We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not happy” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Clay Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Clay Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Clay Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1438 Washington Avenue, South Beach, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Weekday Promo !
Ranked #111 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
Write a Review

924 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    105
    339
    258
    116
    106
See reviews for
88
311
82
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brampton, Canada
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

Stayed 2 nights before cruise. Central to all activities in SOBE. Smack on HOP ON / OFF tour bus route. Arrived at 12:30 and asked to store our luggage till 3;30 check in. But AXEL said our room was ready.Stayed in second building , maintenance man took my wife's suitcase and ran up 3 flight of stairs. When I attempted to offer a tip, he smiled and shook his head-no. I did'nt get his name . But again Gracias Amigo. Wanted to try simple local food for lunch AXEL suggested "PUERTO SAGUA" .A must go to place-Cuban. Stayed Jan. 24 & 25.
FOR US CLAY IS A GREAT BUDGET HOTEL. WILL COME AGAIN FOR SURE.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClayHotel, Manager at The Clay Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Thank you very much for your positive feedback.


We are very grateful for your compliments to our staff members who were able to make a difference during your visit to Miami Beach.


Please come visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

The Clay is perfectly located at 5 min walk from the beach and stores. Public transport is easy as the busstop is just outside the door. It's a basic hotel but very clean and the staff is very helpful. We would really recommend this hotel. And also good to know is that this hotel is gay friendly so my partner and I felt very welcome.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClayHotel, Manager at The Clay Hotel, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Thank you for your feedback.

We are happy to know you enjoyed your stay with us and found our location so convenient.

We have accomplished our most important goal, to make you feel as comfortable as possible during your vacation.

Please visit us again sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Ranchos de Albuquerque, New Mexico, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

Area is wnderful on espanola way with street side cafes and music. But sleeping is impossible before 3am and the workman start work with sanders and hammers around 8. Also dont come with more than a carry on bag because you will be carrying them down the street to the next block and up flights of stairs to the smallest room you'll probably ever stay in. Nightlife is great, everything else, not.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

I stayed here for 1 night before a cruise. Like previous reviews I was very surprised I had to drag my suitcase up 3 flights of stairs after walking down the street. I tried to ask the front desk if there was anyone available to help and I was soundly ignored. I finally reached my room after walking down a smelly and damp hallway filled with construction materials. The room was also musty. The AC wasn't on. I was confused. It was a very small room with a decent bathroom. Now the bad part is that during my 1 hour in the room, the lights constantly flickered and finally went out. They came on a few minutes later but I was beyond fed up at this point. I stuck it out since I was only going to be there another 8 hours but I will NEVER stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClayHotel, Manager at The Clay Hotel, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Thank you for your feedback.

Our sincere apologies for any inconvenience which may have occurred during your stay at The Clay Hotel.

Due to the historical preservation of our building, we unfortunately do not have elevators at this time, which we understand may be an inconvenience.

We will further investigate other issues mentioned to ensure they are corrected immediately.

Your feedback is very valuable and will assist us in improving your stay and others in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

I stayed here for one night and would highly recommend this hotel. Loved the location and the room was clean and quiet. Fantastic service at the front desk and even has valet parking.Great cafe next door to grab breakfast on the go.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClayHotel, Manager at The Clay Hotel, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Thank you for your feedback.

We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay.

Please come visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Independence, Missouri
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014 via mobile

This was our second stay at The Clay Hotel and it was just as awesome as the first time! The location is just beautiful! The stone streets and beautiful palm trees are to die for! Especially at night when it's all lite up. Just breathtaking! The privacy that you get with the hotel...u can't beat it!! I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone!

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClayHotel, Manager at The Clay Hotel, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Thank you for your feedback.

We are so grateful you continue to stay with us. We hope this stay was as memorable as the first :)

We look forward to accomodating your stay again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Clay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clay Hotel

Address: 1438 Washington Avenue, South Beach, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#13 Best Value Hotel in Miami Beach
#111 Top resorts Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Clay Hotel 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Tingo, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, HostelBookers, Venere and Otel so you can book your The Clay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clay Hotel Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Clay Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.