We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT HOTEL, GREAT CUSTOMER SERVICE” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sense Beach House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Sense Beach House to your Saves list
Sense Beach House
3.5 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   400 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 205 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Washington, DC
1 review
“GREAT HOTEL, GREAT CUSTOMER SERVICE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2009

I highly reccommend this hotel! For a boutique hotel, the rooms are a nice size. I have been to south beach many times and have stayed in various hotels ranging from the Whitelaw, to Hotel Victor, to the Ritz Carlton. Sense is my new hotel of choice when visiting south beach. The location is great, as its right on Ocean Drive, but a few blocks up from all the "craziness" we love about south beach. :-) The rooftop pool was perfect and never crowded. All of our customer service needs were met and exceeded. Both Marnie (sp?) and Alex were very friendly and helpful. Alex was usually on duty in the evenings and advised us on great restaurants (and made the reservations for us) and told us about which spots to go to for the nightlife we were looking for. We'll definitely be back!!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    234
    140
    29
    15
    10
See reviews for
43
232
16
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Morpeth, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2009

We stayed at this hotel for 3 days after checking out the reviews. I can honsetly say we were not disappointed. The rooms were lovely, the staff were great and the pool on the roof was just great. ts a small hotel with just 27 rooms and it was full when we were there. however we had the pool to ourselves on the 3 mornings we were there. beach towels were provided.
The only slight down side was the lack of breakfast facillities. But there were plenty of coffee shops etc within walking distance so this was never a real issue.
Its close enough to ocean drive yet far enough away for it to be quiet at night.
an excellent hotel in an excellent location with great rooms and friendly staff.
We met the owner on one occassion and he could not have been more informative or helpfull.....Alex....thank you for a wonderfull stay
Dale & Anne

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2009

Sense is a great choice for the South of Fifth (SoFi) area of Miami Beach, which is itself a good choice of neighborhoods 'cause it's far enough away from the madding crowds of Ocean Drive. Proprietor Alex is extremely helpful and knowledgeable, and will steer you away from tourist traps and toward cool places like Big Pink. Our room was large and light, the decor was modern and low-key, the mattress was Tempurpedic, and the beach was very close. There's a small rooftop pooi, but no restaurant or bar (Big Pink delivers). HIghly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2009

I just returned from a stay at Sense South Beach for my birthday and i had a phenomenal stay there. Its a small hotel allow for very personal service. Alex was FABULOUS and he was very helpful in every way from things to do during the day to not so expensive good food spots. The pool was pretty cool. Even though there was no restaurant or Bar Alex made sure when we wanted food to have it ordered and alcohol to have that brought over also. The cleaning staff was not to bad either my husband and i was to the beach and we were not gone for 1hr and they had come in and clean the room fast. Sense is now the hotel i will stay at on every return trip to Miami.
FYI: even though its not in the heart of all the night life its very very close to all the hot spots.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2009

A brand new hotel within walking distance to the beach and deco district. The customer service was outstanding, the best I have ever come across. Rooms were very clean and energy efficient. The bed was like falling asleep in heaven. A little pricy, but it was because we were staying over the weekend. Watch out for Valet parking, they slap a $32 / day charge...wow, park in the meters along the side of the street. The worst that could happen is you get a $18 parking ticket if you forget to pay the meter. The pool is small and only 3 ft deep. There is not a bar or restaurant downstairs...yet. Also, our room was suppose to be partial ocean view, and that would have only happened if you knocked down the building in front of the window. Don't pay extra to have a partial ocean view. Overall a great stay and we enjoyed being there. Alex knows everything there is to do in town, so ask him for anything.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, England
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2009

My Partner and I stayed here at the beginning of June for 4 nights as part of a 2 week trip around Florida and had a wonderful end to our holiday.
Firstly, as the hotel had only been open for a couple of weeks prior to our visit we didn’t know what to expect but we were not disappointed, the check-in was smooth and quick, the room we had was amazing as we got a large corner suite which looked out onto Ocean Drive and we could see the sea (which is a stone’s throw away), this hotel could not be in a better location as you are near to the sea, bars and restaurants but not in the middle of it so you can go to sleep without disturbance! The accommodation is to a very high standard and everyone else is correct the mattresses are that good you forget where you are! The pool area is lovely and relaxing after a busy day and the view here looks out across the Miami Beach skyline! Alex and all of the staff are really helpful and knowledgeable so do take their advice if you want to have a good time. We would highly recommend this hotel and would definitely stay here if/when we return to Miami!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2009

I stayed at Sense South Beach for 3 nights in South Beach and it was one of the best hotel stays I've ever had.

The rooms were very clean, and the mattress was amazing. The location of the hotel couldn't be better--it was on Ocean Drive and a mere block away from the beach. I was jumping into the water the first thing every morning. The pool wasn't deep enough for a swim, but why bother when you have the Atlantic Ocean? It is, however, a great place to soak and relax after a long day. Think of it more as a spa pool than a swimming pool.

The service is impeccable. Alex knows a lot about Miami and his recommendations were spot on if you're there to have fun.

It was a great stay, and I will definitely be staying here again the next time I'm in Miami.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sense Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sense Beach House

Address: 400 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sense Beach House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sense Beach House is just steps from the beach, offering a personalized and casually sophisticated vacation getaway. The hotel offers 18 modern rooms, a rooftop pool and lounge area with ocean and skyline views and indoor/outdoor restaurant, The Local House. Perfectly situated on the southern end of South Beach, in the chic SoFi neighborhood, Sense Beach House provides what South Beach has been missing – a true beach escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Sense Beach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sense South Beach Miami

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sense Beach House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.