We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a little gem off ocean drive” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sense Beach House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Sense Beach House to your Saves list
Sense Beach House
3.5 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   400 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 202 Hotels in Miami Beach
Conil de la Frontera, Spain
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“a little gem off ocean drive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

This is a boutique hotel with a difference. It is superbly located, comfortable and affordable with some of the best reception staff you could wish to meet (Yessy, take a bow). When you arrive at a hotel during the morning, you are normally told to store your bag and come back at the appointed check-in time. Not with this hotel. If the room is ready you can move straight in.

Th room itself was spacious, light and airy with an extremely comfortable bed plus a well-equipped bathroom. The hotel is well insulated, so you don't hear neighbours' snores or traffic noise.

We were made to feel very welcome and would not hesitate to rebook if we were in the area. Sense Beach House is well situated for bars, restaurants and public transport - not to mention the beach itself and you can even borrow their chairs.

The only downside is the cost of breakfast.

Room Tip: rooms do not have direct sea views but a room at the front of the hotel will give you a sea glimpse
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    217
    125
    28
    13
    10
See reviews for
37
214
15
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
County Durham
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

Fab rooms at the quiet end of Miami --the bed was so-----o---o comfortable --huge -- the bedding was the best ever never stayed at any place where the be was so comfy -- stayed for 2 nights .Breakfast was good --staff very attentive and helpful .Roof pool was fab for a champers on the evening pre dinner we had the place to ourselves --great
Booked here as we read the review in the Sunday Times and must confirm that there review was spot on small idyllic place .

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

First the good - the hotel is at the quieter end of SouthBeach. It is really nicely decorated. It is a block from the beach and they have beach chairs you can borrow. The bartenders and waitstaff at the little restaurant are very good and the dinner at the restaurant is excellent (brunch a bit less so - for example the toast wasn't toasted). The beds are very comfortable. There is a truly lovely rooftop with a plunge pool which is very nice to hang out at. Now the bad. NONE of the rooms have a full or true partial ocean view as advertised. The home page says "ocean view" but the bookings page offers only partial ocean view. The hotel actually faces a much larger building across the street.To see a sliver of the ocean, we would need to go out in our tiny deck and crane our necks around a palm tree. Do not pay extra for a partial ocean view, although if you choose to, request a corner room where you are more likely able to see a sliver of the ocean between the buildings. The rooftop deck has the actual partial ocean view, and, again, it's very nice. Second, for $670+ / night hotel, things should have been a bit less quirky. Our room had gunk on the bathroom light switch that I had to rub off (eew) - I think it was residue from tape which had then gotten dirty with heaven knows what (again, eew) - and the glass bathroom counter was cracked although not all the way through. The guy at reception/concierge was defensive when I indicated that I was not comfortable with him making color copies of my AmEx AND driver’s license, which is a great path to identity theft, and totally unnecessary. And when we picked up our car, it was left double-parked in the center of the street and unattended for us to run out to and move before it got ticketed or towed. Coincidentally we'd just gotten a text that our flight was canceled at that moment, and, when that concierge guy heard that, rather than try to be helpful, he just said well, you'd better go out and find a parking spot for your car (knowing full well that's impossible in SoBe on a Saturday), as opposed to any suggestion where we might find a parking spot or even an offer of assistance as we dragged our luggage to the car ourselves while frantically trying to book a new flight. Again, in a $300/night hotel, sure. In a $670/night hotel, I expect better service. So we continued our frantic call to the airline while sitting near a driveway and got the hell out of Dodge. Minus one star for false advertising and unhelpful reception. But if you really like a pretty and mellow rooftop deck and are willing to pay a premium, add a star.

Room Tip: Pick a corner room, but don't pay additional for a partial ocean view over a regular room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellagio, Italy
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

nice place and great people (ask for Miss LINDA, albanian du charme !)
also the restaurant is pleasant (breakfast and dinner OK)
you can run the beach early in the morning and have a great swim in Atlantic Ocean
.....what's more ?!
Try this experience and never forget :-)

Room Tip: partial ocean view (around number 14)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

We chose this hotel for our romantic getaway weekend with my husband, and it was an amazing home away from home! So close to the beach - just what the doctor ordered - and the room was inviting and cozy. Very clean, nicely decorated. We enjoyed the dinner at their restaurant downstairs as well. The French guy Cirille was extremely friendly, helpful and funny, and the guy who took over the night shift was quite hospitable and amicable too. Overall, a wonderful experience, the only downside was the hefty price tag.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

This hotel is not on the beach but very close (2 min walk). I stayed there for a day to check out South Beach and I was very satisfied with their service. Their restaurant downstairs was very cool with outdoor tables close to the sidewalk. My room was very spacious and the bed was excellent. I got a room on the 2nd floor (room #3) and they told me that It was ocean view - oh well, it was 98% street and 2% ocean view:) so don't get your hopes up if they say 'ocean view'.

Again, their courteous staff and easy access to most restaurants and other venues made me very happy. Very good value for your money.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

nice hotel and the rooms were spacious but the service was not that great. we arrived early at the hotel and left our luggage with them till our room was ready. we left our number but never received a call. we ca me back to the hotel at 2:30 and waited for 10 minutes and our room was ready. The only issue is that there was nobody to help us with our luggage. it was the same issue the next morning. we took our own luggage and loaded it into the taxi ourselves. we also found that the roof pool area had not been cleaned from the previous day. Not very appealing...not worth the extra money

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sense Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sense Beach House

Address: 400 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#30 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sense Beach House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sense Beach House is just steps from the beach, offering a personalized and casually sophisticated vacation getaway. The hotel offers 18 modern rooms, a rooftop pool and lounge area with ocean and skyline views and indoor/outdoor restaurant, The Local House. Perfectly situated on the southern end of South Beach, in the chic SoFi neighborhood, Sense Beach House provides what South Beach has been missing – a true beach escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sense Beach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sense South Beach Miami

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sense Beach House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.