We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really nice and spacious room, friendly staff, relaxing and fresh atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sense Beach House

Save Saved
You added Sense Beach House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sense Beach House
3.5 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   400 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Really nice and spacious room, friendly staff, relaxing and fresh atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

really enjoyable hotel! I loved the fresh and spacious rooms. The staff are really friendly and knew my name the second time I walked in. They stock the room with Molton Brown shower / hair supply, which as a Londoner I just love.

Great south beach location. Very close to the beach. A big plus for me is that unlike many of the art deco hotels, it is NOT directly above a night club, which provided the quietness and relaxed atmosphere I needed.

They are also making a restaurant area on the ground floor.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    207
    125
    29
    12
    10
See reviews for
34
199
15
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

The Sense Hotel is a gem. Great beach access. The hotel is new, clean, modern, and the room was spacious. Reasonably priced. My daughter and I went to Miami for a weekend getaway. We booked a king sized bed and received an upgrade to two doubles and a partial ocean view. The bed is memory foam and very comfortable. The staff is personable and knowledgeable. Anthony is great and he gave us wonderful tips on activities and restaurants. The best feature is that the hotel is on Ocean Drive but not in the mix of the noise and bar scene. Walk two blocks to access the party scene. There were some additions in progress, but not intrusive. They will open a bar and seafood restaurant in late November. I told some friends about our experience and they already booked for the holidays. Sense will be my first choice when visiting Miami.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We stayed here for only 2 nights mid October. We had an all round great time! The staff were exceptional - very friendly and approachable! They offered many recommendations and advice, all which were great! The room was nice, clean and modern, big and comfy bed! The rooftop pool is nice and there is a little lounge area up there too which is great to relax an as the sun goes down. We would definitely recommend this hotel to our friends and family and we would definitely stay here again.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Stayed Saturday night in room 8. Clean, quiet, well appointed. Comfy bed and pillows. Easy valet park and check in. Great location as right near the bars and restaurants but just far enough away to not be disturbed by noise. No complaints at all. Excellent value.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornelius, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

My wife and I just returned from The Sense Hotel and really enjoyed it. Right now this is a good place to stay and in my opinion, they are just a few minor steps away from being a great place to stay.

Pros: The staff here is extremely friendly. Everyone we spoke to was really nice and very accommodating. They took care of our every request with a smile. The location is also great. The hotel is one block south of where the Art Deco district officially starts, at 5th Street. This means you are very close to all of the action, but don't have to deal with the crazy traffic and congestion that is the standard between 5th Street and 15th Street, on Ocean Drive. The hotel is a short, 1 block, walk to the beach. The $7.50 per day resort fee covers your use of beach chairs, beach towels, pool towels, wireless internet and phone. The roof top pool and deck area is very nice. The pool is only 3' deep, so expect to sit and soak. The rooms we nicely decorated and the bed was really comfortable. The room was very clean, with new carpet and a flat screen TV.

Cons: When we arrived, there were three bath towels provided, but only one hand towel and wash cloth. We had to call to have an additional washcloth sent up and it was only on the 2nd call that we actually received what we needed. I thought this was a fluke until the same thing happend the next day, with only one washcloth being provided. Not sure why two complete sets of towels is a big deal. The hotel is also undergoing some construction that we were not told about when making the reservation, through Travelocity. Their bar area was totally shut down, so there were not any options for getting drinks or snacks at the hotel, other than the in-room mini bar. The bar construction also meant that no ice machine was available. Since this was the case, they did credit our account for one days resort fee, which was a nice gesture. They also managed to keep the noise level down, so the construction could not be heard in our room.

Overall, I would definitely recommend this property. Once the construction is done, it will be beautiful and the staff is so nice.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferndale, Michigan, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

After reviewing several hotels in South Beach, my sisters and I decided to book our room at The Sense for a birthday weekend getaway. It was absolutely the right choice! Just one block from the beach, a great room, and AMAZING customer service from all members of the staff. A special shout out to Sydney and Anthony who were very helpful with suggestions for planning our activities and recommending great local hot spots. The location of the hotel was very convenient... close to everything without being in the middle of it all. The pool and rooftop area were a nice oasis from the busy beach. We have recommended The Sense to friends and family already and will definitely stay there next time we're in town.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

My husband and I spent a long weekend in Miami and chose this hotel after reading other reviews and getting a fantastic deal and we weren't disappointed.

This hotel is located perfectly at the top of Ocean Drive and only a short walk to all the bars, shops and restaurants. The rooms are spacious and clean and contain all the amenities you need. You get a partial ocean view from your room as stated and the beach is just across the road, the hotel will provide you with towels and beach chairs. The bed, WOW, it has to be the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in. So much so we took the sheet off the mattress so we could get the name of it to buy one. The free WiFi is also a nice touch.

There is great place for breakfast a 5 to 10 minute walk from the hotel where you can get bacon, eggs, toast or a bagel, coffee or tea and freshly squeezed orange juice for $8. Unfortunately, I can't remember the name, but it's on Collins Avenue opposite MAC and the Sunglasses Hut. In South Beach that is a real find. Expect dinner to cost close to $100 pretty much anywhere you go.

My only criticism's during my stay were the pool, it is way to shallow to swim in and the shower door didn't close properly and leaked slightly. Sydney and Anthony were great and a pleasure to deal with this. If I come back to Miami I wouldn't consider staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sense Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sense Beach House

Address: 400 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#45 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sense Beach House 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sense Beach House is just steps from the beach, offering a personalized and casually sophisticated vacation getaway. The hotel offers 18 modern rooms, a rooftop pool and lounge area with ocean and skyline views and indoor/outdoor restaurant, The Local House. Perfectly situated on the southern end of South Beach, in the chic SoFi neighborhood, Sense Beach House provides what South Beach has been missing – a true beach escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Sense Beach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sense South Beach Miami

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sense Beach House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.