We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sherbrooke Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Sherbrooke Hotel to your Saves list
Sherbrooke Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   901 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #137 of 202 Hotels in Miami Beach
Uppsala
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Nice place!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Considering the great location and what you pay I would recommend this hotel to anyone. If you expect luxury, spotless rooms, restaurant, stylish reception area etc, well.. its better to go somewhere else. Still the place is clean enough and the rooms/apts have character. We stayed in a quite spacious corner room with many big windows equipped with kitchen area, fridge, microwave and a big table. We liked it a lot. The furniture is basic and the supply of kitchenware was decidedly limited though. The caretaker Mitch is very nice and will come and assist if you call him. The apartment was ca 40 m from Ocean Drive, not far away from the noise but still reasonably quiet. The building is an Art Deco jewel that would see architecture buffs on pilgrimage anywhere in Europe, but this is South beach and there are hundreds of them Deco houses around here. If there had been some more forks, spoons and so on, somewhat cleaner, somewhat upgraded furniture I would give 5 stars. Location can't be better, great value. Would surely come back!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    57
    35
    17
    11
See reviews for
12
55
25
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NC
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

If rating value and location alone, I'd give the Sherbrooke at least 4 stars. Like many places in South Florida, cleanliness doesn't seem to be high on the priority list. For the money and the location, the Sherbrooke is clean enough. The caretaker is a friendly guy and the rooms are very spacious and full of character. We'd stay there again, but would hesitate to mention to travelers who require a spotless room.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

My sister and I stayed at Sherbrooke July 20th-24, 2012 and we had an awesome time. It was a great location and it was very quiet so we could sleep in peace without any problems. The only complaint I had would be for the bathrooms to be a little cleaner, but I bought lysol so it was all good. Also the owner came into our room while we were sleeping and brought his dog, we thought that he could of came back or atleast knocked, that was a little weird. Loved the fact it had a fridge and microwave it was very conveneint for us! I will stay there again when I go back. Collins Drive is a better area to stay at because its a little quieter then Ocean Drive so we made a good choice!

Room Tip: If you want to sleep in peace choice this location and hotel. If you want to buy your own groceries...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckinginghamshire
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

Excellent position, very central to beach, shops and restaurants. The suites were spacious, clean and comfortable.Very quiet too which meant a decent nights sleep. We had two adjacent suites and found Mitch very helpful all round.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

We have stayed at the hotel 3 nights and we enjoyed very much the location which is just around the corner from Ocean drive. The room is very spacious and it has nice wooden floors. And this is all that was positive about it for the rest I'll list the negatives below:

- Dirty. This place is dirty. Dust everywhere, the bathroom had mold in the corners, the toilet was dirty and the white bathroom door were dirty with pee drops. the kitchen was not cleaned and there was grease everywhere I didn't dare touch a spoon. The fridge was smelling apart from being loud when on and not cooling properly even when on maximum.

- On the corridor of the second floor (where our room was) they keep the doors at the end of the corridor open which causes annoying noise coming from the neighboring roof where dozen of external aircon units are based.

- The air conditioning in the room is extremely loud.

- There were some dirty towels left in the closet and our trash bins were never emptied.

It looks like the owner 'cleans' by himself the place on a 'when I feel like it' basis and the feeling I got is like he's waiting for guests to take up cleaning for him (cleaning products in the closet). I haven't touched anything, we stayed there only for 3 nights. In some other circumstances I'll ask for cleaning to be done properly.
Such a shame for this place which could be gorgeous with just a little more effort.
Be careful renting a car, the parking is expensive but can be quite easily found around the hotel. From 1.5$ to 4$ per hour.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reutlingen, Germany
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

We booked this hotel only 3 days before we arrived in Miami, and as it was Spring Break at that time, there was not much left available. We got a good deal through the hotel's own website, as they give you a discount on the rates that you find online.
Arriving to the hotel, we had to wait for 15 mins after one of the friendly guys that sell tours phoned Mitch to let us know we had arrived. He greeted us from the top of the stairs and watched us heaving our suitcases up, instead of offering a hand with them.
Our room seemed really nice at first sight, it was very spacious, the kitchenette looked decent, and all looked clean.
The mattress turned out to be horrible, we woke up with aching backs every morning. The bed actually had 2 mattresses, one of them wrapped in plastic!?!?
Bathroom has a shower, sink and toilet, everything you need, however the shower didn't have a showerhead, the water just came out of a pipe, and the handle to turn it on almost fell off. The towels were the tattiest, sorriest towels I have ever seen!! Better bring your own unless you are looking for a post-shower peeling.
The toiletries consisted of a bar of soap in the bathroom, and a large, half used bottle of Pantene shampoo in the cupboard.
Looking for some spoons one morning, the kitchen cupboard wasn't well stocked at all. I found one steak knife, one spoon and five bent forks, so cooking a meal for two and eating it was impossible...
Mitch himself seemed nice enough, not around much, but he needs some lessons in hospitality. It would be nice to have a better housekeeping service than just emptying the bin (not even that was one every day) and changing towels.

Room Tip: Dont expect much.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

I was so excited to finally go on a vacation without any of my family. And was very excited to go to Sherbrooke Suites. After getting to the hotel at 11, we spent the day in town getting familiar. When we came back to the hotel around 10, we were sitting in the kitchenette area eating when two GIANT caca-roaches started walking down the kitchen walls. I have never packed my things faster in my life. And the owner, Mitch was extremely unwilling to help at any part of our stay. He rushed through our tour of the room and claimed he needed to go somewhere quickly so we needed to make the whole process as quickly as possible. He was very irritating. The place would have been cool if it was owned by someone else.

Room Tip: Definately choose a hotel thats on the more expensive side. Its much more worth it. The San Juan on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sherbrooke Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sherbrooke Hotel

Address: 901 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#91 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sherbrooke Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sherbrooke Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sherbrooke Hotel Miami Beach
Sherbrooke Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sherbrooke Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.