We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“moving” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holocaust Memorial

Holocaust Memorial
1933-1945 Meridian Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
305-538-1663
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 49 Attractions in Miami Beach
Type: Monuments/ Statues
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Dedicated in 1990, Kenneth Treister's striking environmental memorial is dominated by the Sculpture of Love and Anguish, a 40-foot-tall outstretched hand, reaching to the sky.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Activities for older children
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“moving”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Very moving, spend time here and look at all the photographs, better still go round with one of the guides.Everyone who comes to Miami should visit so we don't forget. Miami has the most holocaust survivors in the USA they are true survivors.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

766 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    515
    195
    47
    5
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Informative and peaceful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I went to the memorial and found it to be very informative. Most people know of what happened but this cast a personal light onto history. It was very moving and very respectful. Jewish or not it is hard to stand in the shadow of the hand and not feel something.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“An amazing place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

This is so much more than a memorial, it is a total experience. We expected to be there for about 15 minutes and stayed for an hour, A humbling, chilling experience. Not to be missed.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ottawa
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Humbling experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

The memorial brought me to verge of tears as I read the history of the events and the photographs etched on the granite tombstones. It is hard to believe the cruelty of the perpetrators, and the apathy of the world that witnessed the destruction and desecration of human life. Perhaps if more people experience the memorial, there may be less chance of it recurring, and holocaust deniers may have a harder time in convincing others that the holocaust did not happen

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Must see”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Very moving, Its a must see in Miami beach. The actual monument is stunning but the whole aura of the place is really something. Its an experience I will never forget

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Holocaust Memorial also viewed

 

Been to Holocaust Memorial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holocaust Memorial, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.