We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nothing special” 3 of 5 stars
Review of South Beach Villas

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Miami Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
South Beach Villas
Save
You added South Beach Villas to your Saves list
1201 West Ave., #4, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (Flamingo / Lummus)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #168 of 203 Hotels in Miami Beach
california
1 review
“nothing special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2009

South beach villas is just another hotel nothing special about it and i probably wouldn't stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    5
    2
    4
    3
See reviews for
Families
0
5
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
orlando, fl
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2009

booked a room at the villas (shown on the pictures); was given a room at the adjacent Beach Plaza Hotel which is need of renovation; noisy a/c, tiny bathroom, filthy carpets, resort fee on top of what you prepay (for a breakfast consistent of bagels, juice and coffee, and use of internet) and a mandatory $100 security deposit; not exactly what they advrtise

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Pedro, California
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2008

Well, let's get the negatives out of the way. 1st of all, there was no parking on the premises or on the streets, so we had to pay to park in a municipal structure about a block away. 2nd piece of bad news, there was an additional daily charge called a "resort fee" added for charges to cover a continental breakfast, beach towels, pool use, daily newspaper, exercise room, wi-fi and a wine social. I'm just wondering why instead of a separate fee, the charges weren?t just added to the price of the room when it was quoted. Finally, our room and the T.V. were small much like a cabin on a cruise ship. But, since we were out exploring every day, that didn't matter much. The pluses: The location was fantastic, it is located on Collins Street (a main happening street) and only a block from the famous Ocean Blvd and it's glittery sidewalk cafes. Across from the cafes is a green belt called Lumis Park that fronts the great public beach. We were also a block from Washington Street, a major shopping thoroughfare, and three blocks from Lincoln Street, which is closed to automobile traffic and which boasts countless restaurants with outdoor seating and that are located amongst upscale retail stores. The hotel itself and many other buildings are done in the whimsical Art Deco style, which is unique to this vibrant area. Our room and the public places were clean, nicely decorated and well taken care of. The staff was mostly pleasant, helpful and available. I would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Small Room
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MD
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2008

The hotel pictures on the web are specialized to show small views of the actual room which is overall in bad condition. This hotel is overdue for a complete remodel. They remodeled bits and pieces but it definitely shows. The old bathrooms, busted doors and broken down beds were a complete turnoff. Complained to front desk about checking out on a friday after arriving....didnt hear from a manager after numerous requests for early reimbursement waiver until tuesday. We left the hotel on monday. Management doesnt want to accept the hotels short comings. If anything...the star rating needs to drop down to 2.5. If you are used to a sense of cleanliness and the normal hotel attributes...you will be dissapointed.

  • Liked — In South Beach Area
  • Disliked — outdated rooms
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern Oregon
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2007

I really liked this hotel - the rooms have been updated and decorated thoughtfully. The roof top bar is nice and they had a nice little wine reception up there. The bar in the courtyard was also lovely. It is an older building, which is what I expected, so be prepared that the plumbing may have a personality as well as doors and windows. We were on the first floor facing Collins Avenue and it was pretty noisy, again to be expected in an old building. But if I went back I would want a room farther back from the road. The bartender inside makes a great mojito and the roof top bartender provided some great tunes. We didn't get our wake up call on the morning of our departure, which made me feel rushed and cranky. But other than that, I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2007
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2007

Stayed at this hotel for my Honeymoon after a 4day cruise.
The staff was nice. Room was clean but very small. Small crack under the door of the room which allowed lots of noise and dirty and dust to collect on the hardwood floors,there was also a bug/termite problem in the room. DONT wear socks or walk barefoot on the floors unless you want the bottom of your feet black. All in all the stay was average. Very close to the beach,friendly staff.
Would only stay at ths hotel again for a party weekend getaway.
Way to noisey and small for a romantic stay.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Small Rooms and Noisey
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2007

This was a great hotel. Newly renovated and very clean. Not expensive. Just a block from Ocean avenue, located in the art deco area of southbeach. 2 blocks from Clevelander. Rooftop bar is nice nad garden is romantic. Nice lobby and furniture. Drinks are a bit expensive.

  • Liked — Location and price
  • Disliked — No pool
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to South Beach Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Beach Villas

Address: 1201 West Ave., #4, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > Flamingo / Lummus
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Hotel Style:
Ranked #168 of 203 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
South Beach Villas Hotel Miami Beach
South Beach Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage South Beach Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.