We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Long stay disappointing ” 3 of 5 stars
Review of San Juan Hotel

Save Saved
You added San Juan Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
San Juan Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1680 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (City Center)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #100 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Long stay disappointing ”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

This hotel appealed to us because of the fantastic location and us very cheap, I know why it's very cheap. The hotel room was clean beds comfortable, shower great which is the main points. Had a leak in room from room above 5 times during our two week stay. Complained each time but nothing done apart from phoning room above. No upgrade or offer to move rooms. No urgency with any requests. Reception staff pleasant. Don't book any trips with hotel, we booked two trips and both were complete disasters. Book your trips at the hotel down the street they were brilliant and made our trip to miami. Staff ask for cigarettes from guests which I didn't mind but is very unprofessional. All in all its an ok hotel for a couple of nights

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanJuanHotel, General Manager at San Juan Hotel, responded to this review, February 15, 2014
Thank you for leaving your feedback on our hotel. We are glad you enjoyed the value, location and cleanliness of our property. That being said, we do apologize for the inconveniences you had on your tours. For what it’s worth, we work with the same tour operators as all of the other hotels in South Beach. If you wouldn't mind, can you please send us an email (sanjuanhotel@gmail.com) with the details of your experiences so that we can address the tour company directly? As for an employee asking for a cigarette, our staff is smoke free. Perhaps a member of the renovation crew made this request. I have since spoken to the head of the company we are working with and we both would like to apologize for that. That sort of behavior is inexcusable. We do hope you give our hotel another chance for your next visit to South Beach. We look forward to showing you a much more comfortable and luxurious experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

443 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    45
    144
    129
    54
    71
See reviews for
79
118
26
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013 via mobile

We arrived here for four nights as a stopover to Brazil. Check in was quick and while we were there we booked a tourbus, jungle Island and sawgrass mills trips.

Our rooms were basic the rooms to the front were noisey with the traffic outside. Our first night we seen a very big bug in the bathroom, we rang downstairs but the man at reception seemed to have a problem with our accent so I went down, he was telling me I should bang it with my shoe myself (which I wasn't impressed with), he said he could change my room or give me spray... At this stage it looked like he REALLY didn't want to leave his desk so I went up to get it with my shoe. By that time it was gone, didn't come back for the remainder of our stay.

There was a fridge and a microwave in our room which came in handy. We didn't use the pool at the hotel, the beach was brilliant to have a swim in and the hotel was nice enough to give us towels when we went down, which was only a street away!

The location of the hotel was the biggest seller for us, a small walk down to Ocean Drive and Espanola Way was not too far either.

The hotel staff were very helpful for recommending restaurants and booking stuff to do.

To wrap it up I'd say this hotel is perfect for the traveler that does alot on holidays like us... It was only really a bed for the night in a good location at a good price.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanJuanHotel, General Manager at San Juan Hotel, responded to this review, February 15, 2014
Thank you for leaving your feedback on our hotel. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and appreciate your candor and honesty. While we appreciate the compliments you made, we are addressing the one issue you had in your bathroom personally. Language barrier or not, that was handled incorrectly by our reception. In fact, we typically have an extra bell hop on hand to tend to guest concerns (so that our front desk is always available to our guests). That being said, please do note that while we with an extermination company, the tropical environment of South Beach can bring unwelcomed insects to the rooms (especially when windows are left open). Nevertheless, our staff is on alert to keep an extra eye out. We are also in the process of installing sound proof windows at the front of our hotel to help deal with some of that noise you mentioned. We certainly hope you stay with us again on your next visit to South Beach. We are renovating and look forward to hosting you more comfortably on your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

Stayed here for a week in November. The location of the hotel is fantastic, one block away from the beach, nearby to Ocean Drive, and also nearby to Lincoln Road Mall - where there is a vast choice of restaurants. Good transport links in the area too, bus stops for the airport and Downtown Miami right outside the hotel.
The hotel was clean, and the rooms, whilst fairly basic, contained all we needed. The bathrooms were lovely! Free wifi throughout the hotel.
The staff were very pleasant and friendly.
Would definitely recommend this hotel and would definitely stay there again - we were told that they are currently renovating the rooms too.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanJuanHotel, General Manager at San Juan Hotel, responded to this review, December 25, 2013
Good morning from South Beach!

We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your visit to the San Juan Hotel. While we have always emphasized friendly customer service, we do everything we can to take it a step further at the San Juan Hotel, as you are not just a customer, but our guest. That being said, we can’t wait for you to visit us again in 2014. We are excited about seeing your reaction to your new room, furniture in amenities. In the meantime, travel safely!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brazil
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

It´s my 3rd stay at this hotel, pre and after cruising. Its location is fabulous. Just one block from Lincoln Road Mall, dozens of restaurants, a 24 hrs Walgreens, CVS, and the beach.
Ocean Drive is walking distance as well as Española Way.
There are bus stops a few steps away.
We had microwave and a small fridge in the room, which was very convenient.
The staff was really nice and helpful. Thanks German and Claudio !
The pool is very large. Free Wi Fi worked perfectly. Room and bathroom, both very clean.
Air conditioning was too cold and you have no control on it, but I called the Front Desk and they immediately sent someone to turn it off.
It´s a simple hotel but it has everything I needed.
I´ve heard It will be renovated soon. I will be back to check it !

