We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sense Beach House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Sense Beach House to your Saves list
Sense Beach House
3.5 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   400 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #43 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

The pool area was very nice, and I spent more time there than at the beach. The water was three feet deep, the chair was comfortable, and there was never anyone else up there. The room was fairly small, and there was no bathtub. There was construction on the first floor for a restaurant, which I was told was 90% complete. The room was quiet, though. There was a Walgreens and liquor store only two blocks away, which was convenient. There was also a Deco Bike rack only a block away, which made renting a bicycle very convenient. The people at the front desk were friendly and helpful. Three stories with about six rooms on each. The pool is on the fourth floor.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    240
    145
    29
    15
    13
See reviews for
45
238
17
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

If you are looking for a resort style hotel right on the beach then you should book a room at Loews (for double or triple the price).
If you are looking for a hotel in the middle of the action on Ocean Drive then you should book a room at Clevelander, with all the noise which comes with it.
But if you are looking for a hotel that is in a quiet area, only one short block from the Ocean Drive action, few steps from the beach, clean, with spacious rooms and wonderful staff then The Sense is for you. Great location and great value. Highly recommended.

P.S.
When we left they were putting the final touches to a new bar in the lobby, so you can enjoy a drink (or two) before or after going out to explore South Beach.

Room Tip: The deluxe rooms are bigger, brighter and have a balcony. They are much better than the standard roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

really enjoyable hotel! I loved the fresh and spacious rooms. The staff are really friendly and knew my name the second time I walked in. They stock the room with Molton Brown shower / hair supply, which as a Londoner I just love.

Great south beach location. Very close to the beach. A big plus for me is that unlike many of the art deco hotels, it is NOT directly above a night club, which provided the quietness and relaxed atmosphere I needed.

They are also making a restaurant area on the ground floor.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

The Sense Hotel is a gem. Great beach access. The hotel is new, clean, modern, and the room was spacious. Reasonably priced. My daughter and I went to Miami for a weekend getaway. We booked a king sized bed and received an upgrade to two doubles and a partial ocean view. The bed is memory foam and very comfortable. The staff is personable and knowledgeable. Anthony is great and he gave us wonderful tips on activities and restaurants. The best feature is that the hotel is on Ocean Drive but not in the mix of the noise and bar scene. Walk two blocks to access the party scene. There were some additions in progress, but not intrusive. They will open a bar and seafood restaurant in late November. I told some friends about our experience and they already booked for the holidays. Sense will be my first choice when visiting Miami.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We stayed here for only 2 nights mid October. We had an all round great time! The staff were exceptional - very friendly and approachable! They offered many recommendations and advice, all which were great! The room was nice, clean and modern, big and comfy bed! The rooftop pool is nice and there is a little lounge area up there too which is great to relax an as the sun goes down. We would definitely recommend this hotel to our friends and family and we would definitely stay here again.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Stayed Saturday night in room 8. Clean, quiet, well appointed. Comfy bed and pillows. Easy valet park and check in. Great location as right near the bars and restaurants but just far enough away to not be disturbed by noise. No complaints at all. Excellent value.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornelius, North Carolina
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

My wife and I just returned from The Sense Hotel and really enjoyed it. Right now this is a good place to stay and in my opinion, they are just a few minor steps away from being a great place to stay.

Pros: The staff here is extremely friendly. Everyone we spoke to was really nice and very accommodating. They took care of our every request with a smile. The location is also great. The hotel is one block south of where the Art Deco district officially starts, at 5th Street. This means you are very close to all of the action, but don't have to deal with the crazy traffic and congestion that is the standard between 5th Street and 15th Street, on Ocean Drive. The hotel is a short, 1 block, walk to the beach. The $7.50 per day resort fee covers your use of beach chairs, beach towels, pool towels, wireless internet and phone. The roof top pool and deck area is very nice. The pool is only 3' deep, so expect to sit and soak. The rooms we nicely decorated and the bed was really comfortable. The room was very clean, with new carpet and a flat screen TV.

Cons: When we arrived, there were three bath towels provided, but only one hand towel and wash cloth. We had to call to have an additional washcloth sent up and it was only on the 2nd call that we actually received what we needed. I thought this was a fluke until the same thing happend the next day, with only one washcloth being provided. Not sure why two complete sets of towels is a big deal. The hotel is also undergoing some construction that we were not told about when making the reservation, through Travelocity. Their bar area was totally shut down, so there were not any options for getting drinks or snacks at the hotel, other than the in-room mini bar. The bar construction also meant that no ice machine was available. Since this was the case, they did credit our account for one days resort fee, which was a nice gesture. They also managed to keep the noise level down, so the construction could not be heard in our room.

Overall, I would definitely recommend this property. Once the construction is done, it will be beautiful and the staff is so nice.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Sense Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sense Beach House

Address: 400 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sense Beach House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sense Beach House is just steps from the beach, offering a personalized and casually sophisticated vacation getaway. The hotel offers 18 modern rooms, a rooftop pool and lounge area with ocean and skyline views and indoor/outdoor restaurant, The Local House. Perfectly situated on the southern end of South Beach, in the chic SoFi neighborhood, Sense Beach House provides what South Beach has been missing – a true beach escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com and Priceline so you can book your Sense Beach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sense South Beach Miami

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sense Beach House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.