We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A stylish boutique hotel in great location - will definitely be back” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sense Beach House

Save Saved
You added Sense Beach House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sense Beach House
3.5 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   400 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A stylish boutique hotel in great location - will definitely be back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

I recently stayed at the Sense Beach House and had a wonderful stay. I usually prefer to stay in larger hotels but the Sense had a good rate so I decided to give it a go. I was really pleasantly surprised by how well organised and beautiful the hotel is. The room was spotless with a stylish beachy theme, great Molton Brown toiletries (my favourite) and fantastic double shower. The restaurant does a really good breakfast (the best coffee we found in Miami) and bottomless mimosas were a nice touch. The location is perfect - one block to the main restaurant strip on Ocean Drive but far enough away that you can get some quiet time. Also a short walk to Nikki Beach (which by the way does a great Sunday brunch).
We will back for sure!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

366 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    199
    117
    28
    12
    10
See reviews for
34
201
15
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Such a lovely relaxed hotel. Extremely clean, large rooms and great staff. A really great chilled out atmosphere. We took our baby (I don't think they were expecting him!) and while not really geared to babies, they were so helpful and kind.
Pool area amazing.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

I received very poor and unprofessional service during my stay at The Sense. It was a nice and clean boutique hotel overall, but the staff was inattentive and unreliable --- definitely not what I expected for the price. When I arrived after a long day of traveling, the woman checking me in was rude and unwelcoming. Since I had to wait for a room to be ready I decided to eat lunch in the hotel restaurant which ended up being a ~2 hour ordeal because the waiter never came back to our table even though the restaurant was not even half full. They offered "bottomless mimosas" with brunch but I was only able to get one because we never saw our waiter so I couldnt ask for another. An hour after checking out, I realized that I left my iphone charger in the room and asked if I could have it mailed to me (at my cost) and they told me that they no longer offer this service. Overall, really strange hotel staff and I won't be returning here next time I am in Miamia. I recommend staying somewhere else that takes their business more seriously.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

My partner and I just returned from a week at this hotel and had a great time. We would recommend this hotel and certainly wouldn't hesitate booking this again if the price is right.
We were in room 12, a corner room on the middle floor with a wrap around balcony (mostly quiet with only a bit of noise from road). I would definitely stay in that room again. It was large, spacious and had a great bathroom. I wasn't keen on the memory foam mattresses as they seemed to retain heat so was often very hot, but the sheets were clean and nice.

The hotel provided beach towels and beach chairs - there were only 6 chairs so wouldn't cover the guests if they all wanted them at the same time, but we were glad that they offered this!

The staff were fantastic. They were all so friendly and willing to help out with any question you may have.

There are only a couple things which I think could be improved: the wifi internet throughout the hotel needs to have its signal boost as often it cut out in the room and was relatively slow when it was working. There was access on the roof, but it did cut out every now and then because the signal wasn't strong enough. We did find that a couple of the complimentary Molton Brown bottles, the shampoo appeared to be watered down as it was not a thick consistency - very watery. When replaced by the cleaning staff once empty we got the right consistency... We know exactly what this should be as we use these products in our home in London all the time.

We are frequent visitors to South Beach so know the area very well. This is definitely in our preferred area (south of fifth) and the quality of a hotel we like. I hope the hotel keeps up the cleanliness and quality to ensure that we come back time and time again. I would be disappointed to see something deteriorate as so often happens in South Beach.

Room Tip: We only know about room 12, which is what my review and pictures are based on.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

South Beach miami is basically divided between the art deco / boutique hotel area and the high rise hotel area. The Sense is perfectly located in the art deco part of town but not in the middle of the craziness but just at the onset on ocean drive.

Pros:
* absolutely great location (on ocean drive at the beginning of the row of restaurants / bars)
* new construction (around 3-4 yrs) which makes for great rooms / hotel - the vast majority of the hotels there are old '20s- '30s constructions that have been re-done at some point in time but many are still not what you would expect for the money
* very cool design inside / vibe
* pool on top where you can relax / have breakfast
* quiet and relaxing surroundings but just a minute away from non stop music and craziness
* one block away from the beach (they give you beach towels down-stairs + beach chairs)

Cons:
* being a very small boutique hotel the place has some very weird particularities - the closet had no hangers (never encountered this in any hotel, not even a 2 star) and when we asked for hangers we were told the place doesn't have any + our request was out of place (???) - we ended up buying hangers ourselves from Wallgreens (2 blocks away) to hang going out shirts, dresses and pants. not a big deal but for the money you would expect hangers or at least the hotel to go and buy some.
* sometimes a bit of weird service - see the hanger situation above + another time we had a problem with the A/C and we basically had to wait it out.

All in all a very good experience, would definetly recommend the place based on the location, the design and property age, but to get this place to 5 star for the price one pays they need to step it up on the service side of things.

enjoy!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LA, Calif
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
297 helpful votes 297 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012 via mobile

As many have written, this is a charming boutique hotel a few blocks from the excitement of South Beach and a block from the beach. The roof top pool is small but designed so there is room for many, however we rarely had more than a couple people there with us. The rooms are clean and well maintained. It is a great value compared to the prices in the heart of SB.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincs
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights on the last lap of our Florida holiday. The position of the hotel was superb, Being at the quiet end of Ocean Drive and away from the busy and noisier South Beach area was an ideal positon for us and a bonus of being just across the road to the lovely beach. We walked a couple of times to Lincoln Road Mall which has a good selection of bars and restaurants and we also caught the bus there which took just a few minutes.
The hotel had a lovely laid back atmosphere, so laid back in fact that we found one of the receptionists asleep at the desk. Think he must have had a late night!!. However the staff were all so friendly and helpful with recommending restaurants.
We were upgraded on arrival to a delux room as there was a problem in the standard room we booked. The room was lovely so modern, comfortable, and fresh. There was a small balcony with a part sea view. You could just about see the sea through the overhanging trees. It was spotlessly clean and the bathroom had a lovely big shower.
There is not restaurant or bar but this didnt bother us with so much to chose from in the area.
We had a lovely stay at the hotel and would love to stay again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sense Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sense Beach House

Address: 400 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#47 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sense Beach House 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sense Beach House is just steps from the beach, offering a personalized and casually sophisticated vacation getaway. The hotel offers 18 modern rooms, a rooftop pool and lounge area with ocean and skyline views and indoor/outdoor restaurant, The Local House. Perfectly situated on the southern end of South Beach, in the chic SoFi neighborhood, Sense Beach House provides what South Beach has been missing – a true beach escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Sense Beach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sense South Beach Miami

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sense Beach House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.