We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst stay!!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Clay Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Clay Hotel to your Saves list
The Clay Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1438 Washington Avenue, South Beach, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #109 of 203 Hotels in Miami Beach
Alhambra, California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Worst stay!!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

Let me start by saying, this hotel's location is really good. It's close to south beach, Lincoln st, everything is within walking distance. But that's about IT. It is located next to Espanola Way, which is a pedestrian only restaurant/bar/shopping street at night time and it gets loud. I am a heavy sleeper so I don't have problem falling asleep but I can see how this can be bothersome to other people.
The other thing about this hotel is that their front desk people tend to be very unclear when we made our reservation. Initially, we booked a two bedroom suite. When we called them to confirm, they told us it is indeed a 'two-bedroom', what they didn't mention is how many bathroom does the suite comes with. Common sense tells me two bedroom will have two bathrooms. And we were shocked when we find out our two bedroom suite is actually a two bedroom connected by a bathroom (so called corridor). When we question the front desk about our situation, their only explanation is that since we didn't ask them about the bathroom, they don't have to bring it up (but why will we ask something that is common sense?) For around $250 a night, I think we deserve better explanation than that.

Room Tip: Ask about the fine details when you make reservation for a room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

956 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    366
    268
    104
    104
See reviews for
111
365
92
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Limassol, Cyprus
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014 via mobile

Old hotel with creaky corridor floors but location is perfect for beach 2 blocks away Lincoln road and mall 2 blocks away and Espanola way with great restaurants and night life next door if you only want a bed to sleep in and place to shower then this hotel is good needs some repairs done but otherwise good I would use it again for location it's not 5 star but nor are the prices

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

The Clay Hotel is in a great location, right above Espanola Way which has tons of restaurants and bars. This does mean that it's very noisy outside and inside the guestrooms.

Initially, we were given a room in the second building. Clay Hotel is in the middle of renovations, and it is VERY obvious. The first main building is totally renovated, however, the back building is awful. There was ply-wood on the hallway floors and a bad odor. Our room smelled awful! We called down to the front desk and complained, and they were able to move us to a room in the first building (thank goodness!). The second room was much nicer and well decorated.

Overall, the hotel was good quality for the price. Make sure to get a room in the main building though!

Room Tip: Get a room in the first main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tracys landing, md
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is located in a great area, rooms are laid out weird but comfortable. The thing that bothered me is no elevator and no bellhop, and this is not disclosed elsewhere. So if you stay here pack light we are in our 50's and drug our bags up two flights of steps

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mukwonago
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

Recently stayed one night here before leaving for a cruise. There were four of us and we stayed in a two queen room with a bathroom in between the rooms. Jose at the front desk was very friendly and helpful during check-in/out. Room was quite small but as expected and we didn't plan to spend much time in the room anyway. Location was perfect- walked to the beach, central location with Espanola Way, Ocean Dr, Collins, Washington, Lincoln Road Mall all right there. No shortage of things to see and do! Oh Mexico downstairs had a great dinner and breakfast menu, not to mention a fun people-watching location on a Friday night.
Would absolutely stay here again!

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013 via mobile

The rooms here are small and no frills, but they are clean. There is a nice common area on the second floor with a dining table and balcony. They offer valet parking for $20/day and are within walking distance to beautiful beaches, great restaurants, and nightlife. We will definitely stay here on our next trip to South Beach.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

Stayed 2 nights, which were 2 too many. Rooms are tiny, and there's nowhere to store your luggage. Carpets are horrible and bathrooms likewise. Noisy street, high prices, no friendly welcome at arrival. Only positive note is the location which is good and close to the beach. But not recommendable and certainly not worth the 250 dollars a night

Stayed December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Clay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clay Hotel

Address: 1438 Washington Avenue, South Beach, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#19 Best Value Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — The Clay Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Clay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clay Hotel Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Clay Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.