We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible experience” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Princess Ann Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Princess Ann Hotel to your Saves list
Princess Ann Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   920 Collins Ave., Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #114 of 203 Hotels in Miami Beach
Miami Beach, Florida
1 review
“Terrible experience”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2011

My job put me up here for a few days until my real accommodation was ready. I'm sure they won't do it again. I stayed there in July 2011 (late review, I know). Check-in clerk was very rude. He ignored me mid-transaction to help someone else who spoke Spanish. The room was filthy...dark, dirty floor, no toilet paper, damp bedding. The air conditioner was placed right over the desk/table so it blew on me whenever I sat there, so I either had to turn off the a/c when eating/working or not sit there. No elevator so had to lug my bags up 2 flights...nobody even offered to help.

Worst of all, the day before checkout, the same rude Spanish clerk insisted I pay the bill before going back upstairs. He didn't believe me when I told him my job was paying for it. When I went to the room THEY HAD PADLOCKED THE DOOR!!!!!! I was even checked out yet! I went downstairs and called my job who spoke to the Spanish clerk to tell them that they were paying, not me and that the hotel already had the credit card number. Suddenly the clerk was smiley and apologetic.

P.S. also picked up a foot infection from the carpet.

Room Tip: One tip: don't go there
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    88
    69
    29
    57
See reviews for
18
103
40
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2011

The sheets had blood stains, the pillow cases had unidentified stains, there was garbage stashed under the bed and there were little BUGS walking everywhere (on the walls, on the bed, in the bathroom...). Asked to change or clean the room and when we returned at the end of the day they had done nothing... We left before risking to get a desease. The place should be closed down by the health department

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Miami Beach hotels

lake in the hills, IL
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2011

I'm not a picky person when it comes to hotels, I see them as a place to lay my head but this hotel was by far one of the worst I've stayed in. I should point out there's a short list of good things:
nice staff, only a block from the beach, no bed bugs or anything gross like that.

OK, that being said, it is a TOTAL budget hotel. No phone, no outlets in the bathroom which meant also no hair dryer. The rooms were old and run down...walls peeling, the tile in the bathroom was chipped, the tub was scratched/chipped, the carpet was old and stained (specific stains included not one, but TWO iron marks....guess the person didn't learn their lesson the first time LOL) Also, I was around when one of the cleaning ladies was cleaning my room and I can't say for sure but I think she used the same brush for the sink as the toilet.

I stayed here for 3 nights mid September and I've been traveling a lot for the past 2 months...just getting around to reviews but this is definately not one I'd recommend, sorry.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2011

We stayed at the Princess ann on oct 19th and 20th. The location is fantastic and the price is right. I would highly recommend this hotel if you are looking for somewhere to sleep and shower. If you plan to spend lots of time in your room and like nice amenities, I suggest you stay somewhere else. The room needed worked, a paint job and new carpet would do wonders for the room. but at least the bathroom and sheets were clean. We didn't spend much time in the room so it was perfect for us. There is also a free continental breakfast nothing fancy, so don't expect much. The people at the front desk were very nice though. Its a 2 star hotel so don't expect much more than that.

Room Tip: Spend most of your time on South Beach not in the room as it is no where near fancy. lol
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uherske Hradiste, Czech Republic
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2011

I decided to buy room in this hotel, because of the location. The hotel is in the heart of South Beach. Everything is very close to the Hotel (Ocena Drive, Beach, Famous Hotels and Restaurants). The big problem was cleanless in the Hotel. Hotel is pretty old and smelly, needs to be refurbismented. It looked like nobody was cleaning bathroom. I had to clean bathroom by myself, because dust was everywhere. To be honest, I was afraid to touch something. For the next time I know that I will rather pay more then to be accommodated in very cheap hotel. The big plus was only location and nice staff.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

My friend and I stayed for 7nights and it was entirely acceptable accommodation for our means. We possibly wouldn't have chosen this had it not been for a great deal, but we're glad we did...
It's in an outstanding location and for the amount of time you'd actually spend in your hotel room whilst in Miami, it's perfect.
We were out all the time and it's exceptionally close to some brilliant restaurants, clubs and bars - Clevelander and Mangoes are literally across the road and it's just a stones throw from the beach.
When you're tired, the beds are clean and the bedrooms are quiet (after a good day you won't notice the hum of the air-con).
My friend is an absolute '4star or more' only type of girl, so she was initially abhorrent about our stay. I talked her round and now we'd actual plan on staying here again.
She had qualms over the decor but for me - clean sheets, decent shower, a hygiene-friendly bathroom, working TV and a Fridge made me happy.
Albeit the place and utilities were certainly weathered around the edges with the breakfast (in the lobby?!) a fold-out table of minimal joy, this should not deter your stay if you're the type to expect less and go out more.
If you have more money you may be more idealistic and comfortable elsewhere... but the money we saved here was spent on some of the best nights out.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2011 via mobile

This hotel is great for the price. The location is perfectly situated in the center of south beach, only one block from the beach and the famous Mango's. There is also a parking garage about a block away that charges $24 for 24 hour parking. The hotel is old and could definitely use some renovation, but is maintained and kept clean. The front desk was friendly and helpful. Overall, it was a good experience and I would recommend this hotel to anyone on a budget.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Princess Ann Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Princess Ann Hotel

Address: 920 Collins Ave., Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#79 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Princess Ann Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Princess Ann Hotel. Located in the heart of South Beach, steps away from the white sandy beaches of the Atlantic Ocean, and the restaurants, Bars and Night Clubs , the fun of South Beach. Princess Ann Hotel offers guests newly renovated rooms, modern amenities, friendly staff, continental breakfast, 24 hr front desk, and much more... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Princess Ann Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Princess Ann Miami Beach
Hotel Princess Ann

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Princess Ann Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.