We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and stylish hotel: Só worth your money!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sense Beach House

Save Saved
You added Sense Beach House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sense Beach House
3.5 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   400 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 201 hotels in Miami Beach
Zoetermeer
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great location and stylish hotel: Só worth your money!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for only two nights, but I wish it were more, because we had a great time here!

The hotel is really nice and you actually have the feeling to enter a beach house when you come through the front door. With the natural color schemes and materials, they make you feel home in an second.

The room we had was no. 10 and had a view on the street and a glimpse on the beach. Great room with very nice beds and a modern bathroom.

The hotel has the option to breakfast, but we only ordered the banana pancakes on one morning, which are to die for! The other morning we went out for breakfast, since there are so much eating facilities in the area.

They do have a lot of nice cocktails which you can bring up to the roof where there is a nice pool. They serve them in the best glasses you can imagine; Ball's Mason Jars!
The pool is not really meant for swimming since it not very deep, but more for chilling en cooling down. The have very nice sun beds a towel-service and there are some umbrella's.

If you like the beach more, then you're at the perfect place; just across the street you enter the beach. The hotel has towels to lend for their guests, just ask the person on the desk downstairs. Also, you can get some small chairs along with you, if you prefer not to sit on the sand.

Also, this hotel is about 2 minutes walking from the most famous place in Miami; Ocean Drive. Location is a big plus here!

The last day, we checked out in the morning, but had a whole day ahead of us, before flying home. We got the card for the hotel pool ánd a bag with towels, so we still could have a great day, although we were no longer staying in the hotel. Ain't that a great service or what!

We enjoyed our stay here and must say that the housekeeping is the best. I forgot my TomTom and iPod in the room when I checked out. When we came to get our stuff in the afternoon, they came to tell they found it.

I would highly recommend this hotel if you want to stay in Miami.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

372 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    203
    118
    28
    13
    10
See reviews for
34
205
15
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
sandhurst
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

i loved everything about the hotel, staff, food, room, pool warm, the list can go on...the Russian waiter is very funny and he makes a good mojito....well they all do.

everything was clean i could not fault on anything...

Now to better things this is what i would suggest, at least a continetal breakfast within the cost of the room, if you are going to charge Hotel service, towles etc then throw in breakfast. When your at the pool no one comes up to see if you want drinks or anything, well they didnt for me. and the Wifi being great to have but chargable with in hotel service then make it work by the pool.

3 comments improve but i did enjoy the hotel and would stay again.

Thanks Michael

Room Tip: i stayed on the third floor room 14...you got a sea view and its only i flight of stairs to the pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Came here with 9 girls for a bachelorette party and had no complaints! Pool on the roof is salt water and clean- we had it all to ourselves!

Downstairs kitchen/ bar area is very intimate and the food is great with unl mimosa specials. The rooms were large and all had balconies. A great value and nice quiet location right across from the beach!

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anápolis, Go
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

This hotel has great location and a very comfortable room, besides a very nice pool.

However , there are small details that, together, can spoil one recommendation. After all, the hotel is far from being cheap.

Points that annoyed us :

1) shower has lukewarm water

2) there is a resort fee which is a kind of joke. You pay in order to use beach chairs, umbrellas and towels . The problem is that, in a week, umbrellas were always broken. And the value of one day resort fee would buy the same chair and umbrellas provided by the hotel at the corner's Walgreens .

3 ) the valet service takes too long. Once they brought the wrong car. In another time, they brought the car all mangled.

4 ) The breakfast is expensive and has a menu that seemed too heavy for us (eggs , eggs , eggs) . There is a decent deli just steps from the hotel. Exit the hotel, turn left and the deli is neighbour to TGI Fridays. Big Pink is also very close.

5 ) the room air conditioner works well, but it was dirty (dust , dirt , mold) .

The Sense Beach pays off if the prices you get are substantially better than the big hotels of South Beach . If the difference is small, this hotel is not worth it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

We arrived and were aware that it was way before check in time of 3pm but the lady on reception managed to be able to check us in straight away. She explained the facilities of the hotel and suggested places to eat. The hotel was excellent very close to the beach and close enough to all the restaurants etc (within easy walking distance) but far enough away for peace and quiet as Ocean Drive is awake all night. The rooms were large and beautifully decorated as was the rest of the hotel. Would definitely recommend and certainly stay again if we were to visit again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Let me preface this by saying I am an extremely picky hotel guest. My boyfriend and I stayed here for a long weekend and will definitely be back! If you are looking for a boutique hotel in south beach, this is it! The building is beautiful, the rooms are fantastic and the bathrooms are sleek and modern! We especially appreciated the private balcony that came with our room...apparently it comes with all rooms but two so make sure to ask for it! We had an amazing breakfast at the local house restaurant in the lobby and took full advantage of the rooftop pool. The hotel even has beach bags with towels in them and chairs for you to take to the beach which is only a block away! They have thought of everything. I didn't want to leave! Oh and did I mention the mattresses are super comfy?? They're memory foam! We slept great and since the hotel was towards the end of ocean drive it wasn't too noisy. Can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for a room with a balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cancun
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel recently for a birthday celebration. We had an amazing stay. The hotel rooms were clean and modern. The staff was courteous and always willing to help. Our favorite part of the hotel was the hotel lobby and restaurant, it absolutely gave us the beach ambiance we were looking for. The food at the restaurant was excellent. I had the ceviche appetizer and is now my favorite. I highly recommend anyone visiting south beach to go and stay at this lovely boutique hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sense Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sense Beach House

Address: 400 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#50 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sense Beach House 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sense Beach House is just steps from the beach, offering a personalized and casually sophisticated vacation getaway. The hotel offers 18 modern rooms, a rooftop pool and lounge area with ocean and skyline views and indoor/outdoor restaurant, The Local House. Perfectly situated on the southern end of South Beach, in the chic SoFi neighborhood, Sense Beach House provides what South Beach has been missing – a true beach escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Venere and Otel so you can book your Sense Beach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sense South Beach Miami

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sense Beach House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.