We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place is great, I wouldn't stay anywhere else when on south beach!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sense Beach House

Save Saved
You added Sense Beach House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sense Beach House
3.5 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   400 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
Ogunquit, Maine
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“This place is great, I wouldn't stay anywhere else when on south beach!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013 via mobile

Having lived on south beach I know that ocean drive hotels are not really that great. This place is amazing!! It's small only 18 rooms, great roof top deck and pool. Really nice cafe/ restaurant downstairs. Staff very helpful and friendly. The entire hotel is clean everywhere, and you just don't see that in every hotel. I will only stay here from now on

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

384 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    208
    125
    29
    12
    10
See reviews for
34
200
15
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
london- Tuscany
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

The hotel room is spacious and bed is very comfortable, entrance and hall very modern and nice.
The restaurant is good and Staff extremely friendly.
Location is below 5 st street so you have to do some walk to get in the heart of South Beach area. Valet parkinng is available at 28 dollars.
I think the hotel is very nice and well restored, good choice

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

I recently stayed at the Sense Beach House and had a wonderful stay. I usually prefer to stay in larger hotels but the Sense had a good rate so I decided to give it a go. I was really pleasantly surprised by how well organised and beautiful the hotel is. The room was spotless with a stylish beachy theme, great Molton Brown toiletries (my favourite) and fantastic double shower. The restaurant does a really good breakfast (the best coffee we found in Miami) and bottomless mimosas were a nice touch. The location is perfect - one block to the main restaurant strip on Ocean Drive but far enough away that you can get some quiet time. Also a short walk to Nikki Beach (which by the way does a great Sunday brunch).
We will back for sure!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Such a lovely relaxed hotel. Extremely clean, large rooms and great staff. A really great chilled out atmosphere. We took our baby (I don't think they were expecting him!) and while not really geared to babies, they were so helpful and kind.
Pool area amazing.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

I received very poor and unprofessional service during my stay at The Sense. It was a nice and clean boutique hotel overall, but the staff was inattentive and unreliable --- definitely not what I expected for the price. When I arrived after a long day of traveling, the woman checking me in was rude and unwelcoming. Since I had to wait for a room to be ready I decided to eat lunch in the hotel restaurant which ended up being a ~2 hour ordeal because the waiter never came back to our table even though the restaurant was not even half full. They offered "bottomless mimosas" with brunch but I was only able to get one because we never saw our waiter so I couldnt ask for another. An hour after checking out, I realized that I left my iphone charger in the room and asked if I could have it mailed to me (at my cost) and they told me that they no longer offer this service. Overall, really strange hotel staff and I won't be returning here next time I am in Miamia. I recommend staying somewhere else that takes their business more seriously.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

My partner and I just returned from a week at this hotel and had a great time. We would recommend this hotel and certainly wouldn't hesitate booking this again if the price is right.
We were in room 12, a corner room on the middle floor with a wrap around balcony (mostly quiet with only a bit of noise from road). I would definitely stay in that room again. It was large, spacious and had a great bathroom. I wasn't keen on the memory foam mattresses as they seemed to retain heat so was often very hot, but the sheets were clean and nice.

The hotel provided beach towels and beach chairs - there were only 6 chairs so wouldn't cover the guests if they all wanted them at the same time, but we were glad that they offered this!

The staff were fantastic. They were all so friendly and willing to help out with any question you may have.

There are only a couple things which I think could be improved: the wifi internet throughout the hotel needs to have its signal boost as often it cut out in the room and was relatively slow when it was working. There was access on the roof, but it did cut out every now and then because the signal wasn't strong enough. We did find that a couple of the complimentary Molton Brown bottles, the shampoo appeared to be watered down as it was not a thick consistency - very watery. When replaced by the cleaning staff once empty we got the right consistency... We know exactly what this should be as we use these products in our home in London all the time.

We are frequent visitors to South Beach so know the area very well. This is definitely in our preferred area (south of fifth) and the quality of a hotel we like. I hope the hotel keeps up the cleanliness and quality to ensure that we come back time and time again. I would be disappointed to see something deteriorate as so often happens in South Beach.

Room Tip: We only know about room 12, which is what my review and pictures are based on.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

South Beach miami is basically divided between the art deco / boutique hotel area and the high rise hotel area. The Sense is perfectly located in the art deco part of town but not in the middle of the craziness but just at the onset on ocean drive.

Pros:
* absolutely great location (on ocean drive at the beginning of the row of restaurants / bars)
* new construction (around 3-4 yrs) which makes for great rooms / hotel - the vast majority of the hotels there are old '20s- '30s constructions that have been re-done at some point in time but many are still not what you would expect for the money
* very cool design inside / vibe
* pool on top where you can relax / have breakfast
* quiet and relaxing surroundings but just a minute away from non stop music and craziness
* one block away from the beach (they give you beach towels down-stairs + beach chairs)

Cons:
* being a very small boutique hotel the place has some very weird particularities - the closet had no hangers (never encountered this in any hotel, not even a 2 star) and when we asked for hangers we were told the place doesn't have any + our request was out of place (???) - we ended up buying hangers ourselves from Wallgreens (2 blocks away) to hang going out shirts, dresses and pants. not a big deal but for the money you would expect hangers or at least the hotel to go and buy some.
* sometimes a bit of weird service - see the hanger situation above + another time we had a problem with the A/C and we basically had to wait it out.

All in all a very good experience, would definetly recommend the place based on the location, the design and property age, but to get this place to 5 star for the price one pays they need to step it up on the service side of things.

enjoy!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
Free internet...
Show More
0.3 mi away
Beacon Hotel
Beacon Hotel
#22 of 200 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,422 reviews
Quaint, Charmin...
Show More
0.3 mi away
The Hotel
The Hotel
#10 of 200 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 914 reviews
Mid-range, Char...
Show More
0.4 mi away
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
#31 of 200 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beach, Mid-rang...
Show More
0.9 mi away
Edgewater South Beach
Edgewater South Beach
#9 of 200 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 837 reviews
Quiet, Beach, M...
Show More
0.0 mi away
Lord Balfour
Lord Balfour
#5 of 200 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 371 reviews
Free internet...
Show More
0.7 mi away
Hotel Impala
Hotel Impala
#11 of 200 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sense Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sense Beach House

Address: 400 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#29 Top resorts Hotel in Miami Beach
#46 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sense Beach House 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sense Beach House is just steps from the beach, offering a personalized and casually sophisticated vacation getaway. The hotel offers 18 modern rooms, a rooftop pool and lounge area with ocean and skyline views and indoor/outdoor restaurant, The Local House. Perfectly situated on the southern end of South Beach, in the chic SoFi neighborhood, Sense Beach House provides what South Beach has been missing – a true beach escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Sense Beach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sense South Beach Miami

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sense Beach House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.