We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern hotel on de quite site of Ocean drive of South Beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sense Beach House

Save Saved
You added Sense Beach House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sense Beach House
3.5 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   400 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 201 Hotels in Miami Beach
Hengelo, Overijssel, Netherlands
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Modern hotel on de quite site of Ocean drive of South Beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

Sense hotel is on the quite site of Ocean Drive. It is about 40 meter from the beach. The rooms are modern and the bathroom is big with two showers. We booked a room with partial view of the ocean. If you stand on the balcony of your room you will see the ocean. Look at the price before you decide to book a room "with a view".
We also used the valet parking at the hotel. The prices are about the same as on the rest of the Ocean Drive. It is only $5,- a day more than self parking, so it is a perfect service.
You can hear sounds from the hallway because the door has an half a inch space at the bottom. Each floor has its own color and the is one floor red, as a dutchman I hat the "redlight district" feeling :-). To be honors it is clean.
There are no extras in the hotel, except the swimmingpool on the top floor. The pool can only be used to sit in because it is only 2 feet deep. You can see the ocean from the pool and there are enough towels available. You must use the roomkey to get to the topflor for the swimmingpool.
The complementary wireless internet was sometimes very slow and as a CEO of a software company annoying if I could nog get connected.
It is a perfect modern hotel with luxury rooms on the quit part of ocean drive with only a small walk to the Cleverlander or other clubs.
I also like the jogging in the early mornings on south beach, and I was not the only one. Great location in a great town.

Surroundings
Make sure that you arrive before 4:00 pm so you will not get stuck in a traffic at the end of the day. All visiters want to see Ocean Drive at night.

Room Tip: Room on the Ocean Drive site are bigger but you will be close to the noice of the compressor of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    122
    28
    13
    10
See reviews for
37
211
15
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oak Park, IL
Top Contributor
227 reviews 227 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

I had booked two rooms, one for us, one for the couple we were traveling with. The room itself was lovely and very big--a corner room, very spacious and modern, with a nice wrap-around balcony. But the lovely room came with a fairly steep price (the total for one couple came to over $650 for two nights). The hotel is very well-located in that it's only a block or so from the beach but away from a good deal of the noise, and with the exception of inconsiderate people in the hall, we slept very well. While the minimalist decor is very nice, I would have found it helpful for the room to have an armchair, for instance (there was plenty of space), and there were some omissions and inconsistencies--for the in-room coffee maker, only one packet of regular coffee with two packets of decaf; no cream or sugar; no luggage rack; etc. The desk clerks seem very nice, but they don't always have accurate information (one, for instance, said there was no cream or sugar available for in-room coffee, but then there was some in our room when we got back). We like the hotel very much, and the smell of fresh paint and sound of construction in the late afternoon tell us that the hotel is still working things out.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paris, france
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

We were expecting to spend a grand last night in this hotel on Ocean Drive in South Beach and were attracted by a seeming discount of 40% off. Seeming only, because at 7:30 AM when the bulldoser, dump truck et. al. went into action on the road works 50 m from our hotel room, we understood that this was no discount!
We had already been disappointed by the appaling state of the shower and toilet the night beore (and you can often really judge the quality of a hotel by the state of the bathroom!): mouldy grouting, floor tile coming off, shower door that didn't want to close, bath-rug frayed and full of holes :-(
Only one person at reception (when he was there, because a friend had to call FOUR times to get though to our room, after landing on voice-mail the first THREE attempts!), not worthy of a wannabe high-end hotel, priced at over 200 USD/night.
Avoid this place at any cost, is our humble advice.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pptrias, General Manager at Sense Beach House, responded to this review, May 13, 2012
Thank you for your most recent stay at The Sense Hotel. I deeply apologize that you were unsatisfied with your stay in our hotel. In regards to the construction taking place outside the room this is a project that the city of Miami has been working on for the past 8 months but thankfully it has been completed, it is unfortunate that you were inconvinienced during your stay due to this. We take great pride in our rooms, all fixtures as well as our linen is brand new and high quality, and I am sorry that you were dissapointed by the state of the bathroom. I hope that in the future we will be able to show you just how great our hotel is and if you would consider staying with us again I can assure you that you will not be displeased.
Please contact me directly if travel needs should bring you to Miami Beach again, i will personally set up your accomidations and garuentee a flawless stay.

