We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Practical & good value but no frills” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Viscay Hotel

Save Saved
You added Viscay Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Orbitz.com Booking.com
and 2 more sites!
Viscay Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   960 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #57 of 197 hotels in Miami Beach
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Practical & good value but no frills”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

Pros: Large, clean spacious room with kitchenette; friendly staff; free breakfast pastries; close to the beach and to shopping areas; good price.
Cons: Rooms are basic, not hip by any stretch of the imagination; feels a little cheap downstairs (there is a Miami tours peddler kiosk in the tiny lobby), and even though our windows faced the side street, it was still quite loud on Saturday night.

If you're looking for ambiance or a romantic spot, this is not your place. But if you're looking for a safe, clean option in a great location for a decent price, this is a good hotel for you.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    49
    63
    25
    8
    5
See reviews for
16
74
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waynesburg, Pennsylvania
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012

This hotel exceeded our expectations. The location is perfect for going to the beach and also close to great night life and restaurants like Mangos, News Cafe and many others. This hotel is super clean and the staff so helpful and nice. We had a large room with a kitchen , I don't see how this could be beat for the cost. We stayed here for a few days prior to going on a cruise to the Bahamas and this was the highlight of the trip. We will be returning the Viscay, it was great!!!!

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a kitchenette. You can easily walk to anything you want to do. Take the city...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menlo Park CA
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012 via mobile

Viscay is a wonderful piece of Art Deco history. Very nice details in the room. Good, personable service. South Beach is worth the visit. And Viscay is a good place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

Had difficulty in choosing Miami Beach hotel and spent considerable time looking on TA before selecting Viscay.
Room was large, very clean (except for the hairdryer in the bathroom) and bed comfortable. Microwave and fridge was bonus. Free wireless internet access.
Main downside was noise at night. This continued until around 5am and meant very disturbed sleep. Have stayed in NYC and been disturbed by police/fire sirens but in Miami we were also troubled by noisy revellers presumably making their way home from nearby hotels with nightclubs (eg Cavendish).
Breakfast was very poor - OJ, coffee, bread rolls, sweet pastry, jam and cream cheese. Limited supply so need to be early.
Not suitable for disabled/limited mobility as no lift.
No outdoor space so unable to sit outside and relax.
Realise that US no longer the bargain it used to be but still pricey (around £125/$185 per night incl taxes) for what was on offer.

Room Tip: Ask for room that does not overlook 10th Street or Collins Avenue
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2012

We stayed there for 4 nights.Very good choice, much better than expected, considering the price The room was large, very clean, the beds comortable. The staff were friendly. The position is excellent. Breakfast is small, with little choice. Airconditioning is a bit noisy.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, NV
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2012

Had a couple of days to kill prior to boarding a cruise ship, decided to spend it in South Beach, but didn't want to drop hundreds per night on a local hotel. A thorough search led us to the Viscay, which is just one block off Ocean Avenue yet within the art-deco area of town. Very easy walk to the Ocean Avenue restaurants and hotels and reasonably priced.

One thing to note, this hotel would not work for someone with a mobility issue, such as those who are wheelchair-bound or have trouble with stairs. There are no elevators/escalators in the property. You must ascend at least a short flight of stairs just to reach the hotel lobby, and still more stairs to access the rooms.

That being said, for our purposes the hotel was all we needed. We didn't expect glamour, but the place is nonetheless quite nice, with a definite art-deco and 50's flavor to its decor. I thought the room was quite adequate, the bed comfortable, and the bathroom sufficient for our short (two-night) stay. The continental breakfast provided by the hotel was also adequate, although they didn't serve for very long. Typical serving was between 8:30-10:00 AM, and included eclairs, croissants, Danish, and bagels, with coffee and juice to wash it down. Enough to get us going every day without being excessive or heavy.

The biggest drawback to the stay was the noise from the street that we experienced on the second night. We arrived on a Thursday, and noticed no particularly annoying sounds that night. But the second night, a Friday, was quite the different story. Our window overlooked 10th Street, which appears to be rather heavily traveled on the party nights of Friday and Saturday. We got little sleep that night due to the noise, even with our windows shut tight. My advice when you book here is to try to get a room that doesn't look out onto either Collins Avenue or 10th Street. My brother and his wife had a room further back in the hotel, and on the opposite side of the hallway as ours, and they had a rather uneventful night regarding noise because their room was not adjacent to either street.

On the whole, I would recommend the hotel to others, with the caveat to try to get an interior room, and to expect some stair climbing/descending as part of the experience. I'd say you can't beat the location for the price, so overall, I give it relatively high marks.

Room Tip: As noted in my review, get a room away from the adjacent streets. Much quieter than the one I staye...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FLA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012

But the Viscay turned out to be a real nice surprise. We usually stay in upper end hotels like you would find on Ocean Ave so we weren't expecting much from the Viscay. (FWIW-we are Florida residents) We were wrong in our assumptions. Friendly, courteous staff; CLEAN and surprising large rooms; truly centrally located in SoBe. About a block west of Ocean Ave, as said, right behind the Clevelander and Essex House. (Be forewarned if you stay in either of these motels as the Clevelander tends to crank up the beats from 11:00 AM till late nite, every nite. You are going to hear it.)

SMALLEST toilet I have ever seen. If you are a person of "size"...I don't know what to tell you. You have been warned.

Tips:

Crank up the fan on the AC unit so it runs continuously and you won't hear the street noise. (One of the quietest AC units ever) Our room faced Collins Ave at the front of the building. No problems with the noise. There is about a one hour period of quietness about 5:30 AM before the trucks start running.

Park in the parking garage one block N., adjacent to the Essex House if traveling by car. Pay at the kiosk before you attempt to leave.

There is no ice machine in the hotel. If you go a block west and then south, there is a liquor store and a 7-11.

One block north is David's Cafe. Must have cuban coffee to be had here. Good breakfast, open 24 hours, sit down or go to the street window. Cuban toast is nothing more than a Cuban bread roll that has been buttered and pressed on a flat top to "toast" the outside of the bread...still good.

Look around if drinking, there is no reason to pay $30 for a cocktail on Ocean Ave or a ridiculous cover charge because some chick is dancing in a skimpy outfit.

Lincoln Ave is within walking distance, north from the motel if you are into shopping.

Room Tip: If you want a quiet room stay away from Collins Ave and 10th St.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Viscay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viscay Hotel

Also Known As:
Viscay Hotel Miami Beach
Address: 960 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#13 Best Value Hotel in Miami Beach
#42 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#57 Top resorts Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Viscay Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed in 1941 by renowned Architect Albert Anis, The Viscay Hotel is part of the nations youngest Historic District and Tropical Urban Resort known as South Beach. Ideally located, only steps from the Beach and Ocean Drive. The Viscay is in the heart of the entertainment, restaurant, and shopping District, within easy walking distance to the Convention Center, Lincoln Road Mall and Flamingo Park Tennis Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Viscay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Viscay Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.