Room Tip: I Always stayed in rooms facing the back and I didn´t hear any noise coming from the streets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanJuanHotel, General Manager at San Juan Hotel, responded to this review, December 25, 2013
Thank you for leaving your wonderful, detailed feedback on the San Juan Hotel. While we are glad to hear you were so satisfied on your last visit, we can’t wait to show you our enhancements in 2014. We look forward to hosting you again then!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

The location is perfect 1 blk from the beach, 24 he walgreens down the street and a few blks from the main strip. Friendly service, staff very kind, room def needs an update but don't let the decor scare you as it was very clean. Good for a few nights

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanJuanHotel, General Manager at San Juan Hotel, responded to this review, December 25, 2013
Thank you for leaving such kind feedback on the San Juan Hotel. We can’t wait for you to come back and visit us again in 2014 so you can see our upgrades. While the décor will be enhanced, our stellar location will remain, as will our guest-focused service. We look forward to hosting you again on your next visit to South Beach!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
東京
Top Contributor
211 reviews 211 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
155 helpful votes 155 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

I have stayed in this budget hotel for two nights twice.
The location was good, we made anywhere for sightseeing by walk from the hotel.
It is only 1 minutes walking to get the awesome South Beach and 3 minutes walking to get the lively Lincoln Road Mall which is lined with plenty of eateries.

We got there by a local bus (No, 150) from the Miami International Airport for only $2.50.

First time when we made it there, we had a few troubles about our room keys.
That key didn't work a lot of times, so we had to wait to open it and move to other rooms twice.
The safety boxes didn't work any rooms I have stayed.
The room was not tiny, but somehow smelly bad.
The bed was awful, especially the mattress. It was noisy and had no springs at all, but it was clean.
The bathroom was renovated. It was clean.

They have washers and dryers at the pool side.
We can use them from 8 am to 10 pm with some coins, but (I think) only one set of machines worked well. And be careful about the dryer. It was awful. We had to stop it ourselves before the clothes got burnt.
The Wi-Fi access was also darn. Sometimes it didn't work at all or too slow, and all days we had to reconnect it again and again.

Anyway, the staff were so kind and friendly.
This hotel is the best if you want to save your money and you only care about basic accommodation.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanJuanHotel, General Manager at San Juan Hotel, responded to this review, December 25, 2013
Good morning from South Beach –

Thank you for leaving your detailed review of our hotel. We appreciate your honesty and candid feedback. We are glad you enjoyed the customer service at the hotel. That being said, it sounds like there were a few issues that we need to address. We are replacing all of our door locks, mattresses (and bedding), safes and carpets during our current renovation. While we are doing this in stages and some rooms are near completion, we expect all rooms to be fully renovated by early 2014. Furthermore, we will soon be providing a laundry drop off service, where we can have your laundry completed for you. This way, you can enjoy your time on South Beach while someone else worries about your laundry. Finally, as for the wi-fi, we have just signed a deal to provide fiber-optic internet access for the guests at our hotel. In other words, we will have among the fastest internet speeds in all of South Beach!

We look forward to hosting you again on your next visit to South Beach. We look forward to showing you all of our improvements!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SURREY BC
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We just stayed at this hotel for 2 nights. We prebooked this hotel based on reviews that we had read and the fact that it stated it had recently been renovated. What a shock! We walked into the lobby...it wasnt great, but thought it could be worse. Wrong...it gets much worse. The elevator was so dirty and rough. Get to our room and opened the door. Not a pleasant sight. The carpets were so dirty you didnt dare take your shoes off. We had a non-smoking room but the bedspread had a burn hole in it, the carpet had a burn in it the size of an apple. The curtains had blood? all over them, the pool was so dirty....the list goes on. I will never never stay there again and I will never recommend it to any one.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanJuanHotel, General Manager at San Juan Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Thank you for sharing your feedback, Laurie-

I am sorry to hear about your unpleasant experience at our hotel. After reading your posting, I did some investigating so I thought I’d share what we found. Firstly, I would like to mention that we did recently renovate our hotel. Our bathrooms are brand new and the carpets and furniture are all new. That being said, we are working with a new design team to re-renovate our rooms and common areas.

As for the issues you raised with regard to your stay, every item you mentioned will be addressed in our upcoming renovation. Nevertheless, some of what you reported is inexcusable. As for the stains on the back of the curtains, we confirmed that this was not blood but nail polish. The curtains were cleaned prior to your arrival and put up while we awaited the shipment of the replacement. The carpets and sheets in your room have already been replaced. These are definitely issues that our staff should have caught. In the future, however, if you ever notice something like this (at any hotel), please bring it to the front desk’s attention immediately so they can make it up to you and change you to more comfortable room.

Again, we apologize for your inconveniences. We do hope you give us another chance on your next visit to South Beach. I can assure you that we will do our best to make it up to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to San Juan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Juan Hotel

Address: 1680 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#70 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — San Juan Hotel 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The San Juan Hotel offers the premiere choice in discount accommodations for the budget traveler. Located on Collins Avenue, the recently renovated, art deco-themed San Juan Hotel enjoys an ideal setting, right in the heart of South Beach. Directly across the street from the world-renowned Delano, Sagamore and Ritz Carlton hotels as well as Miami’s beautiful beaches - the San Juan Hotel is the perfect escape for the budget traveler seeking affordable accommodation. You can leave your car at home as the best dining, nightlife and tourist attractions in the world are just a few, short steps away from your home away from home, here at the San Juan Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Venere and Otel so you can book your San Juan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Juan Miami
Hotel San Juan
San Juan Hotel Miami

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Juan Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.