We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value hotel in great location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Viscay Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Viscay Hotel to your Saves list
Viscay Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   960 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #84 of 203 Hotels in Miami Beach
Kent
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great value hotel in great location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I did a lot of research for a hotel in Miami and found that a lot of the hotels were very expensive. I spent 2 nights in Miami and decided on Viscay. Hotel is in a central location, within walking distance of South beach and a few blocks from the main shopping streets of Lincoln Road.

Rooms were large and spacious, very clean. Hotel is quite basic which is fine for a few nights in Miami. The hotel offered a basic complimentary breakfast toast, pastries, coffee and orange juice. A nice added benefit.

The negatives of this hotel is that there is no lifts so if you are travelling with heavy luggage be prepared to carry these up 2 flights of stairs. Our room was facing the back of the hotel, therefore not on the Main Street. I found it really noisy at night. People talking, loud music from cars and rubbish collectors early in the morning.

I did read previous reviews about the noise but decided to go ahead with this hotel. I found the noise at night to be the biggest problem with this hotel but it was fine for 2 nights.

Room Tip: Ask for a too on the main road, not the back of the hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    80
    32
    11
    5
See reviews for
21
87
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sligo
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Loved this hotel. Compared to the really expensive hotels in the area this one was very good value. We only planned one night initially but we were so impressed by the area and the hotel we stayed on another night. We were given an upgrade so our our room had a kitchenette area which was so handy. The closet was huge - someone could even sleep in there!
The bed was very comfy. Plenty of space in the room. The bathroom is a little small but meets needs. The free wi-fi was a great perk as so many hotels charge extra for this.
We were thrilled when we were offered the loan of beach chairs. It was so much more comfortable. Did not try the breakfast as we were not aware there was breakfast.We weren't up too early anyways. Really loved this hotel and we will definitely come back and stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Great 4 day stay here. Sunday- Wednesday. The room was very clean and everything in the room worked. I had reserved a Studio Suite which was supposed to have a mini kitchen with a sink. I had the fridge, microwave, coffeemaker - but no sink/dishes etc. Turned out I didn't need them, so I didn't even bother to bring it up. But just a heads up that if that's really important to you, make sure you let them know in advance. The walk in closet was really nice - Made the huge room seem even bigger when all of you clothes and luggage are out of sight. Not much space in the bathroom to spread out, but everything you need. The room was on the non-street side of the building so it was nice and quiet. A little normal traffic noise, but no wild party noise. Keep in mind this was Sunday- Wednesday in mid-February, though. South Beach wasn't packed yet. I really liked the deco furnishings in the room (some are authentic, I think), hardwood floor, and the bed was great - not too firm, but solid and not bouncy. A quiet ceiling mounted Heat/AC with a remote control.

The free breakfast is minimal - OJ, coffee, danish, toast, mini croissant, cold meat & cheese - but more than enough to get going. The WiFi worked fine in my room and the breakfast area. Reception is closed from 10:30pm to 8:30am, but I never needed them so it was fine. The side door key worked out great. The street area and hallways are well lit at night.

The hotel location is really good. 1 Block from Ocean Dr, call it 2 blocks from the waves on the beach - lined up with the center of Lummus Park. Currently, there is what looks like full scale, but temporarily suspended construction at adjacent properties (across the street and behind). Nothing noisy and it probably improved the parking situation because of less competition.

The guys at the desk were very helpful about parking. I did use the parking permit they have available - $20 for 24 hours and it lets you park in both the pay-as-you-go and residential parking spaces. The pay parking is $1.75 per hour, and you can buy it in smaller increments after the first hour (use up that pocket change). The machines also take credit cards. Street Parking is free between 3am-9am.

This hotel isn't a fancy "resort", but it has authentic deco charm, is very clean with all the basics you need, and is well run. My 5 star ratings are based on getting what you pay for - not comparing it to anything else. I got a good price for a way fancier room than I normally take - and it seemed like I was getting a lot more for that price than anything else I could find in South Beach. In fact, the other places in this price range seemed like dives, so I think Hotel Viscay is a real gem. A perfect base and haven to return to when you need to escape the SoBe craziness.

Room Tip: Street rooms might be noiser in high season.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

It was clean, staff was helpful except at night when they leave for the night. Front desk closes at night and reopens in the morning. They were really nice and helpful while they were there. Close to the beach. Spacious, with refrigerator and microwave. We saved a lotta money staying here its pretty low key. I will stay here again when I go back

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013 via mobile

This small hotel is located right in the corner of the South Beach hassle. The beach is two minutes away by foot and the area is bustling with restaurants.

The rooms are really spacious and clean, and the wooden floor is a huge plus.

Only thing that doesn't fit in is the breakfast, which is average as its best. Consider having the breakfast outdoors.

We were travelling with our 8-month old baby and got great service, first an early check-in and when leaving, a late checkout by two hours.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericton, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

This small family run hotel is one block from the beach in the heart of South Beach - close to everything, but not a party hotel, so for my husband and I, it allowed us to easily take in the sights and sounds of the area, but have peace and quiet when we wanted to. Our room was on the second floor with a kitchenette - it more than met our needs, and was clean and comfortable. A simple breakfast was included along with free Wi-Fi. There was also a small "take one - leave one" book spot in the hallway leading to side street (no guarantee that there will be anything there at any given time but I personally like the vibe that it creates in a place). The owners/staff were able to provide recommendations and directions to the things that we wanted to see/do/eat and can set you up with tours if you want to (the info is available in the lobby). Overall great value for money for a 3 star with the bonus of friendly, helpful staff and owners.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montreal
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

I was there from January 11th until January 13th because I was catching a cruise with a friend. I have to say that this hotel is awesome!!

The Room: They are really clean and pretty big for a 3 stars. In the morning they have a little breakfast available from 7 AM until 11 AM which was awesome!

Location: The location is awesome you are literary 30 seconds away from Ocean Drive ( beach bars and nights clubs.)

I had a great time over there and strongly recommend this hotel to everyone who wants to have a good time in South Beach!! =D

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Viscay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viscay Hotel

Address: 960 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Miami Beach
#61 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Viscay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed in 1941 by renowned Architect Albert Anis, The Viscay Hotel is part of the nations youngest Historic District and Tropical Urban Resort known as South Beach. Ideally located, only steps from the Beach and Ocean Drive. The Viscay is in the heart of the entertainment, restaurant, and shopping District, within easy walking distance to the Convention Center, Lincoln Road Mall and Flamingo Park Tennis Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Viscay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viscay Hotel Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Viscay Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.