We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute, clean, hotel/hostel, good location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Clay Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Clay Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1438 Washington Avenue, South Beach, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #106 of 205 Hotels in Miami Beach
San Francisco
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Cute, clean, hotel/hostel, good location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2010

Loved the local. Right in the middle of South Beach. Rooms were clean and simple. Street side is a little noisy. Valet guys kinda sketchy. But overall great value. Would totally stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,020 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    398
    286
    109
    105
See reviews for
125
395
99
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2010

My girlfriend and I stayed at the Clay for 6 nights over NYE 2009/10. I was a little disappointed at the small size of the rooms when I first arrived, but these thoughts were short-lived and we found them very adequate for our needs. The lack of Wi-Fi in the rooms was also frustrating, and it can be very noisy at night, as The Clay is right in the heart of Espanola Way's party district (and boy do they know how to party!). Otherwise, everything about The Clay was great - the rates were very cheap, particularly since it was a only a 5-min walk to Kennedy Road shopping and dining and a 7-min walk to the beach, and the vibe and atmosphere of Espanola Way at night is second-to-none (despite the noise). Staff were helpful and Cable TV and the bar-fridge in the room were welcomed. The Clay was a great way to begin our first trip to the USA and I will be going back. (Mitch - Melbourne, Australia)

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2010

Charming hotel "old style" with wooden floors, friendly staff, excellent Mexican-restaurant in bottom floor, affordable prices, central location, but very thin walls and not sound proof at all, you will need ear pluggs! We got another room facing the yard, it was better but still you could hear the music pumping from the bars nearby. Mixed feelings about this hotel.

Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhondda S Wales
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2009

Very helpful initially I booked the wrong date and they resolved it with an email request from me whilst on route. However, our room was above an alley way which was a gathering area for the staff working in a nearby restaurant and boy were they noisy and inconsiderate that people were trying to sleep, they were constantly shouting. The hotel itself is very basic ok for one night stop over.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2009

Several of us got rooms for Art Basel and were happy to find the location within walking distance to many bars, restaurants and the convention center. The budget room I got was small, but I expected it to be, and had nice linens and was clean with no sign of bugs or roaches (others at the beach hotels complained of this a lot).The vibe of the hotel is great, and the price couldn't be beat.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2009

For the price, you get a decent deal! It's very close to the beach, rooms are adequate, architecture beautiful right in the art deco district. People who work there are fairly friendly too. There are no frills really, but if you plan to spend most of your time outside (who stays inside in South Beach) and are travelling on a budget but not up for a hostel, this is a great place!

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2009

Amazing hotel/hostel for the (fussy, yet fun) budget traveller! Fabulous location, clean facilites, excellent prices and friendly staff!! Loved this place soooo much ended up staying 3 weeks instead of 5 nights. Oozes character, and espanola way is one of the nicest places in South Beach, always buzzing, close to the beaches, nightclubs, restaurants, shops, supermarkets, internet cafes! The staff were so nice they even looked after our suitcases when we went on a 5-day cruise of the Bahamas! Couldn't recommend The Clay more highly... I loved it! Absolutely loved it, so much so I actually miss it now I'm home! A true gem of a hostel!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Clay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clay Hotel

Address: 1438 Washington Avenue, South Beach, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #106 of 205 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — The Clay Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Clay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clay Hotel Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Clay Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.