We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, nice location and boutique style” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sense Beach House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Sense Beach House to your Saves list
Sense Beach House
3.5 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   400 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 202 Hotels in Miami Beach
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great hotel, nice location and boutique style”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

My partner and I just returned from a week at this hotel and had a great time. We would recommend this hotel and certainly wouldn't hesitate booking this again if the price is right.
We were in room 12, a corner room on the middle floor with a wrap around balcony (mostly quiet with only a bit of noise from road). I would definitely stay in that room again. It was large, spacious and had a great bathroom. I wasn't keen on the memory foam mattresses as they seemed to retain heat so was often very hot, but the sheets were clean and nice.

The hotel provided beach towels and beach chairs - there were only 6 chairs so wouldn't cover the guests if they all wanted them at the same time, but we were glad that they offered this!

The staff were fantastic. They were all so friendly and willing to help out with any question you may have.

There are only a couple things which I think could be improved: the wifi internet throughout the hotel needs to have its signal boost as often it cut out in the room and was relatively slow when it was working. There was access on the roof, but it did cut out every now and then because the signal wasn't strong enough. We did find that a couple of the complimentary Molton Brown bottles, the shampoo appeared to be watered down as it was not a thick consistency - very watery. When replaced by the cleaning staff once empty we got the right consistency... We know exactly what this should be as we use these products in our home in London all the time.

We are frequent visitors to South Beach so know the area very well. This is definitely in our preferred area (south of fifth) and the quality of a hotel we like. I hope the hotel keeps up the cleanliness and quality to ensure that we come back time and time again. I would be disappointed to see something deteriorate as so often happens in South Beach.

Room Tip: We only know about room 12, which is what my review and pictures are based on.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    217
    125
    28
    13
    10
See reviews for
37
214
15
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

South Beach miami is basically divided between the art deco / boutique hotel area and the high rise hotel area. The Sense is perfectly located in the art deco part of town but not in the middle of the craziness but just at the onset on ocean drive.

Pros:
* absolutely great location (on ocean drive at the beginning of the row of restaurants / bars)
* new construction (around 3-4 yrs) which makes for great rooms / hotel - the vast majority of the hotels there are old '20s- '30s constructions that have been re-done at some point in time but many are still not what you would expect for the money
* very cool design inside / vibe
* pool on top where you can relax / have breakfast
* quiet and relaxing surroundings but just a minute away from non stop music and craziness
* one block away from the beach (they give you beach towels down-stairs + beach chairs)

Cons:
* being a very small boutique hotel the place has some very weird particularities - the closet had no hangers (never encountered this in any hotel, not even a 2 star) and when we asked for hangers we were told the place doesn't have any + our request was out of place (???) - we ended up buying hangers ourselves from Wallgreens (2 blocks away) to hang going out shirts, dresses and pants. not a big deal but for the money you would expect hangers or at least the hotel to go and buy some.
* sometimes a bit of weird service - see the hanger situation above + another time we had a problem with the A/C and we basically had to wait it out.

All in all a very good experience, would definetly recommend the place based on the location, the design and property age, but to get this place to 5 star for the price one pays they need to step it up on the service side of things.

enjoy!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LA, Calif
Top Contributor
238 reviews 238 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
302 helpful votes 302 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012 via mobile

As many have written, this is a charming boutique hotel a few blocks from the excitement of South Beach and a block from the beach. The roof top pool is small but designed so there is room for many, however we rarely had more than a couple people there with us. The rooms are clean and well maintained. It is a great value compared to the prices in the heart of SB.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincs
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights on the last lap of our Florida holiday. The position of the hotel was superb, Being at the quiet end of Ocean Drive and away from the busy and noisier South Beach area was an ideal positon for us and a bonus of being just across the road to the lovely beach. We walked a couple of times to Lincoln Road Mall which has a good selection of bars and restaurants and we also caught the bus there which took just a few minutes.
The hotel had a lovely laid back atmosphere, so laid back in fact that we found one of the receptionists asleep at the desk. Think he must have had a late night!!. However the staff were all so friendly and helpful with recommending restaurants.
We were upgraded on arrival to a delux room as there was a problem in the standard room we booked. The room was lovely so modern, comfortable, and fresh. There was a small balcony with a part sea view. You could just about see the sea through the overhanging trees. It was spotlessly clean and the bathroom had a lovely big shower.
There is not restaurant or bar but this didnt bother us with so much to chose from in the area.
We had a lovely stay at the hotel and would love to stay again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

The pool area was very nice, and I spent more time there than at the beach. The water was three feet deep, the chair was comfortable, and there was never anyone else up there. The room was fairly small, and there was no bathtub. There was construction on the first floor for a restaurant, which I was told was 90% complete. The room was quiet, though. There was a Walgreens and liquor store only two blocks away, which was convenient. There was also a Deco Bike rack only a block away, which made renting a bicycle very convenient. The people at the front desk were friendly and helpful. Three stories with about six rooms on each. The pool is on the fourth floor.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

If you are looking for a resort style hotel right on the beach then you should book a room at Loews (for double or triple the price).
If you are looking for a hotel in the middle of the action on Ocean Drive then you should book a room at Clevelander, with all the noise which comes with it.
But if you are looking for a hotel that is in a quiet area, only one short block from the Ocean Drive action, few steps from the beach, clean, with spacious rooms and wonderful staff then The Sense is for you. Great location and great value. Highly recommended.

P.S.
When we left they were putting the final touches to a new bar in the lobby, so you can enjoy a drink (or two) before or after going out to explore South Beach.

Room Tip: The deluxe rooms are bigger, brighter and have a balcony. They are much better than the standard roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

really enjoyable hotel! I loved the fresh and spacious rooms. The staff are really friendly and knew my name the second time I walked in. They stock the room with Molton Brown shower / hair supply, which as a Londoner I just love.

Great south beach location. Very close to the beach. A big plus for me is that unlike many of the art deco hotels, it is NOT directly above a night club, which provided the quietness and relaxed atmosphere I needed.

They are also making a restaurant area on the ground floor.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sense Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sense Beach House

Address: 400 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#30 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sense Beach House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sense Beach House is just steps from the beach, offering a personalized and casually sophisticated vacation getaway. The hotel offers 18 modern rooms, a rooftop pool and lounge area with ocean and skyline views and indoor/outdoor restaurant, The Local House. Perfectly situated on the southern end of South Beach, in the chic SoFi neighborhood, Sense Beach House provides what South Beach has been missing – a true beach escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sense Beach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sense South Beach Miami

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sense Beach House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.