We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable & pragmatic place” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Lorraine Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Lorraine Hotel to your Saves list
Lorraine Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2601 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33140-4798 (Oceanfront)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #169 of 203 Hotels in Miami Beach
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Reasonable & pragmatic place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We stayed at this place because we were looking for - an economically priced place to stay near South Beach. We got what we paid for, and frankly, what we expected: clean & comfortable beds, with aged furnishings & finishings, with few amenities, close to but not in South Beach, and in an older hotel. First impressions were quite good with the lobby, but it seemed any renovations ended there.

The continental breakfast was average (bread, cereal & fruit), and if you wanted a better coffee than the express Nescafe one there, we could easily get one further down the road. Access to the beach is less than a block and the rooms had a fridge, sink and burner, so that's good for anyone wanting to stay there for a longer period.

Some challenges in that the website says "full-sized beds", though they were actually queen-sized (good end result, I suppose), the hair-dryer's built-in fuse kept blowing requiring cool-down to reset, windows were from the 60s and wouldn't stay up/open, the wireless access on the top floor was non-existent, and the washroom was, well, just shy of being scary - though it seemed clean, we definitely kept our sandals on.

So, overall, you do get what you pay for and you are paying much less a price than you would pay for accomodations closer to South Beach. The price/value was definitely fair & if that's what you're looking for, then it's a good place, though I would personally suck it up and pay a higher price next time for something a bit nicer down the road.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lorrainebeach, Guest Relations Manager at Lorraine Hotel, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thanks for your review. We have replaced some of the windows (now hurricane proof) since your visited. Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    79
    76
    28
    31
See reviews for
66
64
19
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

My husband I travel often and have resolved that most hotels are simply a place to crash for the night and don't ask much from a place...I read reviews here and decided to give the Lorraine a try. WOW, what a mistake!! The place was absolutely disgusting. The lobby is nice and gives a false impression of the cleanliness of the rest of the hotel. There was mold, mildew, missing tiles, dirty dishes in the kitchenette, a fridge/freezer that was FULL of frozen frost ( must have not been defrosted since 1971)... The entry door did not lock, we had to set up a makeshift "booby trap" with chairs to feel safe. And if that was not enough, I was not walking on the floor for 5 minutes in what was my clean pair of white socks when they turned a deep gray from the FILTH on the floor. They were covered in hair and I was disgusted. There was dark hair on the floor, back of the bathroom doors, this place seemed as though it had not been cleaned in years. I was bit up by bugs and could not wait to get out of there! I will never stay here again !!!!! EVER!!

Room Tip: stay somewhere else!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
256 reviews 256 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
319 helpful votes 319 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012 via mobile

If you are from the USA, please DO NOT STAY HERE...... you will mess up a good thing. This Hotel is perfect the way it is now. When too many people from around the US tend to ruin things for others who really like to enjoy them ...like this hotel.... it has a large European guest list that have stayed here and will stay here. I felt like I was the only guest from the US in the Hotel. Mostly all Europeans..... The value of this place is only 1 of many reasons why this hotel will get my 5 star rating.

At first this location did not seem all that great when I pulled up. Boy was I wrong. (Enter only from the side entrance on 26th Street) It has a lot too offer. The Beach for one is one of the main reasons to stay. The place is clean and staff is really friendly. The only thing that could have been a problem for me is the parking...it can be hard to find a spot on the street but there is a parking lot down the street. they also have breakfast for you in the morning (continental) if you want it.

There are 2 other things that really compliment this place very well and that is the number 1 restaurant in Miami Beach called Indomania (in do main yah) is located at the foot of the steps to the hotel. Peter the owner of that restaurant is always on hand to take care of his restaurant guest. Peter wants everyone to enjoy his place. At the corner of 26 and Collins there is a bodega that can also a comedy to throughout the day and night with food, coffee drinks whatever you're needs are from sunscreen to a meal. ( spinach pie) .

SO THIS PLACE IS MY SECRET in South Beach. DONT MESS IT UP.

Jerry Ehrlich from the Great City of Philadelphia

PROS
The Hotel
The staff
The location
The Value
Oh can I say Staff again
I felt like I was the only guest from the USA
Corner Bodega
And having the #1 restaurant in South Beach next to the Hotel

CONS
I live in Philadelphia.....LOL

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

The hotel is clean and the rooms a good value for the price. If you are looking to spend time on the beach, the hotel is in a superb location. You will be a short walk to the sun and sand on the beach. If you go to the front desk and ask, they will provide you with a complimentary beach towel on your way over. You are not far from all the action on SOBE after the sun goes down either. The breakfast was pretty lean but anything free in SOBE is not to be scoffed at. This hotel is definitely worth the price just not much in the way of amenities or customer service. If you are looking for a no frills and clean place to stay, you will definitely get your monies worth.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Talk about a complete culture clash. I started at the perfectly sterile J.W. Marriott in downtown Miami and spent the best part of my vacation at the Lorraine. This is travel adventure in the highest. Clean, Spartan rooms. Mine had a balcony overlooking Collins Ave. First night the Europeans in the next room got a bit too frisky. However, the beach is a stone's throw away. Why else would you be here? A continental breakfast will get you fueled for the day. More goodies are in the grill/convenience store downstairs. You want elegant? Try Indomania in the building complex. A true beach hotel within (somewhat long) walking distance of South Beach action.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony overlooking Collins Ave.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lorrainebeach, Guest Relations Manager at Lorraine Hotel, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Thank you for your feed back! We hope to see you here in the near future. We're very glad you enjoyed your stay with us, we will be waiting for your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

My friend and I stayed here last summer. It was very last minute as the previous hotel messed up our reservation. So, we booked 1 night at the Lorraine. The day clerk was very nice and she even told us about a few places to go. The night clerk did not seem to speak much english and was sort of rude. At that time, we only paid $56/night. They have now almost tripled their rates.

Pros:
Free Breakfast
On the beach
Free beach towels

Cons:
Bedbugs
Dirty floors
Dated television
Elevator stopped working; had to carry luggage down 3 flights of stairs

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
170 helpful votes 170 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

We chose this hotel because it was reasonably priced and in a good location. It definitely served it's purpose. The room was good - it was clean. The continental breakfast was OK. The beach and restaurants are in easy walking distance.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lorraine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lorraine Hotel

Address: 2601 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33140-4798
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > Oceanfront
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #169 of 203 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lorraine Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Lorraine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lorraine Hotel Miami Beach
Lorraine Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lorraine Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.