We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Alex and Staff were great” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sense Beach House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Sense Beach House to your Saves list
Sense Beach House
3.5 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   400 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 205 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Alex and Staff were great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2010

If you are looking for a hotel with personality and great staff this is your place. Alex and the crew were amazing. There was nothing we asked for that Alex did not provide. The pool is the perfect size for a small gathering and the hotel is a great location between partying and relaxing. Putting aside the RUDE manager of the restaurant attached to the hotel ( which is still not open) this hotel and it staff was amazing A+

  • Stayed May 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    234
    140
    29
    15
    10
See reviews for
43
232
16
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2010

BEST SOUTH BEACH HOTEL BY FAR!

I wish I could give Hotel Sense all five but they came real close! I love the hotel with it's "W" feel. The rooms were fantastic as well as ALEX!!
The hotel was very accommondating to our group's every need. I am very skeptical about hotels on South Beach but you can't go wrong with this one. The only reasons I gave it a four was for the following:
Ran out of towels ( but they were at full capacity with a group)
Opposite end of South Beach ( but a good thing when you don't want to be near all the noise & drama)
No bar area or food choices in the hotel

Other than that....it's perfect!!!

  • Stayed May 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castro Valley, California
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2010

This boutique hotel is juuuuuusst on the edge of SoBe, in what is called "South of Fifth" or SoFi. Very quaint, clean hotel. Alex, Junior, and Christine all get five stars for personality, and helpfulness in getting us around town. The rooms are average sized fabulous contemporary styled. One major complaint I have was that for all of the upscale contemporary styling of the all glass shower, the shower literally poured water out over the entire bathroom floor. We had to be so very careful while showering to make sure we didn't hit the glass. Which, if you think about it, is impossible. And, with the floor being polished tile (you guessed it) it's a major slip and fall hazard. I did mention this issue to Alex. But, without them remodeling, it's not going to change.
The rooms are also energy efficient designed. When you enter the room, you have to insert your room card into a slot in the wall, and then the a/c will turn on. We figured out pretty quickly, that you need to request two room key cards. One to use as your room key, and the other to keep in the wall so the a/c won't turn off when you leave the room. It gets pretty humid and stuffy in Florida ya know.
But, the location is great. The room was quiet at night, when we wanted to sleep. We had the room with a forest mural on the ceiling. So, when you walk into the room, the soffit lighting gently illuminates across the ceiling only. Pretty cool and nicely thought out. Since you are only one block from the Ocean Avenue excitement, it's easy walking to everything. An Ocean view was not really happening from any room as I see it. And, the rooftop pool and lounging area are interesting, but not really inviting as a place to hang out or gather. You want to get out and see and do things when in South Beach.

Oh, and on the parking. . . It pays to seek out a street space. It's 1.25 per hour from 9am-midnight. So, the absolute MOST you will pay is $18.75. We found parking one block away every time we needed a space, and we figured out that in the end we paid about $9 per day overall. And, it Pay2Park (not coin metered) so you can use your credit/debit card.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2010

Ok, I'll get right to the point......we just stayed 5 days in south beach and stayed at this hotel.

1.) This hotel IS for you if; you wanna party like a rock star and not sleep at all. Go w/ a friend or a group of friends. The location is fabulous and within seconds from the beach. The hotel is beautiful, contemporary and very chic. The staff was excellent to deal with. Alex was a real nice guy and Christine was just awesome!!! its not too often you come across someone who really cares and she is top-shelf. HANDS DOWN!!!

2.) This hotel ISN'T for you; if you are there to do some shopping, explore Miami, relax, maybe grab a few drinks and crash by say 2:00 AM. You literally can not sleep AT ALL! You can hear every door slam, every voice, all the traffic, the elevator doors,construction workers @ 7:00 AM. It sucks and it can ruin your next vacation day because of no sleep. We think they should have insulated it a little bit better because I know we are not the first couple to be irritated by this issue.

They also do not offer coffee or drinks even for purchase in the lobby. They mentioned the restaurant is coming soon but they didnt seem very convincing. So, if you're thirsty or hungry you have to walk to the closest place.

Overall, we wouldn't stay here again but the hotel is nice and the staff is very courteous. Also too, its deceptive when they advertise "Ocean View" rooms. They are not. The ones they consider "Ocean View" are ones you step put onto the balcony, look to your left and in between 2 buildings you see a narrow, far-off view of the ocean. That's just flat out wrong and a lame attempt to milk people for more of their $$$. Sorry to sound negative but we would rather be brutally honest so others dont make the same mistake we did if you're looking for a quick getaway.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charlotte NC
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2010

we stayed here April5-April7 2010 & our stay was great & the people were great.The beds are great & hotel was simply the best!!!!!Best hotel in South Beach Miami!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! it was greatttttt

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2010

Having read lots of reviews for Miami hotels, I wanted to find somewhere where we would actually get some sleep!! This was the spot. The rooms were great and we had no noisy neighbours. The pool on the rooftop was small but good. Those on reception were fantastic - I've never come across such helpful staff. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2010

Forget about sleeping.
Loud music 24/7 coming from rooftop pool deck.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sense Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sense Beach House

Address: 400 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sense Beach House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sense Beach House is just steps from the beach, offering a personalized and casually sophisticated vacation getaway. The hotel offers 18 modern rooms, a rooftop pool and lounge area with ocean and skyline views and indoor/outdoor restaurant, The Local House. Perfectly situated on the southern end of South Beach, in the chic SoFi neighborhood, Sense Beach House provides what South Beach has been missing – a true beach escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com and Priceline so you can book your Sense Beach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sense South Beach Miami

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sense Beach House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.