We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best diverse collection in Miami!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bass Museum of Art

Bass Museum of Art
2121 Park Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (City Center)
305-673-7530
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 50 Attractions in Miami Beach
Type: Art Museums
Attraction Details
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Best diverse collection in Miami!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Best diverse collection in Miami including Old Masters to Modern! Just the perfect size for effortless enjoyment of the senses! Have visited often for ever changing special exhibits.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    29
    27
    7
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Good selection of contemporary art”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Nice exhibition. Well displayed. The place is calm, fresh and proposing a good selection of modern art. Liked it. Fine for families.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
324 reviews 324 reviews
110 attraction reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
“Interesting for a one-time trip”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

I frequent art museums, so perhaps my view isn't unbiased. That being said, the Bass Museum is small, intimate, and a bit underwhelming. Their special exhibitions might make up for their permanent collection, although I wasn't completely pleased with the show I saw on a recent trip. The most interesting part, sadly, was the building itself-- strange yet compelling architecture. I'm not sure I would venture a return visit, but I would suggest it for a one-time trip.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Very worthwhile experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

This is a very good museum, a hidden gem in some ways. They have interesting exhibits all the time. Look into it if you are on the Beach.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“A fine small collection”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

This small museum, centrally located in Miami Beach is a local gem. The exhibitions are inventive, well curated and I like how they represent a mix of art styles and emphasize artistic contributions from the Hispanic community. They also host a variety of musical performances which I believe are free with museum admission. A worthwhile cultural experience and an excellent break from the beach.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bass Museum of Art also viewed

 

Been to Bass Museum of Art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bass Museum of Art, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.