Patricia Trias, General Manager
ptrias@sensesobe.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012 via mobile

Hotel is ok. It is NOT on the beach. Had I known that I would have paid the extra 25 or 30 for resort property! Definitely not as good as its website makes it appear!! Had 30+ mosquitos in bathroom but front desk was unable to do anything but imply that we were lying! Pay no more than $100 per night. It was ok... Just not as advertised!!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pptrias, General Manager at Sense Beach House, responded to this review, May 13, 2012
Thank you for your most recent stay at The Sense Hotel. I apologize that you were unsatisfied with your stay in our hotel. It is unfortunate that you were not able to experience the best possible stay with us during your travels. Our hotel is conviniently located only half a block away from Miamis wonderful beaches. I am sorry that it appeared that the hotel staff was anything but concerned with your complaint. We are very responsible with our pest control and I apologize deeply for your inconvinience. I hope that you will reconsider staying with us again so that i can personally assure you the best possible stay in Miami.
Please contact me directly if your travels ever bring you to Miami again.

Patricia Trias, General Manager
ptrias@sensesobe.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

I recently stayed at Sense for a bachelorette party and had a wonderful experience.

(1) The location is just a couple of blocks from all of the action on SB and right across the street from the beach. Whether you want to party on Ocean Drive or relax on the beach, the location is prime for any activity.
(2) The rooms were modern, big, clean and the walls weren't thin like a lot of hotels.
(3) Alex, Sydney and Mernie absolutely took this hotel to the next level. While the hotel had great accommodations, Alex, Sydney and Mernie were all very helpful and went out of their way to make sure our group had a good time in SB. Whether it was a restaurant recommendation, getting us into clubs, or offering opinions on great local things to do, Alex, Sydney and Mernie made our stay so enjoyable. 5-star service from this group. Handsdown.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tysons Corner, Virginia
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

Just got back from a bachelorette trip to Miami and stayed at this quaint and contemporary hotel. We had booked 3 adjoining rooms for a total of 10 girls. This hotel was everything we had hoped for.

Pros:
- Location: Its located on Ocean Drive and just a small walk away from the beach. The hotel itself is pretty quiet but just a few blocks away from restaurants/bars. The hotel provides beach towels and umbrellas (for free) to use at the beach.
- Rooms: The rooms are spacious and very clean. Most of the South Beach hotels I have seen are run down and very limited in space. This one had a very clean and modern looking bathroom as well.
- Service: The service is great at this hotel. There is usually only one person on call who also sits at the front desk. He was very helpful in getting us fresh towels, cabs to the airport, and suggesting us fun places.

Cons:
- The pool is very small with no service
- This hotel is not a resort, so don’t expect a bellman to welcome you and take your luggage to your room.
- There is no spa service at the hotel
- There are no restaurants/bars at the hotel itself

Overall - our experience was great and we look forward to coming back to this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

Visited with family (4 persons). Great room. New, clean and spacious with a nice bathroom. Parking next to building at a resonable price (H24 service). One block from the beach, and we got to lend towels and beachchair! No restaurant or bar but that didn't matter. Small swimmingpool on the roof (no service). Simple, excellent, clean and value for money!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sense Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sense Beach House

Address: 400 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#27 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sense Beach House 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sense Beach House is just steps from the beach, offering a personalized and casually sophisticated vacation getaway. The hotel offers 18 modern rooms, a rooftop pool and lounge area with ocean and skyline views and indoor/outdoor restaurant, The Local House. Perfectly situated on the southern end of South Beach, in the chic SoFi neighborhood, Sense Beach House provides what South Beach has been missing – a true beach escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your Sense Beach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sense South Beach Miami

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sense Beach House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.