We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best diverse collection in Miami!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bass Museum of Art

Bass Museum of Art
2100 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (City Center)
+1 305-673-7530
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$100*
and up
South Beach Arts and Culinary Tour in Miami
Ranked #46 of 100 things to do in Miami Beach
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Bass Museum of Art presents contemporary art to excite, challenge and educate. During the renovation of its interior spaces, exhibitions and programs will be held in a pop up gallery space within the Miami Beach Public Library across the street.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Best diverse collection in Miami!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Best diverse collection in Miami including Old Masters to Modern! Just the perfect size for effortless enjoyment of the senses! Have visited often for ever changing special exhibits.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    42
    32
    12
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
107 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Good selection of contemporary art”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Nice exhibition. Well displayed. The place is calm, fresh and proposing a good selection of modern art. Liked it. Fine for families.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
352 reviews
113 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Interesting for a one-time trip”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

I frequent art museums, so perhaps my view isn't unbiased. That being said, the Bass Museum is small, intimate, and a bit underwhelming. Their special exhibitions might make up for their permanent collection, although I wasn't completely pleased with the show I saw on a recent trip. The most interesting part, sadly, was the building itself-- strange yet compelling architecture. I'm not sure I would venture a return visit, but I would suggest it for a one-time trip.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Very worthwhile experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

This is a very good museum, a hidden gem in some ways. They have interesting exhibits all the time. Look into it if you are on the Beach.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
63 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“A fine small collection”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

This small museum, centrally located in Miami Beach is a local gem. The exhibitions are inventive, well curated and I like how they represent a mix of art styles and emphasize artistic contributions from the Hispanic community. They also host a variety of musical performances which I believe are free with museum admission. A worthwhile cultural experience and an excellent break from the beach.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bass Museum of Art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bass Museum of Art, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.