We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well priced, conveniently located, hotel with free in room WiFi.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Clay Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Clay Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Clay Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1438 Washington Avenue, South Beach, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Weekday Promo !
Ranked #112 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
Sydney
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“Well priced, conveniently located, hotel with free in room WiFi.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

Older building partly renovated and undergoing further renovation.

Our room had been recently renovated including the bathroom. The room was compact but adequate. The bathroom was small but worked with the exception of no soap holder in the shower and no real vanity to put things on. We really enjoyed the lovely king bed, the air-conditioning, the free in-room WiFi, the large in-room safe (I could fit my HP Note Book in it). If, like us you prefer ceiling fans, it was quiet but only had one speed, high. Shower water pressure was quite reasonable.

We stayed on the Clay Villa's. An interesting set up with buildings down the street with separate entrances. Very "Spanish" by original design.

The Clay Hotel is conveniently located on the corner of Washington Road and Espanola Way, the later with maybe 7 or so restaurant on a tree lined festive street. The main shopping mall along Lincoln Road in about 3 blocks away, an easy walk. South Beach is just a few blocks away. Our room despite fronting Espanola Way, was beyond the restaurants and very quiet.

Service was good and very helpful.

Everything was great except for an adjoining room shower which was very load, so much so that it woke us at 1am.

Room Tip: We were very happy with our room which was renovated in the building known as Clay Villa's
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

925 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    105
    339
    259
    116
    106
See reviews for
89
311
82
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Arnhem, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014 via mobile

Great location near the beach in a latin street, clean and comfortabel rooms, nice and very helpfull people.
The valet parking is a great service for $20!
Reasonable price for this area in miami.
Downside is the sound of the surrounding clubs in the night.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

.........as long as you've read the reviews!
Stayed here in April for 4 nights thurs-sun. Had a superior room and emailed the hotel beforehand to request a room with a balcony.
Check in was fine and they had reserved us a room with a small balcony overlooking Espanola way which was just large enough for 2 chairs but at least we could sit outside and watch the world go by!
The room was functional, but very dated-old carpets with chewing gum, old fridge which froze solid any drinks that were put in it, but on the whole it was comfortable enough.
Now, many reviews on here state the noise from the pedestrianized road below but we decided to take a chance anyway. Our room was in the 2nd block back, above a tapas bar......
Thurs night, no problem sleeping at all
Fri night the floor was vibrating from the music below, but because we'd had a few drinks it didn't stop us sleeping.
Sat night however the floor and walls were vibrating because the music downstairs was so loud, so didn't get to sleep til gone 3am after the music had finished.
Sunday night was quiet.
If I went back again I honestly don't know if I would stay there again on a Saturday night-possibly in a quiet room, but if you're intending staying out til 3am ish anyway, the noise won't be an issue.
Our friends had a room in the third block along which is still on Espanola way, but a lot quieter with no restaurants/bars around it and even though it wasn't a superior room, it was larger than ours and had a much bigger balcony, though not much to sit a look at at that end of the street.
The main reason for booking this hotel was to have a room with a balcony, because they are so few and far between in South Beach. It turns out that the hotel is perfectly positioned for the beach/bars/nightlife and although not cheap, it's a fair bit cheaper than most others in the area and for those reasons, I'd definitely stay there again-just not overlooking the street on a Saturday night!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

Just left after a 4 nights stay at the Clay. Had their budget room which was in their second building down the street. The hotel is right on Espanola Way, a very touristy & lively area of SoBe. My room in the second building was peaceful & I didn't hear much of anything from outside at all. My room was clean, bed was comfortable, flat screen tv, great AC, a fridge for use, & hangers for clothes. I highly recommend this hotel. A person of size may have issue with the compact bathroom. The hot water was plentiful & shower pressure was good too.
Room was not only nice but it's location is one block from Ocean Drive & 2 blocks from the long strip of Miami Beach. It's also 3 blocks from Lincoln Rd Mall. So it's very central.
I walked everywhere. There's a CVS about 3 blocks. I would return to this hotel. Room was recently renovated so was happy with the cleanliness of it. You will see some renos still be done in the hallways etc but nothing that will in convenience your stay.
Housekeeping was good too. There are no elevators but it's two flights of stairs at the most. If u are moderately healthy, this would not be an issue. I had no problem walking up & down the stairs. It's a classic building so get some exercise. The Airport Flyer stops just a few blocks away & costs $2.35 to get from MIA. Leaves central stations every 30 minutes & takes 30 minutes to get into South Beach.

Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

I stayed here for a week while in Miami! The location of the hotel is perfect - it is a few blocks from beach and literally in the hub of everything!! It's situated at the beginning of Espanola way (one of the nicest streets in Miami in my opinion). The street has many bars and restaurants which has such a buzz and looks so beautiful at night! I was in the annex building which is one block from the main building but it wasn't a problem as it was literally like 50 steps away. There is no lift but I was only on the first floor so this wasn't a problem. The room was small but very modern and clean! It had a fridge also which was great for storing water (which you will need a lot of when in the Miami heat lol). The a/c for the room was great and kept the room chilled all day. The bathroom had a huge shower cubicle which had great pressure and you also get complimentary toiletries. The bedding, towels and room was cleaned daily and I really don't have any complaints. If I was ever back in Miami and I got the room at a cheap rate I would definitely stay at The Clay Hotel again :)

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

We stayed here for a week in April. Found the hotel to have an excellent location spanning the length of espanola way. We stayed in the renovated annexe block - which is 30 seconds from reception in main block. People's reviews make it sound a mile away. It isn't! Yes there is no lift but for 1-2 flights of stairs it's hardly difficult with luggage and other reviewers need to get over this, especially considering what you pay! I was really surprised with how clean and comfortable the room was, the TV wasn't the best, however it had a lovely spacious shower, great air con and a comfortable bed.

I would recommend this place if you aren't bothered by swimming pools, cliched continual breakfasts, or concierge services. This hotel doesn't try to be anything it isn't and is definitely worth the money.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClayHotel, Manager at The Clay Hotel, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Thank you for your feedback.

We are happy you enjoyed our newly renovated rooms located in our second building.

There are many more improvements to come for The Clay Hotel. We hope you may return during your next visit to Miami Beach.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

Stayed here with 2 friends. Under construction and NO elevators or pool. Rooms located in separate building and walked up 3 flights of stairs with luggage. No ice machine. Friendly staff. In room safe and small refrigerator. In the middle of busy area with lots of restaurants.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClayHotel, Manager at The Clay Hotel, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay with us.

At this time The Clay Hotel continues to make many improvements to ultimately make our guests stay as comfortable and enjoyable as possible. We are 2/3 complete on Preserving this Beautiful Old Historic Spanish Hotel....holding every architectural element true to its original glory; yet modernizing to what we all expect today and beyond. Please flow our progress on Facebook!!!

We thank you for your suggestion of services you would like to see , such as the ice machine, your input is very valuable and will be greatly considered when making additional changes to our hotel.

The Clay hotel management and ownership are taking measures to possibly equip the hotel with an elevator in the future , as it is a Historic building made in the 1920’s , drastic changes as such may take time and we appreciate your patience. In the interim we offer help with luggage...please ask for assistance at the front desk

We welcome you back to experience New Clay Hotel Rooms & the excitement of Espanola Way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Clay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clay Hotel

Address: 1438 Washington Avenue, South Beach, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#13 Best Value Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Clay Hotel 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Tingo, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Venere and Otel so you can book your The Clay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clay Hotel Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Clay Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.