We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice hotel - value for your $$” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sense Beach House

Save Saved
You added Sense Beach House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Sense Beach House
3.5 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   400 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 197 hotels in Miami Beach
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“nice hotel - value for your $$”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

This hotel is not on the beach but very close (2 min walk). I stayed there for a day to check out South Beach and I was very satisfied with their service. Their restaurant downstairs was very cool with outdoor tables close to the sidewalk. My room was very spacious and the bed was excellent. I got a room on the 2nd floor (room #3) and they told me that It was ocean view - oh well, it was 98% street and 2% ocean view:) so don't get your hopes up if they say 'ocean view'.

Again, their courteous staff and easy access to most restaurants and other venues made me very happy. Very good value for your money.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

373 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    201
    121
    29
    12
    10
See reviews for
34
193
15
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

nice hotel and the rooms were spacious but the service was not that great. we arrived early at the hotel and left our luggage with them till our room was ready. we left our number but never received a call. we ca me back to the hotel at 2:30 and waited for 10 minutes and our room was ready. The only issue is that there was nobody to help us with our luggage. it was the same issue the next morning. we took our own luggage and loaded it into the taxi ourselves. we also found that the roof pool area had not been cleaned from the previous day. Not very appealing...not worth the extra money

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zürich
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

This is a very nice hotel, beautiful rooms and great location.

However, be prepared to put up with an awful and unfriendly attitude from the staff. Also, they charge an extra service fee and 29$ per day for the parking. The first night we were here the wifi did not work.

Stayed February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ottawa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

I was very much looking forward to my Sense Beach House experience while attending a course in Miami but unfortunately a serious flu virus has prevented me from travelling.. I contacted the hotel 24 hours in advance of my reservation and explained that I could not attempt international travel. Regardless of my explanation, the hotel (and manager) would not refund the first night's room
Charge of almost $400. Their policy requires 72 hours notice..period. They would not even credit the fee, or part of, to a future reservation..

I will be rebooking the course in Miami but I will certainly not be reserving at the Sense Beach House. In these days of uncertain air travel, flu season, and unforeseen weather, there are always risks of delays. It is unfortunate that such a highly regarded hotel would chose to adhere to such an inflexible policy.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bologna, Italy
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

I would like to write someting about this wonderfull hotel in Miami , even if i've been in Miami last september and october 2013.
This hotel is small but really cute, i booked twice at the same hotel, becouse my husband and i loved a lot our staying, of holiday and business as well. Rooms are clean and confortable, position great , on ocean drive but outside confusion, close to the beach.
people who work there are really really fantastic!
Thanks a lot to Jessie and Chris they are the best! and we love you!
Nicoletta and Ettore (Bologna-Italy)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

This was my second time staying at the hotel and it did not disappoint. The location is fantastic (1 block from the beach yet a little south of the craziness of the main strip along Ocean Drive). This is a boutique hotel with about 20 rooms and a great roofdeck with pool and lots of space to lounge (and a view of the ocean). The hotel staff and general vibe is very chill, from the laid back restaurant to the access to beach chairs, towels, etc that are available to guests to enjoy the beach. The hotel is more economical than others on the strip but I'd say just as good. You can walk to the fancy hotels for dinner/drinks/entertainment, but it's also close to the southern part of Miami Beach - we loved being a couple blocks from Joe's Stone Crab, the Big Pink and a fantastic smoothie/juice bar. Overall, highly recommend for a Miami Beach getaway - with friends, by yourself or with a significant other.

Room Tip: Third floor - any room with a balcony (on 2nd or 3rd floor) has an ocean view (unless it's one o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london- Tuscany
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

Is Always a pleasure to return at Sense Beach house. You really feel home, The rooms are charming and well cleaned, new and spacious bathrooms and shower, great roof pool area, and a very nice and family feeling bar/reception area.
Staff is great and very helpful. I enjoy this place all the times i am In Miami. Parking is available near by or also Valet

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sense Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sense Beach House

Also Known As:
Sense South Beach Miami
Address: 400 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#39 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sense Beach House 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sense Beach House is just steps from the beach, offering a personalized and casually sophisticated vacation getaway. The hotel offers 18 modern rooms, a rooftop pool and lounge area with ocean and skyline views and indoor/outdoor restaurant, The Local House. Perfectly situated on the southern end of South Beach, in the chic SoFi neighborhood, Sense Beach House provides what South Beach has been missing – a true beach escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Tingo, Amex, BookIt.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Sense Beach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sense Beach House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.