We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Clay - A M A Z I N G!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Clay Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Clay Hotel to your Saves list
The Clay Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1438 Washington Avenue, South Beach, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Weekday Promo !
Ranked #108 of 204 Hotels in Miami Beach
Ireland
1 review
“The Clay - A M A Z I N G!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2009

Amazing hotel/hostel for the (fussy, yet fun) budget traveller! Fabulous location, clean facilites, excellent prices and friendly staff!! Loved this place soooo much ended up staying 3 weeks instead of 5 nights. Oozes character, and espanola way is one of the nicest places in South Beach, always buzzing, close to the beaches, nightclubs, restaurants, shops, supermarkets, internet cafes! The staff were so nice they even looked after our suitcases when we went on a 5-day cruise of the Bahamas! Couldn't recommend The Clay more highly... I loved it! Absolutely loved it, so much so I actually miss it now I'm home! A true gem of a hostel!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

939 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    357
    261
    104
    104
See reviews for
108
357
90
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
oxford
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2009

We stayed at the Clay Hotel for 3 nights in September 2009. We found the hotel to be in a fantastic location, right in the Art Deco district, and two blocks from the beach.

Parking was a bit of an issue but there is valet parking for $15 a night with in/out facilities.

The hotel itself is spacious and nicely decorated. The rooms were small in comparison to other hotels we have stayed at in Florida for a cheaper price. However, you are paying for the location here. The a/c was brilliant, and our room also had a fridge, a safe and a tv. The hotel also had internet facilities ($0.05 per minute) with Skype but only two computers and these were always busy.

The real gem is the mexican restaurant downstairs (Oh Mexico!) which offered great value fresh tex mex food and was very charming on Espanola Way. Don't go to the Italian opposite without looking at the menu first as it is ridiculously overpriced and the food is not that great. Prepare to be disappointed.

Our highlights of the area include:
- Oh Mexico restaurant
- The Front Porch cafe on Ocean Drive (really good breakfast/brunch food)
- Lost Weekend (a bar which has a great jukebox and pool tables - ladies drink for free on a Wednesday!)
- Lincoln Road (a 5 minute walk north) which has lots of shops, bars and outside dining
- Key Biscayne (it's a 20 minute drive from downtown Miami and the state park on the south of the island is devastatingly beautiful).

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TUCKER
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2009

I got to Miami on Friday morning before check in, around 10:00am, the lady at the front desk let me check in early. The staff was very nice, the rooms are small but for what you pay and the location, you can not beat.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2009

Satyed at the Clay Hotel 6 nights ( July 2009 ). We had a VIP room with balcony on the 2nd floor. Room had bath tub, shower, hairdryer, big fridge, in-room safe, coffee-making facility, air-con, balcony with 2 chairs and small table with a nice wiev to Espanola way. Room was very clean and decorated nicely. Nothing to complain about! There was a restaurant under the room but the noise did not disturb us. If You like to make coffee there are just plastic cups in room so I would prefer bringing better cups or mugs with You.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto Alegre
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2009

I have stayed there for a week of beach. My intention was pay a little to be near the beach and nightlife. If you are used to hostel, you will have no surprises :-) poor sheets, bad looking bathroom, horrible and old forniture. But my room was cleaned everyday. I few unsafe there, I stayed in the village and no one secure this entry. we have eletronic cards to open the gate, but since there are bars/restaurants in the same building, the gate remains open and unwatched sometimes and the room's doors are too old and there is almost 2 inchs space between door's bottom and the floor.

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lyon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2009

Non much things to say. Just shelter and spend a couple nights.Rooms are clean as i seen. but dont expect a super hygienic room service. 6 out of 10.

  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2009

we loved this great little hotel not far from south beach, it was a real home from home, our room was great with a balcony over looking the street below with lots of restaurants.

  • Stayed February 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Clay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clay Hotel

Address: 1438 Washington Avenue, South Beach, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#16 Best Value Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — The Clay Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Clay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clay Hotel Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Clay Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.