We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's all about the beach, the beach!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lorraine Hotel

Save Saved
You added Lorraine Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lorraine Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2601 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33140-4798 (Oceanfront)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #180 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
Detroit, Michigan
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“It's all about the beach, the beach!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Talk about a complete culture clash. I started at the perfectly sterile J.W. Marriott in downtown Miami and spent the best part of my vacation at the Lorraine. This is travel adventure in the highest. Clean, Spartan rooms. Mine had a balcony overlooking Collins Ave. First night the Europeans in the next room got a bit too frisky. However, the beach is a stone's throw away. Why else would you be here? A continental breakfast will get you fueled for the day. More goodies are in the grill/convenience store downstairs. You want elegant? Try Indomania in the building complex. A true beach hotel within (somewhat long) walking distance of South Beach action.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony overlooking Collins Ave.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lorrainebeach, Guest Relations Manager at Lorraine Hotel, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Thank you for your feed back! We hope to see you here in the near future. We're very glad you enjoyed your stay with us, we will be waiting for your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    26
    67
    58
    26
    27
See reviews for
48
59
15
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

My friend and I stayed here last summer. It was very last minute as the previous hotel messed up our reservation. So, we booked 1 night at the Lorraine. The day clerk was very nice and she even told us about a few places to go. The night clerk did not seem to speak much english and was sort of rude. At that time, we only paid $56/night. They have now almost tripled their rates.

Pros:
Free Breakfast
On the beach
Free beach towels

Cons:
Bedbugs
Dirty floors
Dated television
Elevator stopped working; had to carry luggage down 3 flights of stairs

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
168 helpful votes 168 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

We chose this hotel because it was reasonably priced and in a good location. It definitely served it's purpose. The room was good - it was clean. The continental breakfast was OK. The beach and restaurants are in easy walking distance.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

I would highly suggest staying at Lorraine Hotel should you visit Miami. I had a lovely stay there, decent interiors, spacious reception area to hang out in and meet people, excellent service and a daily inclusive breakfast to start of your day. There are very handy close amenities seconds away, a cafe, restaurants, supermarket etc.
The staff, especially at Reception are warm, friendly, helpful, approachable and will attend to your needs, they made the stay extra special! I love that it is within a few minutes from the beach and lovely boardwalk. The beds were particularly comfortable. My only qualm was that the internet access was temperamental and limited but a small thing really. I shall definitely return!! :o)


Write a reply to all...

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

I would highly suggest staying at Lorraine Hotel, Collins Ave should you visit Miami. I had a lovely stay there, decent interiors, spacious reception area to hang out in and meet people, excellent service and a daily inclusive breakfast to start of your day. There are very handy close amenities seconds away, a cafe, restaurants, supermarket etc.
The staff, especially at Reception are warm, friendly, helpful, approachable and will attend to your needs I love that it is within a few minutes from the beach and lovely boardwalk. My only qualm was that the internet access was temperamental and limited but a small thing really. I shall definitely return!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

We wanted an inexpensive hotel as a base for a short "get acquainted" visit to Miami Beach. Both the Lorraine Hotel and Miami Beach surprised us. Both were more interesting and less American than we expected. For starters, the hotel is only steps from one of the Airport Flyer (a public express bus from the airport to Miami Beach with a $2.30 fare) bus stops. It is on the beach side of Collins Ave with easy access to the boardwalk. The staff are friendly and accommodating. The room was clean and comfortable. The breakfast was plenty to keep us going until lunch. The guests were a lively mix of ages and nationalities. Friendly and unpretentious is what we look for in a hotel and we found it in spades at the Lorraine. Don't stay here, if you want to be pampered; but, if you are looking for good value and a bit of local color, you'd be hard pressed to make a better choice.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwest USA
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012 via mobile

Located right by the boardwalk, the location is as good as you can get for a reasonable price. Each room has different furniture but it isn't high end...it's like they bought bedroom sets at garage sales and then say it's "boutique". The hotel itself is very old and the halls are noisy and echo. Creaky floors...you will know when someone walks down the hallway. Rooms have small kitchenettes and full closets so I wonder if the hotel used to be studio apartments. Bathrooms are not updated (like from the 50s) but they are clean. Wifi is terrible in the rooms so you need to sit in the lobby to get a connection. I would consider staying again because it was clean but I would look at other options first.

Stayed January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lorraine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lorraine Hotel

Address: 2601 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33140-4798
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > Oceanfront
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #180 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lorraine Hotel 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Lorraine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lorraine Hotel Miami Beach
Lorraine Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lorraine Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.