We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very worthwhile experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bass Museum of Art

Bass Museum of Art
2121 Park Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (City Center)
305-673-7530
Website
Improve this listing
Book a Tour

Ranked #23 of 47 attractions in Miami Beach
Type: Art Museums
Attraction Details
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Very worthwhile experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

This is a very good museum, a hidden gem in some ways. They have interesting exhibits all the time. Look into it if you are on the Beach.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    27
    25
    7
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“A fine small collection”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

This small museum, centrally located in Miami Beach is a local gem. The exhibitions are inventive, well curated and I like how they represent a mix of art styles and emphasize artistic contributions from the Hispanic community. They also host a variety of musical performances which I believe are free with museum admission. A worthwhile cultural experience and an excellent break from the beach.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Unnatural exhibition”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

I had the pleasure of visiting the Bass Museum exhibition 2 weeks ago for the Unnatural exhibition and was quite impressed with the curator's choices. Do not miss the watermelons in the Dead Sea and the Wall of flowers - two among many unique offerings. I am excited to see what is next.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Meh...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Not my favorite Art Museum in the area. I've been to several especially during Art Basel for the past couple of years. They do have great guest exhibitions, but I have not been impressed by their ongoing works. It is a rather small art museum so I would hope that the exhibitions would be more astounding, but I found myself wandering through each room rather quickly. Plus the layout of the building is rather confusing. I often found myself wandering back into the same room or realizing I missed another corner of the exhibit. It is an average art museum, but when there are so many other locations in Miami, this is not the one I would recommend.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Not comprehensive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

If you're interested in Renaissance wooden statuary, this is the place for you, since these and a small Egyptian exhibit comprise most of the permanent collection at The Bass. That being said, the exterior of this building, with its approach across a palm-lined lawn, is beautiful, and they do have a giant tapestry that's purported to have originally belonged to Henry VIII. Kind of cool to look at a wall-hanging and consider that the dashing English Tudor king whi went through six wives used to gaze upon it at one of his castles.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bass Museum of Art also viewed

 

Been to Bass Museum of Art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bass Museum of Art, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Bass Museum of Art to your Saves list