We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Viscay Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Viscay Hotel to your Saves list
Viscay Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   960 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #71 of 202 Hotels in Miami Beach
Pittsburgh, Pennsylania
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Ideal location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

The Viscay is a good value. It is in a great location; centrally located but far enough away from the late night action that you can get a good night's sleep. It is a very short walk to the beach, Ocean Drive, art deco buildings, etc. The room itself is not super modern in decor and styling, but it was clean. Good wifi.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    78
    30
    10
    5
See reviews for
19
84
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baar, Switzerland
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

We booked this hotel as we wanted something in South Beach area without breaking the bank. The place is one block away from Ocean Drive and 5 blocks from Espanola Way. Check on was efficient and the rooms were spacious and clean. Bathroom was a little small but ok. Wifi was fast and complimentary as was a simple breakfast provided. We enjoyed our stay for 2 days before our cruise and would recommend as a value for money stay.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We had initially booked another hotel but based on bad reviews on Trip advisor changed to the viscay . The staff there are exceptionally helpful and the rooms are cleaned thoroughly every day. What is great is that although the hotel is centrally located in south beach at night you are just far enough away from the pumping beats on ocean drive to be able to sleep. The breakfast is simple but fresh and unlimited.

Room Tip: All rooms that we saw were nice and clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

Only thing that could of been better was parking but hey what do u expect its south beach. I liked my room it was very spacious and clean. I will be staying there again when I go. I stayed ay the the Chelsea the time before and it was way too small and over priced.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

I give this hotel 4 out of 5 not because it is a 4 star hotel but because it met my expectations. The Viscay Hotel is very close to the beach - literally just one street away, and offers all the basic things you need from a hotel , and extremely reasonably priced. The bathroom was small, and the shower curtain could have done with updating, but if you are looking to stay in a traditional Cuban inspired hotel, this place should meet your needs. All the tiling was back from the place was built was awesome.

My only concern was the security. Since there is not 24 hour reception, access is via a side-door (which of course requires a key), which leads to an internal hallway. Our hotel room door was literally a lock & small push-to-lock bar which I probably could have kicked down if someone was desperate to get in. I want to be clear - there were no sketchy people hanging around outside - it seemed perfectly safe. However if I were a single female I might not feel comfortable staying by myself.

FYI - the hairdryer wasn't very powerful. You wont be able to do any power styles - straightening or scrunching. It will literally just blow-dry your hair with minimal power.

For the price, you cant beat this place! We would return as a couple.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Hordaland, Norway
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

We loved the location of this hotel- right by Miami Beach (and an awesome diner a few blocks away). The staff is very nice and gave us a street parking pass for $20 a day, which is a good deal in this area. One of the staff also allowed us to park our car in the street spot where they had their car, which was right by the hotel. Although the furniture in the room was a bit outdated, the room (and most importantly the bed and bathroom) were very clean and the cleaning staff was very welcoming and professional. The continental breakfast was limited, but for the price we paid this was not surprising. A reasonably priced hotel that we would highly recommend!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

viscay has a small but very sweet staff. about $130 a night which is reasonable to be on 9th & collins and just one short block away from the beach. there were no security desposits or resort fees like other hotels.... but there are absolutely no frills. no complimentary breakfast, fancy towels, or shampoo... however there is free wifi and a computer in the lobby.

we stayed in room 6... a previous review says the bed was hard... i found it pretty comfortable. for $120-140 a night you are not going to get a sleep number. the pictures are pretty accurate. the rooms are a little small and hotel policy only allows 2 people per room regardless of which suite you have unless the additional guest are under 14 yrs old.

we did a thorough inspection and found no mold and encountered NO BUGS! the cable was pretty standard although there was no tv guide to tell which channels are which. the bathroom was pretty out dated but the housekeeper knocked everyday at 11 to make sure we had enough towels and soap. the hotel is on the corner of collins & 9th so if you stay on the front of the hotel you may hear the late night music of the clevelander on ocean.... but very faintly. room 6 was on the side so our window view was a cement wall. after 11 the lobby closes but the is an entry door on 9th st to enter once it is locked. on the 9th st entrance there are plenty panthlets for things to do and places to eat....as well as in the lobby if you would like to book any tours.....

george the guy who checked us in was very nice.... we arrived at 2 and although check out was at 3 he allowed us to check in early at no cost and offered to let us stay to 12pm on theday we were leaving instead of 11, teh normal check out time, because we had a late flight.

overall pleased, ill probably stay here my next time as long as i dont have more than 2 people, the main reason i cant give this hotel 5 stars

Room Tip: i rate the swimming pool & restaurant terrible... only because there isnt one and there is no n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Viscay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viscay Hotel

Address: 960 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Miami Beach
#54 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Viscay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed in 1941 by renowned Architect Albert Anis, The Viscay Hotel is part of the nations youngest Historic District and Tropical Urban Resort known as South Beach. Ideally located, only steps from the Beach and Ocean Drive. The Viscay is in the heart of the entertainment, restaurant, and shopping District, within easy walking distance to the Convention Center, Lincoln Road Mall and Flamingo Park Tennis Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Venere, Priceline, Hotel.de, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Viscay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viscay Hotel Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Viscay Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.