We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Made a reservation far in advance” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Reef Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Ocean Reef Suites to your Saves list
Ocean Reef Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1130 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #155 of 204 Hotels in Miami Beach
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Made a reservation far in advance”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We made the reservation WEEKS beforehand, and when we arrived, they told us we have to go to a different hotel! We wanted this location because of the centralization of the hotel, but the customer services was awful. The customer service representative and the manager failed to meet our needs of staying in the hotel, one in which we made a reservation weeks a head of time, and called the day prior. Turned our trip into a nightmare

Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    157
    88
    34
    19
See reviews for
80
153
26
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sebastian, Florida
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I made a direct reservation with Ocean Reef Suites three weeks prior to my arrival. When we got there on Friday afternoon at 4:00 we were informed that our room was not available and we would have to go their sister hotel, Aqua Hotel up the road. They gave no explanation. The front desk clerk was very stressed out and although he was trying to be helpful he was aggravated with us. The manager did not want to speak with us. It was totally unprofessional. We went up to the Aqua Hotel and checked out their rooms and were really bad. No carpet - it was like having a room in your warehouse.

Do not stay at this hotel because when you get to there; there is no guarantee that you will have a room and the last thing you want to do after a travel journey is look for a hotel.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We only stayed for one night and that was enough for us to be honest. The location is the best part of it, close to eveything you need in SoBe. But the staff was not so nice, it was a saturday night and we had no place to park the car to get our luggage out, the electronic keys were not working so we had only one key for the 4 of us and the bathroom was not really clean, the bath curtains had all stains on them. The "sofa bed" was small a not comfortable at all.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vadodara, India
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My third stay here ... need i say more ... perfect location ... quiet but walking distance to all the fun, activity, shopping, beach, etc ... public parking in 2 blocks away ..... nothing fancy but nothing missing either ....

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2014

Did not have to get a taxi once. This hotel is close to everything and just a block away from the beach. The staff was very friendly and helpful. It is a little noisy because it is downtown. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

FAVIOLA and MARCELO were beyond helpful, super friendly, and honest. They noticed that we were frustrated with getting a reservation on Expedia and they came to our rescue. The service was excellent,and the price you pay for the location is ideal.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
College Station, Texas
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

A friend and I stayed at ORS for a few nights just before the Memorial Day rush, and we never encountered a problem. Our room was very neat and clean, with minor wear and tear (it is an Art Deco South Beach hotel, after all). The complimentary water, coffee and towels were a great treat, and the staff were always friendly and helpful if we had questions. The airport shuttle was also an added bonus, given that transport from the airport would have likely been much more expensive. There was still some construction on Collins Ave., but it had moved further north away from the hotel by the time we'd departed.

All in all, I would return to the ORS for another trip and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ocean Reef Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Reef Suites

Address: 1130 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #155 of 204 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Reef Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Ocean Reef Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Reef Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.