We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Part of Stag” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Clay Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Clay Hotel to your Saves list
The Clay Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1438 Washington Avenue, South Beach, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #109 of 203 Hotels in Miami Beach
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Part of Stag”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Well we had booked hotel for 17 days, of which 9 of the days we actually stayed in there and the rest were spent in Vegas + Orlando. Staff were great and friendly They were renovating at the time, the location of the hotel was awesome as lads we werent too fussed it had a fridge, microwave room was clean as were the toilet n bath given 3 star because it a basic hotel, nothing wrong with it , Wifi was great was able to video call hone with no problems.

Stayed August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

956 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    366
    268
    104
    104
See reviews for
111
365
92
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

I have stayed here twice for 5 days each time - once in March 2012 and again in May 2012. Both times we the building we stayed in was seperate from the main block across from a school but close to several eateries and on Espanola Street which seems miles away from the madness of Collins Avenue.

The room itself was clean and functional. When I went with my sister it was enough but with my 6ft 4 boyfriend, the seemed a little cramped. The shower and bath did the job - but an extra surface in the bathroom would have helped.

If you're looking for somewhere to base yourself and lie-in to get over the night before - this place does the job but what you are paying for is the location and the functionality...not a luxury room with a flat screen and endless channels.

Front desk staff seemed friendly enough and distance to the beach is about a block away. It's close to a couple of nightclubs, juice bars and American Apparel!

Going back again in 2 weeks for a night and looking forward to it!

Room Tip: Be aware that there are no lifts and you may have to travel down the street to your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Only thing I like the most about this hotel is its location. It is located perfectly on the esponala avenue and washington avenue and less than a mile from the beach. Room was clean but small. I would recommend this place to those who doesnt care much about luxury yet stay close to the beach.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ravensthorpe
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014 via mobile

We stopped off just for one night (coming straight from the airport) before starting our driving trip around the southern states, so we wanted to get a feel for the real miami beach even though we would only have a few short hours that night and the next morning - The hotel delivered on this, both in terms of location within a short walk of all the beach, the Art Deco treasures, and bars and restaurants (ideal to grab a bite to eat after a late arrival in the lively but very safe feeling - lots of families about - street next door) and in terms of being a characterful place itself. The rooms were basic but OK, albeit corridors were a bit sad and scruffy. The staff were helpful enough (cot we got was a bit rubbish, as no mattress available, but muddled through) but to be honest could have been a bit more cheery to match standards of service elsewhere in the USA. Generally a good bolt hole.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014 via mobile

We have just returned home to Sweden after 2 wonderful weeks in Florida! Me and my fiance stayed for 4 nights here and it was just great! We asked for a quiet room with a balcony facing Espanola way and we also got that which was just perfect. We stayed in block 5. Clay hotel have several rooms in different buildings on Espanola way/Washington avenue/Dregel avenue. We had valet parking for $18 a day. We got help to carry our bags. Free wifi in the whole area of Espanola way! Every thing was good and we did not have any problems. The staff was friendly and helpful if you needed them. Location was perfect with 2 blocks to public beach and shopping, restaurants were all in walking distance. Price for the room was very good in this area so highly recommended! Hope to be back again!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santo Domingo
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

Me and my friends decided to go on a fun trip to Miami and needed a hotel with great location for some beach, some drinks, some fancy dinning and some shopping. This hotel was ideal for that. Its located right at Española Way (which is a pedestrian street that comes to life at night with so many cool restaurants). Beach is basically 3 blocks way (lets say a 10 minute slow walk), Lincoln Road is within walking distance too. The only downside of The Clay is that parking is expensive and even you have in-and-out privileges, its a valet parking and only available before midnight. Therefore we had to take a cab to go clubbing due to the unavailability of valet at after 12am. They are renovating the place so there was noise sometimes and hallway a little dirty, but nothing extreme.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

The hotel was part of a vacation package we bought. Spent the first night there, then we changed to a more suitable hotel for us. The rooms themselves were ok, clean etc. But we had to carry our luggage(and they werent light or few!) up the little narrow stairs to the upper floor(3rd I think) and one had to exit the main building, walk through the street to get there. No elevator. Also no pool...or breakfast. If you are looking for a clean, budger hotel, in the middle of South Beach, I would definitely stay here. We appreciate more "out of the way" location, breakfast, pool and maybe a little more service so we skipped the other night and went elsewhere.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Clay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clay Hotel

Address: 1438 Washington Avenue, South Beach, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#19 Best Value Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — The Clay Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Clay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clay Hotel Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Clay Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.