We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Class Hotel in South Beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Clay Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Clay Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Clay Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1438 Washington Avenue, South Beach, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Weekday Promo !
Ranked #107 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
Lantana, FL
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“First Class Hotel in South Beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

I loved this hotel. It's gorgeous, clean, comfortable, and loaded with charm. Check in was a breeze, valet parking simple and quick, and the location couldn't be better. I was very wary because sometimes the older hotels are full of mold and dilapidated ... definitely not the case here. This antique has been beautifully preserved and upgraded without losing any of it's 1930's charm.

This will be my first choice next time we come to South Beach.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

861 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    98
    317
    243
    100
    103
See reviews for
96
323
83
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North of NYC
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Located in one of the prime restaurant areas, The Clay is very convenient to the Miami Beach Convention Center and close to the beach. I settled on the Clay Hotel due to its low price, proximity to the places I intended to go and availability at the time I needed. The front dest staff was cordial and professional--while I did ask to see my room prior to checking in, I found no reason to ask for a room change. Room 137 was spare: cooled from an in-wall air conditioner, with two curtained windows, one framed print on the wall above a bed with no headboard, night stand with lamp, small dresser with an extra pillow and blanket taking up most of the dresser drawer space, flat screen tv with a dozen channels to surf, an area for hanging clothes, safe, refrigerator, side chair, bathroom ensuite. Adequate. Not a boutique hotel. Excellent Wifi. The only downside for me was not having a surface to work at--desk or coffee table--not that there was extra room for it.

I read many of the reviews and was very leery of staying at this former hostel. What I found was a fine place to stay if you don't need or want to spend much time in your room. It is not a room for entertaining though the refrigerator is more than adequate for beer and wine. I did see, but did not use the toaster oven, microwave and hot water kettle located in a small room off the hall.

Española Way is a noisy place at night with lots of visitors to the many restaurants that line the road. I was lucky that my visit took place during a cold snap which limited outdoor activities including dining for a couple of days--that kept the noise levels down those nights. Once it warmed outside the sound of the air conditioner helped mask the street noise. Earplugs might have been a good investment but each day I was tired and had no trouble sleeping. Recommended for those not interested in spending much time at the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cultv
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Where to begin, after check in you are expected to drag your bags about 2 blocks down a very busy street and up 3 flights of stairs. One in, the room smells of damp and mould and has virtually no facilities. Think of it more as a hostel than a hotel. If it was priced at $30-$40 a night I would say it was fair enough that you get what you pay for, but I paid nearer $90 I felt like I had a very poor deal.

On the plus side, the location is very good but I can't think of much else to recommend it. Room was never cleaned and I did not feel that my stuff was secure. I would not stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Miami Beach hotels

London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

This hotel was one of the cheaper ones in South Beach. We only had to walk two blocks to get to the beach and Ocean Drive. Close to everything. Staff were nice and accommodating and upgraded us to a better bigger room upon arrival without us asking. We were in the refurbished part of the hotel. Rooms were simply decorated with nice beds and thick carpet throughout which was nice and we had TV big two screens for each room. Bathroom was nice. There was a microwave in the room. We were allowed to check out one hour late as well which was also nice of them.
The only thing I would say is that our room was facing the main Espanola way and it did get noisy.
It wasn't a major problem as we slept right through it but if you are a really light sleeper then maybe ask for a room not facing that way. There was aircon in the room.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not facing the main Espanola way if you are a little worried about noise but it wasn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

The Clay was the most affordable option for our week long stay in south beach. The room was very very basic. A bed in a room with a tv. Bathroom basic also. No lifts & many different apartment looking blocks that are all part of this hotel. We had to walk right to the back of the street to find our hotel block. There are no fancy frills here and at first I was maybe a little worried! Having said all that, this was probably my most memorable stay (in a good way) of our 7 weeks of exploring USA. The side street the hotel in located on is just gorgeous! Cute restaurants, frozen yoghurt stores, art gallery & dress shop. The location is very Close to the beach. The guys at the front desk were helpful with bus timetables & let us check in early which was a bonus! Our friends staying in a 'nicer' hotel down the other end of town were so jealous of our location. If you're looking for a chain style fancy hotel, this isn't for you. But we would book again for the right price!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This hotel was perfect for a 3-day stay in South Beach for my college daughter and me. Two blocks to the beach, walking distance to Lincoln Road and Ocean Drive. Charming boutique hotel with common sitting areas, small balconys overlooking Espinosa Way and extremely accommodating staff. The hotel totally exceeded my expectations. Some of the on-line reviews were quite negative so I didn't know what to expect. Granted, the rooms are basic and you won't find a Heavenly bed here. The rooms are clean and fresh. Our room was equipped with a dorm-size refrig, microwave, coffee maker and hair dryer. We had a family room which was almost like a suite since the double beds were separated by the bathroom. South Beach is no bargain (think Manhattan). A comparable hotel in the suburbs would be half the price. However, for South Beach, you can't go wrong.

Room Tip: Ask for a family room if you want something in a quieter section of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Salvador, El Salvador
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

This hotel is located in the hart of the action, espaniola way its a nice street with charming restaurants, rooms are basic but clean and confortable bed. The loby is on wasintong avenue, but rooms are over the restaurants located on first fllor behind the lobby. There are no elevators, so dont bring lots of luggage or you will regreat. If you are use to have bellboys and some more " occidental" book the courtyard wich is only 50 mts to the north and with all the amenities that brand offers. For me the hotel was better than expected, some times it smells food on the hall but not in the room ( at leats the one i go) . A bit of noise from the street , but YOU ARE IN THE MIDDEL OF THE ACTION, that is to be expected. Be aware that hotels in this area are not cheap.If you have mobility or back problems DONT BOOK HERE

Room Tip: ask for rooms all the way to the back umbers 350 and up
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Clay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clay Hotel

Address: 1438 Washington Avenue, South Beach, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#11 Best Value Hotel in Miami Beach
#107 Top resorts Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Clay Hotel 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your The Clay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clay Hotel Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Clay Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.