can't wait to host you on your next visit to our hotel where we can show off our upgrades!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rahway, New Jersey
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

its all about the location, the hotel itself is not very good, smelled like pine sol everywhere, the carpet in the rooms was gross, bathroom was super small, everything seemed old and like it needed updates, again, only good thing was the location

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanJuanHotel, General Manager at San Juan Hotel, responded to this review, February 15, 2014
We are glad to hear you enjoyed the location of our hotel. As for the areas to improve upon, I can assure you we are taking these steps as we speak. We certainly hope you give our hotel another chance for your next visit to South Beach as we are in the process of completely upgrading our property. That being said, during this process, we are still focused on the cleanliness of our rooms and serving our guests. We look forward to hosting you on your next visit to South Beach!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

This hotel is a great place to stay. Located about a block from Lincoln Road Mall and South Beach, for the price it's a bargain. The hotel staff were all very nice, police and helpful.
The few problems I had is that the air conditioning came out of one vent in the room and was not adjustable (it appeared as though the whole building was centrally controlled). The only way to adjust it was to open or close the vent. Having it open was too cold and having it closed meant it made quite a bit of noise as the air was still trying to rush past the vent closure. Also, the room did not have a safe which meant I was forever locking and unlocking my suitcase to get at my money etc.
Othere then that this is a great hotel and would easily go back if I was in town again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanJuanHotel, General Manager at San Juan Hotel, responded to this review, February 15, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to leave your feedback on our hotel. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. In response to your critiques, we have just received our new safes and are installing them as we speak. We are also in the process of replacing all the vents in our hotel (we are 33% complete there) so that they are quiet when closed. We are making other improvements to the hotel as well (including new carpets, bedding, furniture, as well as adding a bar and restaurant). We look forward to hosting you on your next visit to South Beach so that we can show off our major upgrades!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
132 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

Pros: good value for area, just across the road from 150 bus and stops for buses to mall etc, bed comfortable, room large, microwave and fridge provided, good bathroom and shower, small vending machine downstairs for quick snacks, friendly staff, quiet room, decent tv, very close to beach and lincoln road for dinner and shops, good wi-fi signal strength in room.

Cons: old hotel and bit run down, new bathrooms already had signs of wear and tear, e.g. patch on ceiling from leak above, marks on doors, no wardrobe or anywhere to hang up clothes so had to hang over chairs, safe not attached to anything so possible could be removed from room (did work though), room overlooked the pool but it wasn't clean enough for us to want to go in.

I thought this was great for us in the sense that it was a good price and we were near everything we wanted. I would definitely stay here again if the price was good.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanJuanHotel, General Manager at San Juan Hotel, responded to this review, February 15, 2014
We appreciate you leaving your candid feedback on our hotel. We are glad you enjoyed your experience here. That being said, we do acknowledge that during our renovations there have been a few disturbances. We have addressed most of the concerns you raised and will continue to pay careful attention to these details while we continue to improve our hotel. We look forward to hosting you again on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

This hotel appealed to us because of the fantastic location and us very cheap, I know why it's very cheap. The hotel room was clean beds comfortable, shower great which is the main points. Had a leak in room from room above 5 times during our two week stay. Complained each time but nothing done apart from phoning room above. No upgrade or offer to move rooms. No urgency with any requests. Reception staff pleasant. Don't book any trips with hotel, we booked two trips and both were complete disasters. Book your trips at the hotel down the street they were brilliant and made our trip to miami. Staff ask for cigarettes from guests which I didn't mind but is very unprofessional. All in all its an ok hotel for a couple of nights

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanJuanHotel, General Manager at San Juan Hotel, responded to this review, February 15, 2014
Thank you for leaving your feedback on our hotel. We are glad you enjoyed the value, location and cleanliness of our property. That being said, we do apologize for the inconveniences you had on your tours. For what it’s worth, we work with the same tour operators as all of the other hotels in South Beach. If you wouldn't mind, can you please send us an email (sanjuanhotel@gmail.com) with the details of your experiences so that we can address the tour company directly? As for an employee asking for a cigarette, our staff is smoke free. Perhaps a member of the renovation crew made this request. I have since spoken to the head of the company we are working with and we both would like to apologize for that. That sort of behavior is inexcusable. We do hope you give our hotel another chance for your next visit to South Beach. We look forward to showing you a much more comfortable and luxurious experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
Crest Hotel Suites
Crest Hotel Suites
#122 of 205 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 615 reviews
City Center
Albion South Beach
Albion South Beach
#97 of 205 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 1,104 reviews
City Center
Greenview Hotel
Greenview Hotel
#170 of 205 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Hotel18
Hotel18
#98 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 262 reviews
Catalina Hotel & Beach Club
#77 of 205 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 3,082 reviews
Royal South Beach Hotel
#138 of 205 in Miami Beach
3.0 of 5 stars 266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Juan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Juan Hotel

Address: 1680 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#72 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — San Juan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally constructed by renowned architect Henry Hohauser in 1948, the San Juan Hotel was initially intended for wealthy snowbirds in the 1950s. The new design concept for the San Juan Hotel derives from a classic postwar modern style with nautical influences reminiscent of Old San Juan, Puerto Rico. Warm woods with brass details, luxurious marble and touches of navy and burlap have given this famously historic hotel a modern feel. The combination of vintage Miami Beach elegance matched with modern South Beach design converge to create an ambiance that truly redefines tropical luxury. Providing warmth and style, our guest rooms offer a tranquil retreat from the exuberance of South Beach. Whether you need to get some work done, get some rest or simply imbibe in subtle opulence, our rooms have been hand crafted to wow you aesthetically while spoiling you in comforts. Our pillow top mattresses, high thread count bed sheets, black out curtains, flat screen televisions and in room dining and spa services will assure you a serene and luxurious in-room experience, all in the heart of South Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your San Juan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Juan Miami
Hotel San Juan
San Juan Hotel Miami

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Juan Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.