We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a great little museum” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bass Museum of Art

Bass Museum of Art
2121 Park Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (City Center)
305-673-7530
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 50 Attractions in Miami Beach
Type: Art Museums
Attraction Details
Miami, Florida
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“a great little museum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Bass museum is not the Metropolitan but it is a quaint little museum with several interesting exhibits. I love the tapestries and can spend a long time watching and discovering new details every time i visit.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    29
    27
    7
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Best diverse collection in Miami!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Best diverse collection in Miami including Old Masters to Modern! Just the perfect size for effortless enjoyment of the senses! Have visited often for ever changing special exhibits.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Good selection of contemporary art”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Nice exhibition. Well displayed. The place is calm, fresh and proposing a good selection of modern art. Liked it. Fine for families.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
324 reviews 324 reviews
110 attraction reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
“Interesting for a one-time trip”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

I frequent art museums, so perhaps my view isn't unbiased. That being said, the Bass Museum is small, intimate, and a bit underwhelming. Their special exhibitions might make up for their permanent collection, although I wasn't completely pleased with the show I saw on a recent trip. The most interesting part, sadly, was the building itself-- strange yet compelling architecture. I'm not sure I would venture a return visit, but I would suggest it for a one-time trip.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Very worthwhile experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

This is a very good museum, a hidden gem in some ways. They have interesting exhibits all the time. Look into it if you are on the Beach.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bass Museum of Art also viewed

 

Been to Bass Museum of Art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bass Museum of Art, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.