We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“interesting information” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jewish Museum of Florida - FIU

Jewish Museum of Florida - FIU
301 Washington Ave., Florida International University, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (South Pointe)
305-672-5044
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 155 things to do in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Jewish Museum of Florida-FIU is the only Museum dedicated to telling the story of 250 years of Florida Jewish heritage, arts and culture. The museum is housed in two adjacent lovingly restored historic buildings, at 301 Washington Avenue on South Beach, that were once synagogues for Miami Beach's first Jewish congregation. The museum's focal point is its core exhibit, "MOSAIC: Jewish Life in Florida, 1763 to Present" and its temporary history and art exhibits that change periodically. A Collections and Research Center, several films, Timeline Wall of Jewish history, museum Store filled with unique items and Bessie's Bistro complete the experience for visitors of all ages and backgrounds. The museum is accredited by the American Alliance of Museums.
Weston, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“interesting information”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

this place has so much information that I was not aware of. The place is small and nothing fancy. parking was a pain.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    145
    77
    16
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“A kosher experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

this is well worth a visit even though it is in a bit of a sleazy area of Miami Beach. For any one interested in how Miami Beach developed, it highlights the significant, nay vital, impact that jews had on the community. As usual the whole history of Jewish progression arises from hardship and predjudice. A lot of americans are reaping the benefits of projects that jews were compelled into through predjudice. I would say that one or two of the visual displays could be upgraded a bit to make them more fun to use. Apart from that it provided an hour or two well spent.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
1 review
“Jewish Museum of Florida-FIU in Miami Beach, FL”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

I recently attended the Museum with my parents. We throughly enjoyed our time and learned a lot about Jewish history in Florida. We especially liked our tour guide who took the time to educate us and take us through the museum. The stained glass windows are very nice and bring light into the museum on a sunny day. My family and I highly recommend visiting the museum. it is a true gem in a great location on the Beach.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Very Enjoyable”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

A beautiful building made of two attached synagogues. Admission price is fair (and when I visited, there was a 2 for 1 deal). Easy to get to with a quick walk from the busier "main strip."

Wonderful tropical art deco motifs abound.

Very friendly staff who give a free, very informative overview of the museum and Jewish history of the area. Many exhibits are scattered around the former synagogue space. Lots of reading, but much can be learned from reading just the captions beneath many photos and objects.

Very small museum that does not require much time unless you want to read each and every exhibit in detail.

The museum shop has some very nice items for purchase at very reasonable prices.

This museum may be worth a visit if you will be in the South Beach area for a few days and want to learn something new and see something different.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Jewish History in Miami Beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Very interesting, we really enjoyed watching the video on Jewish History in Miami Beach, seeing the timelines on the wall and seeing the artifacts. The gift shop was really cool.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jewish Museum of Florida - FIU also viewed

 

Been to Jewish Museum of Florida - FIU? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jewish Museum of Florida - FIU, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.