We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fresh, flavorful and fun” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Indomania

Indomania
131 26th St, Miami Beach, FL 33140
+1 305-535-6332
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #35 of 876 Restaurants in Miami Beach
Cuisines: Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
CT
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“fresh, flavorful and fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

found this restaurant on TA and made a reservation for two on a friday night via email. got a prompt response from a gracious staff member named Pieter. we were able to walk to 26th and collins and glad we could since it looked like parking was at a premium. there is a regular menu and a "rijsttafel" or family style selection for minimum of 2 people. selections are vegetarian, ocean, java, or sumatra. each consist of 14 small plates of a variety of selections of fish, chicken, beef, or vegs...on skewer, slow cooked, steamed, with several sauces including curry, coconut, and chili lime. 2 of us shared the rijstafel ocean with much delight. emping melinjo, a tangy cracker with a peanut sauce dip. I could not eat the grilled shrimp or the shrimp cracker but every other bite i had was simply delicious, freshly prepared, and full of flavor. grilled catch of the day was salmon in banana leaves and a cod in tomato ginger sauce, delish! steamed white and yellow rice with lemongrass and indonesian spices. crispy, spicy string beans, mixed vegetables, sweet sour cucumber are some other dishes served and their flavor balanced the other spices well. we treated ourselves to black rice pudding, creamy and not over cooked. nice wine and beer list as well. we will surely return to indomania for another delicious mean upon our return to miami beach.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    251
    51
    24
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013 via mobile

The food and service was both first class! Neat little restaurant with a very intimate and personal vibe.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida, United States
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Total Fiasco. We will not be back.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I have hard time understanding the buzz about this restaurant.

My boyfriend and I ordered 2 seafood menus which go for $30 per person. The menus feature an array of courses which sound impressive on paper and are truly disappointing when served.

You receive a wide variety of food served in little saucers. Most of them are truly uneventful like boiled green beans, apples with a little syrup, white rice, a couple of sauces etc. The fish courses were 1 shrimp each which was overcooked, 1 fish nugget that had a slimy texture (too much flour and too little fish) a little fish fillet topped with a souce that tasted like jam, another fish filet with a mild black bean sauce.

I have been to Indonesia and the food served by this restaurant had maybe a hint of what true Indonesian food tastes like.

Despite the variety, food was just enough to not be hungry. For 2 menus and 2 tap waters we paid $75. To us It tasted like cheap chinese fare served in little cute saucers. Service was good though and the atmosphere pleasant

We will not be back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mb
1 review
“INDOMANIA IS THE REAL DEAL”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Being from here and having sampled many, many, many south beach restaurants, I was skeptical at all the glowing reviews. However I can say without reserve that Indomania is the real deal - it really IS that good! But it's not only that the food is that rare combination of "home cooked goodness" *(- albeit if your home was in Amsterdam via Jakarta) and the talent of a truly skilled chef .. There is also the variety of the meal, the sheer fun of sampling so many dishes all different tastes and textures and all delicious. Then there is the attentive service staff, the owner checking in on you to make sure everything is as you want, the subdued, chic ambiance - AND it's very reasonable priced on top of it. Our group of 14 all had the Rijstaffel and the very good wine and desert selections suggested by the owner and we could not have been more pleased. South Beach restaurants - this is the way you should all be regarding your patrons.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, IN
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Ties as one of my two favorite meals in Miami Beach.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

AMAZING! The cuisine at this restaurant is so inventive and different than anything we've tried before. My partner and I shared a Rijsttafel, a variety of tiny dishes around one of four themes. We chose the "Ocean." I'm not even sure how to describe it because it was so different, but I'll try to include a few details...The sheer number of vegetables offered in a variety of preparations was refreshing. The sauces complemented the food perfectly. It was just so obvious that each creation in each tiny dish was thoughtfully prepared. The staff was also incredibly thoughtful and attentive, and both the chef/owner and an owner/manager came to ask us about our meal.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Indomania also viewed

 

Been to Indomania? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Indomania, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.