We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the best.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Clay Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Clay Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Clay Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1438 Washington Avenue, South Beach, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Weekday Promo !
Ranked #111 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Not the best.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

Hi All,
Don't normally do this but thought I'd share my view of The Clay Hotel.
I stayed here for what was meant to be two nights whilst on a 2 week holiday to Florida. My boyfriend and I decided to book this hotel as it looked reasonable and it was one of the cheaper options for around this area. Although I read all the reviews I dismissed alot of the negative. It wasn't until we arrived we were hugely disappointed.

The hotel reception area was very outdated however this wasn't an issue and thought the room would be better. Our view was from the trash area of the restaurant. The room has burn marks on the carpets, it smelled really bad i.e damp and the aircon sounded like it was going to explode. We tried to change rooms but said that they were fully occupied. The area itself is brilliant couldn't have asked for a better area your right amongst everything from the beach to shops including miami ink and Dash. I would advise to save a little more and go for a nicer hotel because it shortened our trip and we ended up going home really early the following morning because I was exhaused. If I didn't keep the aircon on the smell would become worse because it was too stuffy in the room and when I did keep the aircon on it was too noisy.

I know alot of people say not to pay attention to tripadvisor as people have different opinions but this was extremely bad.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

839 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    94
    308
    236
    99
    102
See reviews for
89
312
82
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

The location is fantastic directly at Espanola Way!!! Plenty of restaurants, shops, bars and supermarkets. The room was rather small but clean, for a reasonable price. Very friendly staff - all in all good value for the money!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

The Clay Hotel has embarked on a refurbishment of its rooms. The rooms had been simple but comfortable. The new rooms are more up-to-date in design but they remain reasonably priced and fully comfortable. The location is two blocks from Ocean Avenue and the beach and two blocks south of Lincoln Road. The staff is very friendly and willing to provide the extra measure of help. I am a return guest. And will return to the hotel in the future.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

We recently visited Miami pre- and post-cruise. After staying at a similarly priced hotel on Biscayne, we had low expectations for a budget hotel in South Beach. The Clay Hotel was a marvelous surprise! Located off of Hispaniola Way (run the gauntlet of restauranteurs when returning home in the evening) and a brief walk away from Lincoln Road and 3 blocks from the North end of Lummus Park. The rooms were basic but clean and recently updated (no dingy grout here). The hotel staff were the best part - they were very helpful and stored our luggage both before and after. The common areas are non-existent but they are presently renovating the outdoor courts in beautiful tile. Indoor halls are dingy. The hotel is within walking distance to a range of restaurants and 4 doors down from a location where you can buy bus passes.

Room Tip: Some rooms may be a bit noisier if they face Hispaniola Way or Washington.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here on a Saturday and Sunday night with spouse and two teens. Room was simple and comfortable and clean. Location cannot be beat. Hundreds of restaurants within a couple of blocks, many right outside the hotel. For the price and location, the Clay Hotel is a great value. The hotel also has a lot of charm and character. It has some small balconies in common areas where you can sit and watch all the action on Espanola way or just sit back and relax with your favorite beverage and the tropical breeze.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

This hotel is in an amazing location - 2 blocks from the beach (walking distance). And it's on Espanola Way, which is an awesome street with outdoor dining and a great vibe. The rooms are basic, but clean. For the price it works great for a short stay in South Beach.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Gentil
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

Ok it's not on the beach but look at the price. It is next to a street that comes alive at night and next to a great Cuban restaurant. There is free wi fi throughout the hotel. My biggest beef is the early check out time but with jet lag from Europe I was up anyway. The valet parking can get busy so allow 20 mins yo get your car

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Clay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clay Hotel

Address: 1438 Washington Avenue, South Beach, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#15 Best Value Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Clay Hotel 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Venere and Otel so you can book your The Clay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clay Hotel Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Clay Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.