We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fine small collection” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bass Museum of Art

Bass Museum of Art
2100 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (City Center)
+1 305-673-7530
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$100*
and up
South Beach Arts and Culinary Tour in Miami
Ranked #49 of 160 things to do in Miami Beach
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Bass Museum of Art presents contemporary art to excite, challenge and educate. During the renovation of its interior spaces, exhibitions and programs will be held in a pop up gallery space within the Miami Beach Public Library across the street.
New York
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
15 attraction reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“A fine small collection”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

This small museum, centrally located in Miami Beach is a local gem. The exhibitions are inventive, well curated and I like how they represent a mix of art styles and emphasize artistic contributions from the Hispanic community. They also host a variety of musical performances which I believe are free with museum admission. A worthwhile cultural experience and an excellent break from the beach.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    37
    32
    12
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 attraction reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Unnatural exhibition”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

I had the pleasure of visiting the Bass Museum exhibition 2 weeks ago for the Unnatural exhibition and was quite impressed with the curator's choices. Do not miss the watermelons in the Dead Sea and the Wall of flowers - two among many unique offerings. I am excited to see what is next.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
27 attraction reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Meh...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Not my favorite Art Museum in the area. I've been to several especially during Art Basel for the past couple of years. They do have great guest exhibitions, but I have not been impressed by their ongoing works. It is a rather small art museum so I would hope that the exhibitions would be more astounding, but I found myself wandering through each room rather quickly. Plus the layout of the building is rather confusing. I often found myself wandering back into the same room or realizing I missed another corner of the exhibit. It is an average art museum, but when there are so many other locations in Miami, this is not the one I would recommend.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
41 attraction reviews
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Not comprehensive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

If you're interested in Renaissance wooden statuary, this is the place for you, since these and a small Egyptian exhibit comprise most of the permanent collection at The Bass. That being said, the exterior of this building, with its approach across a palm-lined lawn, is beautiful, and they do have a giant tapestry that's purported to have originally belonged to Henry VIII. Kind of cool to look at a wall-hanging and consider that the dashing English Tudor king whi went through six wives used to gaze upon it at one of his castles.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palm beach county
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 attraction reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“underwhelming”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Went on a half price day. Good thing because not worth full admission price. Other than the Egyptian section and the room with the giant tapestry there was not much there. An entire room on Madonna and child was a bit much. You will need only an hour or so to see everything.Apparently on certain Fridays they have live music, wine and beer. Might be worth checking out

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bass Museum of Art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bass Museum of Art, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.