We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Front Desk Service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Reef Suites

Save Saved
You added Ocean Reef Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ocean Reef Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1130 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #158 of 201 hotels in Miami Beach
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Awesome Front Desk Service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

FAVIOLA and MARCELO were beyond helpful, super friendly, and honest. They noticed that we were frustrated with getting a reservation on Expedia and they came to our rescue. The service was excellent,and the price you pay for the location is ideal.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    84
    149
    82
    30
    16
See reviews for
76
146
24
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
College Station, Texas
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

A friend and I stayed at ORS for a few nights just before the Memorial Day rush, and we never encountered a problem. Our room was very neat and clean, with minor wear and tear (it is an Art Deco South Beach hotel, after all). The complimentary water, coffee and towels were a great treat, and the staff were always friendly and helpful if we had questions. The airport shuttle was also an added bonus, given that transport from the airport would have likely been much more expensive. There was still some construction on Collins Ave., but it had moved further north away from the hotel by the time we'd departed.

All in all, I would return to the ORS for another trip and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pavia, Italy
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

The room had a terrible smell. There was a very old carpet all over the room clearly not well cleaned. The windows weren't easy to open, and even when open the air didn't circulate well enough to get reed of the smell. The air conditioning didn't work very well and it was very noisy. A lot of noise came in also from the court outside (full of A/C machines and probably a rubbish point or something without a good smell too).
The bathroom was very old and not well functioning (from the tap almost only warm water came out and it was very difficult to have some cold one).
Insects in the kitchen. No breakfast included. Price definitely too high.
TERRIBLE HOTEL. DON'T LET THE NICE HALL MISLEAD YOU (it is clearly recently refurbisced to make the hotel look more attractive but the rooms are not even close to that standard!)!!!

Room Tip: Go to another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014 via mobile

Awful staff had an attitude the moment we walked in. Didn't want to show us the room before paying. When we we were finally able to see the room, it reeked of mold and mildew. Rust all over bathroom walls and shower. Hand prints all over walls. Skittles on floor. It was, disgusting and smelled awful.it was just plain dirty. After speaking with the rest of the people in my party we decided to not stay. Before I was able to say anything I walked into a, conversation between the front desk staff and manager , in Spanish, manager telling her to let us go we're not worth it and so on. As, a, hotel manager myself I couldn't believe her attitude.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ORSuites, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Reef Suites, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
We are sorry our hotel did not meet your expectations. We are going to review your incident with the front desk, we are known for our excellent customer service, and we always work to serve and provide our guests the best experience possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

This was a perfect location for a one day stop where we wanted to be close to the beach. We knew what we were getting ourselves into as far as the current construction on Collins Avenue and that the place wasn't as high end as others but I still think it is a bit too highly priced for what you get based on our experience in 6 other locations along the Eastern coast of Southern Florida hot spots.

The bed in our studio room wasn't too bad but the worst is the protruding bed frame which you'll be sure to the hit yourself on each and every time you get off the bed.

The bathroom was downright scary.

However the staff was able to accommodate an early check in and the property is really in a great location. Recommended for a night, maybe two, but not for a full vacation.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ORSuites, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Reef Suites, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Dear Ian,

Thank you so much for your detailed and honest review. We knew our pros (like our great location and wonderful staff, always attentive and kind) Yet, it is highly important to take notes of the aspects that need improvement. We hope you come back and choose to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

Here's what I want from a hotel:
1) Quiet room - I requested this and was assigned to studio 304. Perfect. I hear that other studios face noisy Collins Ave. Front desk clerk told me she does the assignments and takes these requests very seriously.
2) Mattress I can sleep on - I can't sleep on pillow top mattresses. This was a pretty basic mattress, but had enough support for my back.
3) Cleanliness.
4) Location - I needed to be near other folks in my party. Also, this hotel is a block from the beach.

Beyond that, the rust on shower curtain rod, worn towels, and fairly plain decor clearly make this a 3 star hotel. Airport shuttle never came, and is only scheduled infrequently. On the other hand, front desk personnel very helpful and welcoming. I also like having fridge, microwave and basic kitchen things in the room.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ORSuites, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Reef Suites, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your review, we are glad you had all you ask for, our personal take very serious the special request from the guest, and we work hard towards our guest satisfaction. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

The hotel is ok, location is great! just where all the cool hotels are. The only point is that my room didn't have real windows, but a 'sort of' windows... so actually I could hear each single breath from the street during the night, which in SoBe is kinda crazy. Room and kitchen ok, bathroom very very old, and so are the towels. Shower gel and Shampoo bad quality.
The hotel is ok for max 2 nights as long as the rate is lower than other hotel in the same street.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ORSuites, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Reef Suites, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Dear guest,

We are sorry to hear about your experience with the windows, which are hurricane impact resistance windows, South Beach tend to be a little noisy during the night and more on weekends. I hope you give us the opportunity to serve you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ocean Reef Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Reef Suites

Address: 1130 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #158 of 201 hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Reef Suites 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Tingo, Hotels.com, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Ocean Reef Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Reef Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.