We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for the budget traveler.. This hotel exceeded our expectations!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lorraine Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Lorraine Hotel to your Saves list
Lorraine Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2601 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33140-4798 (Oceanfront)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #170 of 207 Hotels in Miami Beach
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect for the budget traveler.. This hotel exceeded our expectations!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at Lorraine hotel. We stayed there for 3 nights. The staff was very courteous and helpful. The hotel is old - the elevator was slow but the room was clean. Location wise this hotel is close to the beach, but about a mile away from the "action" - south beach, restaurants, Lincoln ave. but we took a couple of nice walks back on the boardwalk and on the street, and buses run regularly to all the places we want to go to ($2/pp). It wasn't noisy at all and we had a good nights sleep. Overall I would highly recommend this hotel if proximity to the nightlife/south beach is not a huge issue.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mishaku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Morgantown, West Virginia
Level Contributor
215 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

Reason you stay here: On the beach. Decent continental breakfast. Rooms are comfortable (and include a kitchenette). Air conditioned and has a fan over the beds to help keep the room cool. The conditioning shampoo and moisturizer were surprisingly good quality. They charge you $6.25 a day (per room) for their "resort fee" which is not included in your room rate. They say this is what pays for the "free" wi-fi, your continental breakfast and the beach towels they provide. (Didn't think this was bad as we had 3 people in our room and the breakfast had bagels, croissants, banana bread, yogurt, banana's, etc. However we could NOT get our smart phones to connect to their wi-fi to save our life. Had to use the roaming 4g and the computer in the lobby wouldn't connect either. Annoying) It was loud in our room because we were on the Collins Ave side, but I knew this from the reviews and brought ear plugs. (problem solved) I will also note that this hotel feels sort of more like a hostel or a boarding house. Very economy. It worked for the 2 nights we were there but I would NOT stay here for more time than that. Also worth noting if this is your first time in Miami than you want to be on Collins Ave. This hotel is on 26th street. All the action is happening starting at 17th (where Lincoln/Washington Mall is) going down from there. So I would suggest staying below 17th. It wasn't too bad for us as it was $6 a cab ride to go the 10 blocks. (again split amongst 3 people it's nothing)

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the main street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hugs4tree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

We stayed last week during the wine and food fest, the hotels was really crowded with nice and young crowd. The rooms are nice and clean, (had no problems with the floor like other fellow reviewers) they have fresh fruits for breakfast and yogurt.
The hotel is very well located on almost the ocean. The staff was nice and very helpful.
Will go back again with my family soon.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lorrainebeach, Public Relations Manager at Lorraine Hotel, responded to this review, April 25, 2012
We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for taking your time to gives us your feedback. Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

When you walk into this lobby you think the rooms are going to be cute and nice...No! The rooms are dirty! Wear socks do not walk around bare footed...I wore my flip flops in the shower bc I felt like I was a gym locker room. The service is not good at all. The best and only reason this hotel gets a 3 is bc the beach is so very close...I will never ever ever stay here again...you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeachloverfromDE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Miami Beach hotels

Winona
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

This was 4th yr in a row that we have stayed here.....price is rite...good location and a decent brkfst....However had cold showers 2 out of 5 nites...room safe did not work.....even tho it was adverised in their amenities we had no HBO on tv and even had a HBO tv guide in room also no clock radio in room.....Staff is very nice but when we complained they didnt seem to care.....Will prbly stay their again next yr as long as price is reasonable.........

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jeff7031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
85 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

We chose the hotel due to its location and fair price. We took the Airport Flyer bus directly to the corner across from the hotel for $2.35 each way. Our room was very clean and the beds were comfortable. We asked for a quiet room and got it, away from the traffic. Although we couldnt hear much from our neighbors, I did hear other guests complaining about hearing the tv or loud talking through the walls. The walls are thin, as well as the door, but didn't bother us. The building is old, but they've really tried updating things with new furniture and decor.

The staff were friendly, but things could be better organized. I had a package mailed to the hotel and 3 different times they looked for it in locked closets and 3 different times they said they didn't have it. I asked one girl to look under the desk (because I had seen a package from the luggage room earlier the first day when waiting for our room to be ready), and that's where it was. If I hadn't seen it there, I might not have gotten my package.

Anyways, free internet in the lobby. Breakfast pretty decent: consists of toast, bagels, coffee, juice, cereal, fruit, chocolate bread, and yogurt. Short 10 minute walk to the So Be Bus stop for .25 around the area. Right on the beach/boardwalk. No free parking though, so if you drive be prepared to feed meters.

Loved the location and price, and really had no complaints. Would surely stay at the Lorraine again.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room when checking in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christidis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, USA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2012

The only good thing about this dump is where it's located. The floor in the room was filthy. There was no hot water one day, and when I asked at the front desk what the problem was, the clerk asked "Well, what do you mean by hot?" They didn't clean the room the next day, and even though they said they would send up clean towels, they didn't. My friend who lives nearby said that most of their guests come from a nearby language school- so I think the management caters to them, instead of the individual travelers.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelPro262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
Oceanfront
Metropolitan by COMO, Miami Beach
Thompson Miami Beach
#5 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,199 reviews
Oceanfront
BEST WESTERN Atlantic Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ocean Spray Beach Hotel
#165 of 207 in Miami Beach
3.0 of 5 stars 336 reviews
Casablanca on the Ocean Hotel
#163 of 207 in Miami Beach
3.0 of 5 stars 1,334 reviews
Collins Hotel
#124 of 207 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lorraine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lorraine Hotel

Address: 2601 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33140-4798
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > Oceanfront
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #170 of 207 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lorraine Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Otel, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Lorraine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lorraine Hotel Miami Beach
Lorraine Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing