We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Filthy, Cheap, and Ugly” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Lorraine Hotel

Save Saved
You added Lorraine Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lorraine Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2601 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33140-4798 (Oceanfront)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #181 of 201 hotels in Miami Beach
Parsippany, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Filthy, Cheap, and Ugly”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

To call this place a hotel would be ridiculous. It's more like your nightmare college dormitory. The lobby looks OK, if not a little bland, but after that, the place is a wreck. The hallways are ugly and painted a yucky light green color. The whole place feels old and cheap. Our room was cramped, dirty, and cheap. There was dirt all over the walls and on the floor in the bathroom. The shower was filthy and moldy. The floor in our room was dirty, hard wood - no carpeting. The mattresses were hard and squeaky. It's a miracle we didn't encounter any bed bugs in this place. There was a balcony, but it was tiny and cramped.

The customer service was just as bad. We heard a security alarm going off from one of the stupid broken door locks - nobody came to fix it for almost an hour. One night, we were out of pillows, so we asked the front desk for more. They didn't have any.

The "continental breakfast" consisted of nothing more than shrink-wrapped muffins and coffee. No eggs, cereal, bagels, or juice. At least there's a good bodega just around the corner. The place advertises free Wi-Fi, but the signal is so weak that we couldn't get it from our 3rd floor room, so we had to sit in the lobby.

Boy were we glad to get out of this wreck. This "hotel" was by the far the worst place we ever stayed in. There's a reason it's way less money than all the other hotels in the area - it's absolutely awful.

Room Tip: If you want any shot at getting a Wi-Fi signal from your room, stay on the 2nd floor. They seem to o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lorrainebeach, Guest Relations Manager at Lorraine Hotel, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
We are sorry we didn't meet your expectations. Just to clarify, our continental breakfast consists of two types of juice, coffee, two kinds of cereal, bagels and cream cheese, two types of bread, croissants, muffins, fresh fruit and, on weekends, yogurt. Eggs are not part of what's considered "Continental breakfast." We understand how disappointment can quickly grow into a negative opinion and believe this might be the case. In any case, please accept our apologies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    26
    69
    63
    26
    28
See reviews for
52
60
16
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

This a budget hotel, much less costly than other hotels in South Beach, and as long as you keep this in mind and you have the proper expectations you will be satisfied with this hotel. We stayed for a week at a 'deluxe' room which is slightly, but not much, more expensive than the regular rooms. Deluxe rooms have a full kitchen with refrigerator, stove and utensils. The room was spacious and clean, with a partial ocean view. The furnishings were dated but adequate for a budget class hotel. The staff, both at the front desk and housekeeping, was very friendly and very helpful. Housekeeping service is provided daily.

The hotel is located on 26th St and Collins in the northern part of South Beach a few blocks away from the noisy center of SoBe party action. We welcomed the quieter location especially since we happened to be there during the Electronic Music Festival and all the mainstream hotels had loud pool parties going on.

Every morning a continental breakfast, consisting of cereals, assorted breads, pastries, juice and fruits, is served in the main lobby from 7 am to 10 am. Most hotels in South Beach do not offer breakfast or even a free cup of coffee, so this service was most welcomed. Free coffee is also available at the lobby 24 hours a day. Wi-fi is available at the main lobby, wi-fi service is more spotty in the guest rooms. A grocery store/cafeteria/bakery is at the street level of the hotel, and they serve hot and cold meals, smoothies and delicious Cuban coffee until 10 pm.

Although there is no pool, the beach is steps away. The front desk provides beach towels. The boardwalk alongside the beach, where you can stroll or jog, is right behind the hotel.

Room Tip: Some of the deluxe rooms have partial ocean view, and a few have balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lorrainebeach, Guest Relations Manager at Lorraine Hotel, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Thank you for such a detail review! We couldn't have said it better :) Hope this finds you well and planning your next vacation!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

I stayed at the Lorraine for 4 nights two weeks ago. I must say it definitely isn't the fanciest hotel, but it is totally worth it for the price. I came around Ultra music festival, and all the other hotels were overpriced, so the Lorraine was the most affordable option.

I'm subtracting one star because the first room they put me in had a really stained carpet, it'll be nice if this was removed altogether since Miami is pretty warm and there isn't really a need for carpets.

What I am really satisfied about this hotel is the customer service. When we asked to be moved to a different room, this was immediately done. The next room was simple, but very clean. The rooms are small, but have all the necessary amenities. When we asked for extra towels, this was also immediately done. They also serve continental breakfast in the mornings, which can add to your savings. All the essentials, but definitely fresh.

But first and foremost shout out to their front desk people!!! On my last night there I happened to drop my cellphone on the elevator crack. That's the worst thing it can happen during vacation...a day without cellphone!!!! But I came down the next morning and asked the front desk attendant for help. I feel terrible that I didn't get her name (she was a young Hispanic girl, a little Asian looking), but this girl went above and beyond to help me get my phone back. Even when I had already given up, she suggested getting some tools and calling the elevator company to try to open the elevator box located under. At the end she got my phone back, and I am totally grateful for her!

Overall, if you are a budget traveler, I would highly recommend this place.

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms have a full kitchen with utensils. Regular rooms have a fridge and microwave tho.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lorrainebeach, Guest Relations Manager at Lorraine Hotel, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this review! We are a modest hotel, but we make customer service a priority. The story you tell about the retrieval of the phone is great, and so is Nataly, the person who helped you. We hope you come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Hotel is disgusting! no manager on duty, even when we saw her in the office! dirty, breakafast very poor, elevator old, a/c not working, no internet! please do not go to this hotel!
My husband find a cucaracha under bed, bathroon really dirty.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lorrainebeach, Guest Relations Manager at Lorraine Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
We apologize for these inconveniences. We need to make one thing clear, though: we do not have roaches. We are not saying you didn't find one, but it might have squeezed in from outside. We have periodical visits from pest control to ensure we don't get unwanted visitors :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

I didn't expect much for the price of $160 after taxes, but I did expect a clean room. There were hairs on the bathroom floor, and my feet became muddy after a shower the walking on the floor. There is a big gaping hole in the wall where the broken smoke detector used to be and an inoperable remote for the circa 1986 television. They charge a $6 resort fee, I guess for the use of beach towels. There is no parking, they advise you to park at a metered parking lot a block away, but they do not have any quarters so one has to scurry around the various shops begging for change and feeding the meter. Our room was a sweatbox, there wasn't any AC on, or thermostat anywhere in the room. The second floor room had windows that I had to force to lock before leaving the room. When we tried to open them they wouldn't stay up, so we had to wedge a water bottle in the corner to let in the breeze.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lorrainebeach, Guest Relations Manager at Lorraine Hotel, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
We apologize. We are working on improving our air conditioning system. Also, we have replaced many of our faulty windows with new hurricane proof ones.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013 via mobile

Bad.
Bad room. Bad location. Bad prices.
At first it didn't looked that bad. Once you get to yor room the nightmare starts. Plan on bringin your own fan. The room a/c was terrible and the ceiling fan sounded like a cricket. It should be a $50.00 night hotel. Don't do it!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lorrainebeach, Guest Relations Manager at Lorraine Hotel, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
We apologize. We are working on fixing our air conditioning.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

We stayed in Miami for 2 nights and chose the Lorraine Hotel. We arrived early due to our red-eye flights from the West Coast of USA and asked for early check in, if possible. The older man working said we were too early and would not be checked in until their check in time of 3pm. He was extremely rude and disinterested in helping us. We had to sit in the foyer for hours until the lovely young lady at reception checked us in early.
The rooms were awful; very thin walls, floors and ceilings. The shower head leaked and left pools of water on the floor. No independent air conditioning or heating in the room. People continuously played extremely loud music until early hours of the morning. The hotel is not close to the main streets/mall so you either have to taxi or take a long walk.
We had some issues with the noise above our room and when we questioned it, nothing was done about it.
We also asked the reception to book us a taxi to the airport and they said they would book for us but I don't think they did as no taxi showed up.
Even though it's cheap, I would recommend you stay elsewhere. It is budget, but too budget. We won't be returning.

Room Tip: Chose a hotel close to Lincoln Mall
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lorrainebeach, Guest Relations Manager at Lorraine Hotel, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
We are sorry to hear we did not meet your expectations. Please, accept our apologies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lorraine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lorraine Hotel

Address: 2601 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33140-4798
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > Oceanfront
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #181 of 201 hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lorraine Hotel 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Lorraine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lorraine Hotel Miami Beach
Lorraine Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lorraine Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.