We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DO NOT STAY HERE:::::::: WINK WINK.... :)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lorraine Hotel

Save Saved
You added Lorraine Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lorraine Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2601 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33140-4798 (Oceanfront)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #180 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
248 reviews 248 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
302 helpful votes 302 helpful votes
“DO NOT STAY HERE:::::::: WINK WINK.... :)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012 via mobile

If you are from the USA, please DO NOT STAY HERE...... you will mess up a good thing. This Hotel is perfect the way it is now. When too many people from around the US tend to ruin things for others who really like to enjoy them ...like this hotel.... it has a large European guest list that have stayed here and will stay here. I felt like I was the only guest from the US in the Hotel. Mostly all Europeans..... The value of this place is only 1 of many reasons why this hotel will get my 5 star rating.

At first this location did not seem all that great when I pulled up. Boy was I wrong. (Enter only from the side entrance on 26th Street) It has a lot too offer. The Beach for one is one of the main reasons to stay. The place is clean and staff is really friendly. The only thing that could have been a problem for me is the parking...it can be hard to find a spot on the street but there is a parking lot down the street. they also have breakfast for you in the morning (continental) if you want it.

There are 2 other things that really compliment this place very well and that is the number 1 restaurant in Miami Beach called Indomania (in do main yah) is located at the foot of the steps to the hotel. Peter the owner of that restaurant is always on hand to take care of his restaurant guest. Peter wants everyone to enjoy his place. At the corner of 26 and Collins there is a bodega that can also a comedy to throughout the day and night with food, coffee drinks whatever you're needs are from sunscreen to a meal. ( spinach pie) .

SO THIS PLACE IS MY SECRET in South Beach. DONT MESS IT UP.

Jerry Ehrlich from the Great City of Philadelphia

PROS
The Hotel
The staff
The location
The Value
Oh can I say Staff again
I felt like I was the only guest from the USA
Corner Bodega
And having the #1 restaurant in South Beach next to the Hotel

CONS
I live in Philadelphia.....LOL

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    27
    69
    62
    26
    31
See reviews for
47
59
15
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

The hotel is clean and the rooms a good value for the price. If you are looking to spend time on the beach, the hotel is in a superb location. You will be a short walk to the sun and sand on the beach. If you go to the front desk and ask, they will provide you with a complimentary beach towel on your way over. You are not far from all the action on SOBE after the sun goes down either. The breakfast was pretty lean but anything free in SOBE is not to be scoffed at. This hotel is definitely worth the price just not much in the way of amenities or customer service. If you are looking for a no frills and clean place to stay, you will definitely get your monies worth.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Talk about a complete culture clash. I started at the perfectly sterile J.W. Marriott in downtown Miami and spent the best part of my vacation at the Lorraine. This is travel adventure in the highest. Clean, Spartan rooms. Mine had a balcony overlooking Collins Ave. First night the Europeans in the next room got a bit too frisky. However, the beach is a stone's throw away. Why else would you be here? A continental breakfast will get you fueled for the day. More goodies are in the grill/convenience store downstairs. You want elegant? Try Indomania in the building complex. A true beach hotel within (somewhat long) walking distance of South Beach action.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony overlooking Collins Ave.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lorrainebeach, Guest Relations Manager at Lorraine Hotel, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Thank you for your feed back! We hope to see you here in the near future. We're very glad you enjoyed your stay with us, we will be waiting for your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

My friend and I stayed here last summer. It was very last minute as the previous hotel messed up our reservation. So, we booked 1 night at the Lorraine. The day clerk was very nice and she even told us about a few places to go. The night clerk did not seem to speak much english and was sort of rude. At that time, we only paid $56/night. They have now almost tripled their rates.

Pros:
Free Breakfast
On the beach
Free beach towels

Cons:
Bedbugs
Dirty floors
Dated television
Elevator stopped working; had to carry luggage down 3 flights of stairs

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
167 helpful votes 167 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

We chose this hotel because it was reasonably priced and in a good location. It definitely served it's purpose. The room was good - it was clean. The continental breakfast was OK. The beach and restaurants are in easy walking distance.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

I would highly suggest staying at Lorraine Hotel should you visit Miami. I had a lovely stay there, decent interiors, spacious reception area to hang out in and meet people, excellent service and a daily inclusive breakfast to start of your day. There are very handy close amenities seconds away, a cafe, restaurants, supermarket etc.
The staff, especially at Reception are warm, friendly, helpful, approachable and will attend to your needs, they made the stay extra special! I love that it is within a few minutes from the beach and lovely boardwalk. The beds were particularly comfortable. My only qualm was that the internet access was temperamental and limited but a small thing really. I shall definitely return!! :o)


Write a reply to all...

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

I would highly suggest staying at Lorraine Hotel, Collins Ave should you visit Miami. I had a lovely stay there, decent interiors, spacious reception area to hang out in and meet people, excellent service and a daily inclusive breakfast to start of your day. There are very handy close amenities seconds away, a cafe, restaurants, supermarket etc.
The staff, especially at Reception are warm, friendly, helpful, approachable and will attend to your needs I love that it is within a few minutes from the beach and lovely boardwalk. My only qualm was that the internet access was temperamental and limited but a small thing really. I shall definitely return!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lorraine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lorraine Hotel

Address: 2601 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33140-4798
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > Oceanfront
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #180 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lorraine Hotel 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Lorraine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lorraine Hotel Miami Beach
Lorraine Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lorraine Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.