We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I love this place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sherbrooke Hotel

Save Saved
You added Sherbrooke Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sherbrooke Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   901 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #126 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“I love this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

I love this place it feels like home everytime I'm here. This is the second time I have stayed here and will continue to stay here, there is no need to go to another hotel. This is the only place I will stay when I go back. Will recommend this place to anyone and everyone traveling to Miami. See you in December.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    65
    56
    35
    17
    11
See reviews for
12
55
24
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bytom, Poland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

The hotel is an ideal place to stay when having fun in Miami Beach. It`s just one block away from the sea and it`s still quiet and peaceful at nights. The owner is a very easy-going person. The rooms are spacious and really clean. There are many places to eat in the area but the kitchen in the apartment is also well equipped. I highly recommend this place!

Room Tip: I didn`t notice any difference between the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Sheraton right on the beach in Ft. Lauderdale and paid over twice as much as this place and we like it much better here! I'm so glad that we left there early and came here, this room is twice as large,we have a kitchen, hardwood floors, huge bedroom and separate living/dining room, and FREE WiFi here (and it's fast speeds), we had to pay $10 a night for slow WiFi at the Sheraton. South Beach is so much more fun than Ft. Lauderdale, You are 2 short blocks from the beach right in the heart of the real vibe this beach has to offer--the action is from 5th street to 16th street and you're right in it, and yet, things really quite down once you walk over here to the hotel, so you are near the party, but not living in it. I'd much rather stay here then "on the beach", here you can get away from the noise if you want to.

A great tip is to talk to the valet parking guys just around the corner for parking; you just give them a call 20 or 30 minutes in advance and they'll have your car waiting for you. Bathroom is clean, the entire room is clean, the queen sized bed is very comfortably, I'm a big guy and I'm comfortable in the bed. The outside of the building is not good but it is being renovated right now, but no construction noise that I could hear. So don't let the outside fool you, this place is very clean in the room, I'd come here again. Mitch is a great manager, he'll help you with whatever you need.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

After much review (tripadvisor included) we settled on the Sherbrooke Hotel, for the following reasons; Great reviews, close to all of the attractions in the SOB area (Mangoes, Lummus Park, Ocean Ave, all the SOB clubs). Much to our surprise when the GO Shuttle stopped in front of the a dilapidated looking building, our hearts stopped beating. The walk up to the entrance was even worse, the scaffolding had police tape and we needed to be buzzed into the hotel (no lobby receptionist). The voice on the other end of the intercom said, "once you enter come up to the third floor." What he didn't say, was the elevator is on the fritz, please wait while i check the roof to reset the elevator... Long story short, the rooms look at first glance like a boarding house (they do have several long-term tenants) or hostel. Too many un-used doors to gain access to your room, thin walls, scary looking bed (not sure about you, but if i dont even feel comfortable laying my head down, then I'm out) and mildew in batharea.

We left for the following reasons: May 30, 2013
* hotel elevator is intermittent - owner/receptionist/housekeeper (all the same person: Mitch) stated that it would be updated in the near future, because it is so old.
* We were given two wash clothes only after being questioned for not bringing our own ??? One of the two clothes looked well used and dingy. after a small debate, Mitch exchanged
* Checked the bed area (mattress and boxspring) and dresser drawers and found small wiggly bugs crawling.

Owner/receptionist/housekeeper = Mitch, confirmed he saw the insects before yet only on the floor, that was enough for us.... so we checked out!

Good things about this location (Yes, can't believe I typed that right!):
* Mitch was very understanding and did not try to hold us to the check-in/cancellation policy even though he had swiped our credit cards. He allowed us to us the free wifi to book new reservations and was very courteous.

* If you are yound and dont mind the dingy bathroom accomodation, small insects (that you may or may not see, if you don't move items in the room). Then this location is close to the center of attractions in SOB.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Mitch, the hotel manager was very helpful during my stay. It so happened there was a huge rain storm and he provided me with several amenities that I needed. The hotel is in an ideal location, walking distance from all the hot spots in South Beach. Great prize, great vibe, and awesome location.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uppsala
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Considering the great location and what you pay I would recommend this hotel to anyone. If you expect luxury, spotless rooms, restaurant, stylish reception area etc, well.. its better to go somewhere else. Still the place is clean enough and the rooms/apts have character. We stayed in a quite spacious corner room with many big windows equipped with kitchen area, fridge, microwave and a big table. We liked it a lot. The furniture is basic and the supply of kitchenware was decidedly limited though. The caretaker Mitch is very nice and will come and assist if you call him. The apartment was ca 40 m from Ocean Drive, not far away from the noise but still reasonably quiet. The building is an Art Deco jewel that would see architecture buffs on pilgrimage anywhere in Europe, but this is South beach and there are hundreds of them Deco houses around here. If there had been some more forks, spoons and so on, somewhat cleaner, somewhat upgraded furniture I would give 5 stars. Location can't be better, great value. Would surely come back!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

If rating value and location alone, I'd give the Sherbrooke at least 4 stars. Like many places in South Florida, cleanliness doesn't seem to be high on the priority list. For the money and the location, the Sherbrooke is clean enough. The caretaker is a friendly guy and the rooms are very spacious and full of character. We'd stay there again, but would hesitate to mention to travelers who require a spotless room.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sherbrooke Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sherbrooke Hotel

Address: 901 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#84 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sherbrooke Hotel 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Booking.com, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Hotels.com so you can book your Sherbrooke Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sherbrooke Hotel Miami Beach
Sherbrooke Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sherbrooke Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.