We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad really for what it is” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Clay Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Clay Hotel to your Saves list
The Clay Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1438 Washington Avenue, South Beach, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Weekday Promo !
Ranked #110 of 202 Hotels in Miami Beach
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
149 helpful votes 149 helpful votes
“Not bad really for what it is”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

We stayed here for 3 days. Room was nice, clean and modern. There was a fridge and microwave which was helpful.

The fridge in the room made noise at night but with my earplugs, luckily it didn't bother me. The bed was fun but the pillows were hard and lumpy, so I didn't always sleep well.

This hotel is well located, right on a busy strip. We asked for a quiet room after reading reviews on here and we're glad we did, as parties really don't stop.

Miami is a very cool place. I recommend doing the Everglades, boat and city tour for $70 - great day out and one gets to see the other side of Miami.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

899 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    337
    251
    104
    103
See reviews for
105
336
84
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

Every time I go Miami I stay here. Very reasonably priced and great location, only a couple of blocks from the beach. It's on española way, which has great restaurants. I always find the staff to be friendly and it's always great to be recognised and welcomed back when I return.

Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

i stayed at the clay hotel in march the rooms were tiny and dingey even after being renovated hardly any room to walk, we also got charged with out being told £60 after we left? Be aware! the room hardly ever got cleaned too.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Miami Beach hotels

Sacramento, California
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

I'm glad I read the reviews prior to booking this hotel otherwise my daughter & I would have been wandering around South Beach at 6:00 in the morning. My daughter & I like flying into Miami a day or so before we go on our cruises so I chose the Clay Hotel. We took a "red-eye" and our flight arrangements kept changing and so I called the Clay Hotel to see if we could get an early check-in. I was told that a special notation would be made. We arrived at the Clay Hotel at 6:00 a.m. on a Friday morning. So when I check in, the manager (I assume) told me that there were no rooms available. I told him that I had called and let them know that our flight would be arriving earlier than anticipated. The manager did tell me that there was a place where we could leave our bags but that they were not responsible for any loss. I was ticked off. I told him that nothing was open and that we were not going to walk around at that time of the morning because it was dark and we were women. So finally he looks through his listing and tells us that there is a room available. I handled this situation with class and tact but I wanted to slap the hell outta him!!! His assistant was actually very nice...he brought all of our luggage up 3 flights of stairs (there is no elevator in the hotel). Our room was clean, quiet & close to everything. Even with the problems, I would probably stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClayHotel, Manager at The Clay Hotel, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Thank you for your feedback.

We are so upset to hear on your experience at our hotel.

Our check in time is indeed at 3:00PM and early check ins are subject to availability and may incurr fees. However this does not excuse any lack of customer serivce you may have received during your arrival.

Occurence will be further investigated by management to ensure that it does not repeat itself. Employee whom you spoke with was certainly not a member of management , we do apologize for inconvenience.

We hope to have a another opportunity to accomodate your stay in the future.

Please feel free to contact us regarding this matter , you may email us to info@clayhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

This lovely little hotel is in the heart for Miami South Beach on Espanola Way.
Rooms have been renovated to a high standard, although they are a little small but ideal for a short stay.
Reception Staff were great, friendly and helpful.
The hotel has valet parking for $19 a day which isn’t too bad as it’s difficult parking in Miami beach.
Espanola way is closed off in the evening and the restaurants and bars come to life. The main street on Miami south beach is Ocean Drive which is only 2 blocks away where the art deco district is and is full of life in the evenings with vibrant restaurants, bars and clubs.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
186 reviews 186 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

Older building partly renovated and undergoing further renovation.

Our room had been recently renovated including the bathroom. The room was compact but adequate. The bathroom was small but worked with the exception of no soap holder in the shower and no real vanity to put things on. We really enjoyed the lovely king bed, the air-conditioning, the free in-room WiFi, the large in-room safe (I could fit my HP Note Book in it). If, like us you prefer ceiling fans, it was quiet but only had one speed, high. Shower water pressure was quite reasonable.

We stayed on the Clay Villa's. An interesting set up with buildings down the street with separate entrances. Very "Spanish" by original design.

The Clay Hotel is conveniently located on the corner of Washington Road and Espanola Way, the later with maybe 7 or so restaurant on a tree lined festive street. The main shopping mall along Lincoln Road in about 3 blocks away, an easy walk. South Beach is just a few blocks away. Our room despite fronting Espanola Way, was beyond the restaurants and very quiet.

Service was good and very helpful.

Everything was great except for an adjoining room shower which was very load, so much so that it woke us at 1am.

Room Tip: We were very happy with our room which was renovated in the building known as Clay Villa's
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnhem, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014 via mobile

Great location near the beach in a latin street, clean and comfortabel rooms, nice and very helpfull people.
The valet parking is a great service for $20!
Reasonable price for this area in miami.
Downside is the sound of the surrounding clubs in the night.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Clay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clay Hotel

Address: 1438 Washington Avenue, South Beach, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#18 Best Value Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — The Clay Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Clay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clay Hotel Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Clay Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.