We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“in a word ... Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Playa de Oro

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Miami Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Playa de Oro
751 Meridian Avenue., Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Toronto
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“in a word ... Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Very nice apartment in the heart of Miami Beach.

We came across this apartment via TripAdvisor and after reading all the reviews, we can only add yet another positive one. The apartment was just as described and walking distance to everywhere we wanted to go.

We dealt with Andrea entirely over email, from booking and paying for the apartment, to receiving the codes for the security gate and for the lockbox for the apartment key. We didnt actually meet her during our stay, and although it would have been nice to tell her in person that we liked the apartment, and its location, it was no big deal as (almost) everything was just as we expected and details for everything (like rules and building policies, wifi codes etc) were pinned to the refrigerator and local info was neatly presented in a folder on the counter top.

The only thing we did not receive when we arrived was the parking pass, and fearing our car would be towed during the night we emailed Andrea the evening we arrived (maybe around 8 or 9pm). She replied very quickly and said it would be no problem, we would get a pass next morning, and the car would not be towed as she is the one who calls the company to do the towing so knew the car in our spot was legitimate. We got the pass next morning from housekeeping and had no problems.

There is a nice Cuban supermarket less than 5 minutes walk away for supplies & hot food, a Publix a little further away, and a Whole Foods just slightly beyond that. Close by is also Las Olas Cuban Cafe which is excellent (and cheap). You can also walk to Ocean Drive in less than 10 minutes leaving your car in its parking spot and avoiding the valet parking prices !! All in all, its a very nice apartment, in an excellent location and we would have no hesitation staying there again.

If I had any criticisms of the apartment, they would be very minor indeed and didnt have any impact on our stay. Silly little things like the towel ring in the bathroom was hanging precariously, or our thoughts that the TV could have been in the main room rather than the bedroom ... but hey, who comes to Miami Beach to watch TV !!!!

On the morning of our departure we wanted to take the downtown loop of the Big Bus sightseeing tour as we had not seen Miami itself, just Miami Beach ... so one tip we can give others if you have checked out and need parking is to go to Publix and park there !!! Instead of $20 for a spot somewhere on the street, we paid something like $7 for several hours in their parking garage .... and the Tour Bus stop is very close by.

Room Tip: We had room 1 on the ground floor and could hear the people above us walking around their apartment...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    54
    11
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
24
21
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Benning, Georgia, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We are traveling as a family with our friends along, the apartment is great with all the amenities that come with the kitchen and free parking. Location is walking distance to the beach, restaurant and grocery shop.

Room Tip: You may consider the studio room that come with a balcony, especially if you are traveling with frie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

I liked the location of this apartment, and everything was clean and well-arranged. The only thing was the manager Andrea was not there or we missed her during our stay. But in saying that there was a binder with all the local restaurants, and atttractions listed inside. It was just a few minutes to the beach and quite centrally located, but felt cosy & comfortable. I also felt safe there and there were people walking or biking around in the area any time of the day or night.
I would stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vienna
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We like this place a lot, we're coming back again and again! Andrea and the whole team are just great, we feel like being among friends and not just tourists renting an apartment. The location couldn't be better >> 5 minutes walk from Ocean Drive, the beach, and all the nice shops, yet in totally quiet neighborhood. The apartments are very cosy, modern and clean, coming with a fully equipped kitchen. A nice "cuban" supermarket and laundry is just a minute down the street (Meridian and 6th), offering great pastry, variety of cheep and very nice lunch options, and excellent coffee ("cafe con leche", of course !). The private parking spot is a blessing, this is hard to find in Miami Beach! Also perfect for divers, since the South Beach Divers are just around the corner. Yet, there is just one thing we're missing there: a roof terrace with an infinity pool... ;-)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

I have been staying at the Playa de Oro for three seasons now. The apartment is well kept and clean with all the amenities that My family and I need. The location is perfect, close to the beach, shopping areas and restaurants.
i will go back again next season.
And having a parking space in South Beach is a also a great convenience.
Thank you for everything.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at 751 Playa de Oro. Very good location to the beach (2 blocks)and many places to eat. Quiet and clean apartment with nice kitchenette. The apartments have parking spaces.There is a supermarket nearby. Thank you!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estonia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Stayed at Playa de Oro in January 2013 for two weeks. Location is very central: the beach, 5th & Alton shopping center, museums, children's playgrounds, Southpointe Park are in a reasonable walking distance.
The property itself is nice and clean. The amenities are good as advertised, you get what you pay for and it is totally worth it. Having been in South Beach before, I especially point out parking possibility onsite, which is included in the price. Parking on South Beach is expensive and free space is difficult to find. Playa de Oro is extremely convenient.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Playa de Oro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playa de Oro

Address: 751 Meridian Avenue., Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 57 Specialty lodging in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just remodeled 2 story building in the heart of South Beach. Walking distance to the beach, Washington Ave., Collins Ave., Lincoln Rd. and Ocean Dr. We are known for our detailed attention and personalized service. All our units include kitchen, parking, wi-fi and change of towels. Supermarkets, restaurants and shopping malls around the corner. Don't miss this great opportunity and stay with us. You won't regret it. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Playa De Oro Hotel Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Playa de Oro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Playa de Oro to your Saves list