We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“moving” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holocaust Memorial

Holocaust Memorial
1933-1945 Meridian Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
305-538-1663
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$65*
and up
Miami City Bus Tour
Ranked #6 of 160 things to do in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Dedicated in 1990, Kenneth Treister's striking environmental memorial is dominated by the Sculpture of Love and Anguish, a 40-foot-tall outstretched hand, reaching to the sky.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Wheelchair access
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“moving”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Very moving, spend time here and look at all the photographs, better still go round with one of the guides.Everyone who comes to Miami should visit so we don't forget. Miami has the most holocaust survivors in the USA they are true survivors.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,237 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    812
    331
    79
    11
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Informative and peaceful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

My wife and I went to the memorial and found it to be very informative. Most people know of what happened but this cast a personal light onto history. It was very moving and very respectful. Jewish or not it is hard to stand in the shadow of the hand and not feel something.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“An amazing place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

This is so much more than a memorial, it is a total experience. We expected to be there for about 15 minutes and stayed for an hour, A humbling, chilling experience. Not to be missed.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ottawa
Level Contributor
75 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Humbling experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

The memorial brought me to verge of tears as I read the history of the events and the photographs etched on the granite tombstones. It is hard to believe the cruelty of the perpetrators, and the apathy of the world that witnessed the destruction and desecration of human life. Perhaps if more people experience the memorial, there may be less chance of it recurring, and holocaust deniers may have a harder time in convincing others that the holocaust did not happen

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Must see”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Very moving, Its a must see in Miami beach. The actual monument is stunning but the whole aura of the place is really something. Its an experience I will never forget

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Holocaust Memorial also viewed

 

Been to Holocaust Memorial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holocaust Memorial, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.