We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Playa de Oro

Save Saved
You added Playa de Oro to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Playa de Oro
751 Meridian Avenue., Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Group of 4 girls stayed for 8 nights. We had a really great stay here. It was a 5-7min walk to the beach and the strip, full of restaurants, bars, convenience stores, and clothing stores. Definitely 5 stars for location. The room was a nice size, as was the bathroom, and the house was extremely clean. We felt very safe here, with very friendly neighbours. It comfortably fit 4 of us and I honestly have no complaints. If there was a pool, it would have been the icing on the cake.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    56
    12
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
26
22
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

I work near the airport, so I typically stay at MIA airport hotels. Staying in SOBE is such a relief. Not only could you go for morning runs on the beach, but you also have access to everything SOBE has to offer (compared to sketchy neighbourhoods around the airport and mediocre hotel food). The morning reverse commute to the airport was a breeze (15 minutes), a little longer in the evening (around 20 minutes). If you prefer a nice, modern, clean and perfectly SOBE located apartment WITH PARKING, look no further. Andrea is a pleasure to deal with and very responsive.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

We rented two units for a family vacation, and really enjoyed this place. It had all the comforts of home and the location was convenient to everything central to South Beach. It was great that parking was included.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

First time staying in Miami, and this apartment was great!
Top location, walking distance to South Beach and with a own parking spot.
The cleaning service was super also.
No problems what so ever to be in contact with Andrea :)
The cooking facilities was top notch also, really enjoyed to cook our own meals
using the large kitchen counters.
Bathroom/shower, great!

Would easily recommend this to others, and stay again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

This is a small budget but not tourist class hotel, clean but not luxurious. It is four or five blocks from the beach in a residential neighborhood. Lots of young people.

$200.00 quoted in June is a high season rate for this property, not ashoulder or summer season price. It sounds like a bargain to Europeans and South Americans but not for the US traveler.

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at Playa in June, for 7 days. We had a room at the second floor, very confortable and roomy, with two couple beds and a little kitchen. There's no lifting (but it has only 2 floors), room service, neither front desk, but if you are looking for a good room (large and confortable), among the best location of Miami Beach - South Beach, a few blocks from the beach, with everything you need nearby, this is the place for you.
It's more like renting an apartment than staying in a hotel. And, specially, it has an excelent price for what it offers, better than any hotel around. It's perfect, for exemple, for a group of friends that wants to enjoy Miami more than the hotel. Also, it includes parking, something really rare in south beach (and expensive if you have to pay for). In conclusion, I'll definitely stay at Playa de Oro again when I visit Miami again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

So easy to book and by far the cheapest I found so close to the beach. was greta to be able to do washing and make our own breakfasts as South Beach can be a little pricey for food.

beds were super comfy and the rooms were really quiet.

Plus parking, you wouldnt find parking for free at many places in sobe.

highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Playa de Oro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playa de Oro

Address: 751 Meridian Avenue., Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 60 Specialty lodging in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just remodeled 2 story building in the heart of South Beach. Walking distance to the beach, Washington Ave., Collins Ave., Lincoln Rd. and Ocean Dr. We are known for our detailed attention and personalized service. All our units include kitchen, parking, wi-fi and change of towels. Supermarkets, restaurants and shopping malls around the corner. Don't miss this great opportunity and stay with us. You won't regret it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Playa de Oro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa De Oro Hotel Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Playa de Oro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.