We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Lorraine Hotel

Save Saved
You added Lorraine Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lorraine Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2601 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33140-4798 (Oceanfront)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #180 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
Brisbane
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
168 helpful votes 168 helpful votes
“Value for money”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

We chose this hotel because it was reasonably priced and in a good location. It definitely served it's purpose. The room was good - it was clean. The continental breakfast was OK. The beach and restaurants are in easy walking distance.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    27
    69
    62
    26
    31
See reviews for
47
59
15
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canterbury
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

I would highly suggest staying at Lorraine Hotel should you visit Miami. I had a lovely stay there, decent interiors, spacious reception area to hang out in and meet people, excellent service and a daily inclusive breakfast to start of your day. There are very handy close amenities seconds away, a cafe, restaurants, supermarket etc.
The staff, especially at Reception are warm, friendly, helpful, approachable and will attend to your needs, they made the stay extra special! I love that it is within a few minutes from the beach and lovely boardwalk. The beds were particularly comfortable. My only qualm was that the internet access was temperamental and limited but a small thing really. I shall definitely return!! :o)


Write a reply to all...

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

I would highly suggest staying at Lorraine Hotel, Collins Ave should you visit Miami. I had a lovely stay there, decent interiors, spacious reception area to hang out in and meet people, excellent service and a daily inclusive breakfast to start of your day. There are very handy close amenities seconds away, a cafe, restaurants, supermarket etc.
The staff, especially at Reception are warm, friendly, helpful, approachable and will attend to your needs I love that it is within a few minutes from the beach and lovely boardwalk. My only qualm was that the internet access was temperamental and limited but a small thing really. I shall definitely return!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

We wanted an inexpensive hotel as a base for a short "get acquainted" visit to Miami Beach. Both the Lorraine Hotel and Miami Beach surprised us. Both were more interesting and less American than we expected. For starters, the hotel is only steps from one of the Airport Flyer (a public express bus from the airport to Miami Beach with a $2.30 fare) bus stops. It is on the beach side of Collins Ave with easy access to the boardwalk. The staff are friendly and accommodating. The room was clean and comfortable. The breakfast was plenty to keep us going until lunch. The guests were a lively mix of ages and nationalities. Friendly and unpretentious is what we look for in a hotel and we found it in spades at the Lorraine. Don't stay here, if you want to be pampered; but, if you are looking for good value and a bit of local color, you'd be hard pressed to make a better choice.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwest USA
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012 via mobile

Located right by the boardwalk, the location is as good as you can get for a reasonable price. Each room has different furniture but it isn't high end...it's like they bought bedroom sets at garage sales and then say it's "boutique". The hotel itself is very old and the halls are noisy and echo. Creaky floors...you will know when someone walks down the hallway. Rooms have small kitchenettes and full closets so I wonder if the hotel used to be studio apartments. Bathrooms are not updated (like from the 50s) but they are clean. Wifi is terrible in the rooms so you need to sit in the lobby to get a connection. I would consider staying again because it was clean but I would look at other options first.

Stayed January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012 via mobile

We really enjoyed our stay at Lorraine hotel. We stayed there for 3 nights. The staff was very courteous and helpful. The hotel is old - the elevator was slow but the room was clean. Location wise this hotel is close to the beach, but about a mile away from the "action" - south beach, restaurants, Lincoln ave. but we took a couple of nice walks back on the boardwalk and on the street, and buses run regularly to all the places we want to go to ($2/pp). It wasn't noisy at all and we had a good nights sleep. Overall I would highly recommend this hotel if proximity to the nightlife/south beach is not a huge issue.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgantown, West Virginia
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

Reason you stay here: On the beach. Decent continental breakfast. Rooms are comfortable (and include a kitchenette). Air conditioned and has a fan over the beds to help keep the room cool. The conditioning shampoo and moisturizer were surprisingly good quality. They charge you $6.25 a day (per room) for their "resort fee" which is not included in your room rate. They say this is what pays for the "free" wi-fi, your continental breakfast and the beach towels they provide. (Didn't think this was bad as we had 3 people in our room and the breakfast had bagels, croissants, banana bread, yogurt, banana's, etc. However we could NOT get our smart phones to connect to their wi-fi to save our life. Had to use the roaming 4g and the computer in the lobby wouldn't connect either. Annoying) It was loud in our room because we were on the Collins Ave side, but I knew this from the reviews and brought ear plugs. (problem solved) I will also note that this hotel feels sort of more like a hostel or a boarding house. Very economy. It worked for the 2 nights we were there but I would NOT stay here for more time than that. Also worth noting if this is your first time in Miami than you want to be on Collins Ave. This hotel is on 26th street. All the action is happening starting at 17th (where Lincoln/Washington Mall is) going down from there. So I would suggest staying below 17th. It wasn't too bad for us as it was $6 a cab ride to go the 10 blocks. (again split amongst 3 people it's nothing)

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the main street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lorraine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lorraine Hotel

Address: 2601 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33140-4798
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > Oceanfront
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #180 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lorraine Hotel 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Lorraine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lorraine Hotel Miami Beach
Lorraine Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lorraine Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.