We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sense Beach House

Save Saved
You added Sense Beach House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Sense Beach House
3.5 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   400 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 197 hotels in Miami Beach
Washington, D.C.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Love this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Sense Beach House is the perfect place to stay in South Beach. It is very tastefully appointed yet has a very laid back personality. It's across the street from the beach and they have a basket with beach chairs, towels and beach bags for the guests. The location of the hotel is a block away from where the craziness starts in South Beach so it's quiet yet close to all the action. The staff is very friendly and helpful. I cannot say enough about the restaurant! I was there for business and traveling alone so I ate there a lot. The food was great! I would definitely recommend Sense Beach House as the go-to place to stay for anyone venturing to South Beach.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

373 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    201
    121
    29
    12
    10
See reviews for
34
193
15
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Sense Beach House is one of our favorite places to stay, relax and just chill at.
Gabriel is doing a great job. However, there are BIG water / sewer issues, door and resultant NOISE issues as the Roto-rooter, elevator and drain cleaner staff service the problem.

This is SO not the place to be over the next couple of days.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

I enjoyed everything about this hotel. We arrived a little before check in time, so we had a drink at the bar while waiting for our room to be ready. The bartender was extremely nice and where it was our first time in Miami, he was helping us out on where to go for nightlife and places to go nearby.
When we checked into our room, I was pleasantly surprised with how big it was, very clean, and had a relaxing décor. Our room had a balcony on the Ocean Ave side and it wasn’t noisy. The rooftop pool area was very nice too. The location was great because it’s across the street from the beach, and many nearby restaurants, gelato/coffee shops, convenience stores and shopping and a few blocks in either direction there were nightclubs and bars. I hope to stay here again in the near future.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cambridge
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Have just spent 8 night at the Sense Beach House. We had the exe king on 3rd floor (room 12) with partial ocean view and balcony.
What a fab hotel, staff couldn't have been more helpful and friendly especially the bar/restaurant staff. Knowledgeable about places to go and eat and where to avoid.
Everything was clean and the hotel itself smells divine. Its a very short walk to the beach and the hotel pool on the roof was great and didn't get busy - at most there were 4 people using the roof terrace.
The room was great, clean and a huge bed. The cleaning staff were helpful and left the room looking perfect every time. Bathroom had a great shower with a massive rain water head. The only thing that would be helpful in the hotel room would be a pen and a piece of paper and because we are from the UK maybe (hot) tea making facilities in the room. Beautiful fluffly robes.
As the hotel was below 5th it was much quieter, especially as we unwittingly went over Spring Break. The food in the hotel is superb especially the skirt steak dish and the BLT - yum. They provided beach bags with towels and chairs and had bits for kids in the foyer - we even played on the fuzzball table. But i do think if you have kids even though there were children there a bigger complex would have more to do.
Would definitely go there again and recommend it to people, ( maybe avoid spring break )
Loved it - great staff, great place, happy days.

Room Tip: Best room was room 12 as you got a massive bed and a great view. Corner room large.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

I love this hotel. The lobby is like getting inside a little cottage beach house instead a hotel! It is so close to all the south beach venue but away from the noise. When I got to Miami I was very stressed out and as soon as I entered this place I knew I would relax. I ended sleeping so much during my two days stay which was a surprise since I hardly ever sleep during my travel. The rooms are soooo relax!! the only bad thing about the room is that the bed is a little hard but put the pillow around your body and you'll feel in a 'heaven bed'. Miami was a little cold that weekend so I was unable to use the swimming pool :( I ended going to the beach instead which is only one block away. If I'm ever very stress out I'll run to this hotel..it is really magical how you can relax so much here and sleep. I also will like to thanks Yesi the girl at front desk she was always so nice to me.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wantagh, New York
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

The Sense Beach House is very conveniently located just one block from the water. You are near all the action, but don't have all the noise you would have if the hotel were several blocks over. The staff is extremely friendly and the rooms are very modern, There is an outdoor pool on the top floor.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandwich, Massachusetts, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

This was a beautiful place with lots of character. Great location and easy walk to where you'd want to go. The staff were great and felt really welcome. The room was clean, comfortable and charming and was a delight to be in. I would be more than happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sense Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sense Beach House

Also Known As:
Sense South Beach Miami
Address: 400 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#39 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sense Beach House 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sense Beach House is just steps from the beach, offering a personalized and casually sophisticated vacation getaway. The hotel offers 18 modern rooms, a rooftop pool and lounge area with ocean and skyline views and indoor/outdoor restaurant, The Local House. Perfectly situated on the southern end of South Beach, in the chic SoFi neighborhood, Sense Beach House provides what South Beach has been missing – a true beach escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Tingo, Amex, BookIt.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Sense Beach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sense Beach House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.